We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a Splurge”
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Greenbrier
Certificate of Excellence
Gilbertsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Definitely a Splurge”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I recently visited, spending 4 nights on business. It is a very impressive place, decorated in an old fashioned classy sort of way. We stayed in a Jr. Suite and loved the room which faced the front entrance. Maid service was very good, in fact all the staff were very helpful and accommodating. Our first night there we experienced a power outage due to a storm and the power was out for 2 hours. We never had emergency lighting in our room, but eventually generators went on in other parts of the resort. So we just went to bed a little early.
We dined in several of the restaurants, and unfortunately found nothing too impressive. That was rather disappointing. The shops were typical overpriced hotel shops, to which we did contribute for some golf shirts and souvenirs for the grandchildren. DO the Bunker Tour, it's fascinating and worth the money. Make reservations for everything! The restaurants, carriage rides, etc. do fill up. The casino loves to take your money, we lost at everything. Our blackjack dealer made SEVERAL mistakes.
We both had massages at the Spa. I also did a pedi. It was all wonderful, including the steam room. Worth the splurge.
I did a tennis lesson, and my husband a golf lesson. Both were very good. I would do another!
I was disappointed in the "fitness center" as we'll. at least what I saw. It's kind of spread out in a strange layout in front of some tennis courts. I guess people are doing golf, tennis, etc for their fitness.
I visited the outdoor pool once. It's nice, but a little small and crowded.
The outdoors are beautiful! The flowers and landscaping are amazing if you're a photographer. If you like to walk, I suggest the Valley View trail around the golf course, 2.5 miles or so. It's awesome. I would have loved hiking up in the mountains some, for which there are trails, but i was alone and not comfortable with that.
Overall, we're glad we went, once, but would probably not make the 9 hr drive to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,612
    500
    233
    104
    54
See reviews for
589
1,114
33
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is truly a slice of a world long past. People are gracious. The pace of life is laid back while concurrently formal in its best sense. One can participate in a great variety of activities while visiting. There are multiple restaurants, falconry, off road driving, fishing, shooting, riding, skating, swimming and of course golf. I'm sure to have forgotten something.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our children visited Drapers regularly during our stay, and were treated really well. Awesome milkshakes, burgers, great wait staff. A must visit if you go to the Greenbrier.

Helpful?
Thank JRockford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Narrow fairways, high rough, but a really pretty course with great greens and views. Number 2 along the water is really challenging unless you hit a great drive.

Helpful?
Thank JRockford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Greenbrier is a magnificent property. Lush gardens and landscaping, chandeliers aplenty, vivid colors on walls and floors. Awesome stuff. Service way above average. Spectacular golf courses, amazing views. Walking trails with views of mountains, wildlife, beautiful million dollar homes. Less expensive restaurants like Drapers are very good, if very expensive for a less expensive restaurant. Breakfast and dinner options are solid. Dinner options are very expensive, and while the servers were excellent, the kitchens seemed to have a hard time getting food out in a timely manner. Recommend highly, but consider going off property for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRockford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
222 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We haven't been to the resort in several years. That is a mistake. We travel all over the world and this is one of my favorite resorts anywhere. The grand decor, the service, the amenities, and the beautiful setting is perfect. We were only here one night, but I wish it had been longer. We did enjoy walking the grounds, playing shuffle board, playing pool, and having good meals. I highly recommend this resort. We will be back.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cjg2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
222 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a late lunch here and it was a fun atmosphere and good food. It also a fun ice cream bar. Would recommend with children.

Helpful?
Thank cjg2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
6.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
434 reviews
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
186 reviews
18.7 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
8.2 mi away
Motel M Lewisburg
Motel M Lewisburg
#7 of 7 in Lewisburg
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Property: The Greenbrier
Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986-2498
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing