We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food I have ever tasted!!!!!”
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Greenbrier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed 2 nights for our 1 year anniversary. The service was extraordinary and the food was to die for!! They truly made us feel like royalty. We left feeling like the money that we spent there was completely worth it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,758 - 1,764 of 2,638 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

Took the entire family to The Greenbrier for Mother's Day Brunch. We all had very high expectations for this super Luxury hotel and restaurant. Unfortunately it did not live up to it's reputation. Here's why: I really expect the best food and the best service from a place like this especially when it cost $70.00 per person times 9, quite an investment for brunch in West Virginia.
We were seated in the very worst part of the dining room, should have complained but the family was already settled in, my fault! I have been to many very nice brunches all over the world so I would have expected this to be equal.
Let's start with the shrimp, I knew I was in trouble when they had the shrimp already in little tiny plates two at a time when the norm is an extra large bowl filled with ice and the shrimp are ready for your consumption with cocktail sauce and lemons ready to serve. Not even close to that presentation.
This is spring in West Virginia, the food on this brunch was more like a winter dinner buffet instead of a luxury Brunch, the selection was rather pathetic . The fresh squeezed orange juice was good but they rationed it off where you had to get the service attendant to bring you another glass every time you wanted a refill instead of just have it readily available like most brunches.
As a family we normally watch our dessert consumption but today we were looking forward to splurging , we all had our eyes out for the French Macaroons and the cookies, not a real large selection otherwise. By the time we were finished they were all gone with no backup plan from the hotel to replenish them, it may sound petty but this was really a large disappointment for all of us.
The server was very uninterested in giving the little bit of service that is required at a buffet brunch, one of my small requests was lemons for my shrimp, she forgot and when I reminded her she brought me limes instead.
Not till I found out that the bill included 22.5% for gratuity did I now realize why the service was so bad,it's included!
I'm so sorry that I can't recommend The Greenbrier unless you want average food for luxury prices.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was our second trip to The Greenbriar. We remembered how good this food was and returned! The grilled cheese panini was good too but NOT the best part of the meal. Nope the fries were.

The peach martinis were like dessert. The Greenbriar is known for their peaches so we were told to try.
The french fries are the best IN THE UNIVERSE. Why? I do not know...try them and see for yourself!

But...the best thing we had was the crab salad appetizer. The crab meat is flown in from Maryland and it is fresh and plump and perfect in the salad. We ate the same thing every day. Yummmmy.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Three people for lunch (sodas only to drink) was almost $80. The food was per-prepared so seemed way too expensive for what we got. Would not return.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank San M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here two nights and wished we could have stayed longer. We stayed in the cottages (Paradise Row) and loved it. Serene, quiet, lovely and gracious. Service was impeccable. Frequently asked if we could be helped. Smiles all around. First class. The decor was not my first choice, but was perfectly suited for a southern resort. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed inParadise Row cottages which required a shuttle ride to the main resort where the restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank San M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

In full bloom and full glory in April. Staff was super friendly....enjoyed the golf museum and the grandeur of the whole place. Horse riding, carriage rides, beautiful pool.....definitely a destination place to try!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I got to play all 3 golf courses here more than once using their golf package. Unbelievable value. Excellent service both in clubhouse and from forecaddy on the course. Old Whitehead is the best of the lot. Greenbrier is a tough course and when rough is high, it is not for high handicappers. Meadows is the easiest, but still offers great views. The snack stand could be better.

Thank VVV2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
6.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
472 reviews
6.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
18.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Covington VA
Hampton Inn Covington VA
#1 of 5 in Covington
28 reviews
18.7 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986-2498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range: $200 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing