We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place where they suck your blood alive.”
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Greenbrier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Everything cost double or triple what it should be. The room cost is normal though to lure you in.
You will be skinned alive if you do anything there for food and activities.
Unless money is no object and its value is irrelevant, don't go there because you will have your blood sucked out of you.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nabilhage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

The Greenbrier is a legendary luxury resort that has been serving guests since 1778. In order to meet our guests’ needs and expectations, we offer an unparalleled range of amenities and activities as well as an exceptional customer service experience. We do our best to publish rates, fees and menus on our website to assist our guests in planning their stays so that there are no surprises upon arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,699)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,842 - 1,848 of 2,699 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at the Greenbrier for a few days for a conference, and for the most part enjoyed our stay. The hotel is enormous, and we were frequently lost, which makes for a frustrating experience. Even after 3 days, we had a tough time finding certain things. The interior design was originally done by Dorothy Draper, and still remains in that style - a bit over the top for our tastes, but interesting to look at. There are plenty of activities to take advantage of, including a casino, golf courses, horseback riding, 4-wheeling, etc. We took the Bunker tour, which was very interesting (the Greenbrier housed a hidden bunker for the US Senate and House of Representatives during the Cold War). The restaurants are all very good, although outrageously expensive, and the casino was fun. Service is amazing, as you would expect. The Greenbrier is a great experience, and worth doing at least once in your life - more if you can afford it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yadkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed just one night for a conference so did not get the full experience. The hotel is huge to say the least (looks like the White House built to the scale of the U.S. Capitol) and filled with beautifully decorated ballrooms, sitting areas, restaurants, shops etc. Even the elevators had little chandeliers. Lots of green decorations and numerous changing floral wallpapers of a bygone era. Despite its obvious age, everything was spic and span. The grounds are gorgeous. Most of the staff were attentive and friendly, and eager to be of service, although the concierge must have been tired and bored. He didn't hear my request for restaurant reservations and asked me standard questions I had just answered. Be sure to make restaurant reservations BEFORE you arrive, even on a weekday. When I asked about a place to jog, he told me that there was only one trail (flat, sunny, along the golf course) and that all of the hiking trails required a sports club membership (turns out that was not true). Parking is limited if you do not opt for the $20 valet service. My impression is that this is mostly a place for golf (3 courses) although they tout a lot of other activities - mostly notably a casino and a tour of the underground bunker, secretly built to house the US Congress during an atomic war. I saved both adventures for a return trip with my wife. The main dining room is large and beautiful, too. Service was very good, and the personnel were friendly and efficient. The food was expensive (easily more than $100 per person) and very good. I enjoyed the smoked salmon and beets appetizer, the spring greens, and the veal loin with orzo and morels. The only disappointment was an award winning chocolate desert that was laughably small. A spoonful of ice cream and a few bites of chocolate, crowned with some gelatin chips, really? I had breakfast with the conference, and it was standard scambled eggs, sausage/bacon, potatos, and some fruit. No grits!

Room Tip: Ask for a room convenient to your favorite activity, since it is a bit of a hike to get anywhere. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cvillediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenbrier, Manager at The Greenbrier, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy the 55+ activities on The Greenbrier's 6,750 acre playground!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We traveled to the greenbrier for a business/ see the area trip. Arrived thursday night late and left Sunday afternoon. We enjoyed some of what was offered.There is a lot to see, to do and to not do while visiting here. I loved the southern charming ambience of the people and place.
At first, the grandeur was a bit much for me. The room was lovely and clean. We explored many areas of the hotel including Jerry West's steakhouse which has a pictoral history of one of the greatest basketball players of our time. We strolled through the outer artisan shops and walked by the golf courses. (we don't play) It was a bit windy for tennis and we almost opted for the indoor courts and chose to swim in the huge indoor pool and workout instead. Had a lovely snack in the golf course area and played some pool while watching the masters on tv. On Sunday morning I rode Nemo, the horse, with Charlie on a mountain trail to a waterfall. Beautiful scenery and exciting trail ride too. He picked me up on the grounds and knew much about the history of the area and shared it with me on our ride. We had afternoon tea on 2 days and ate breakfast there once. We enjoyed the casino one night as well. On departure ate in the cafe near the casino and had an excellent open-faced tuna. This is a new area of the hotel. THere was more to do and to see. Paul discovered a movie theater on site and I know we'll return to see more. The food was fine and the service excellent in every way. The people who work there are as good as they come! i had no idea I would enjoy this place so much!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susantobey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

First of all, let me say that this is my fifth visit to the Greenbrier over the years. Some of them before Jim Justice took over, and some after. We've stay in the cottages, rooms, and some gorgeous suites. The grandeur of The Greenbrier is second to none. You can visit Ritz Carltons, St. Regis, Four Seasons, etc all day long, but nothing compares to The Greenbrier in ambience and southern charm. HOWEVER, this service on this trip was more extraordinary than ever. If Mr. Justice, being the coach that he is, has stolen the playbook from the Ritz, he's played it well and beating them at their own game in spades. From the turn down service to the magnificent waiters at Sammy Sneads to 44 West, everything was personable and first class all the way. It was as if they would spare nothing to make us feel like we were their favorite guest. I cannot imagine the expense to keep this gigantic resort functioning, from the golf course to the stables, tennis, the incredible spa, and on top of everything, the incredible incredible decorations in every inch of the place. Mr. Justice said his goal was to restore the grandeur to the Greenbrier as soon as possible. Well, put a check in your win column on this one, Mr. Justice. You did your state proud again, and I have a feeling that more than just the visitors will look at you and say "well done." God Bless you.

Room Tip: we stayed on the mezzanine level and it was easy walking to the shops and the main lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travelspady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great atmosphere with great food! It is an excellent choice for dinner while visiting the Greenbrier especially if you are wanting to go casual for the evening. Great food selection. I had the fried green tomato sandwich- a must try. My husband had the ham sandwich - it too was wonderful. Kids enjoyed grilled cheese, burgers, and pizza...all with sweet potato fries. Yummy! The ice cream is out of this world and the selections they offer will take you back in time!

Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Simply elegant and Amazing! There is none other than can compare. This historical resort is in a league of its own. From the grounds to the hotel down to the staff this resort is unlike no other. The decor is one of a kind! I also stay at the Grand Hotel every year...this was my first to the Greenbrier. No comparison! This is a must - you should visit before you die. Restaurants are very good. Prime 44 West is a must while you are there- please try the lobster mashed potatoes- worth every $. Drapers was another of our favorite..Fried green tomatoe sandwich with homemade ice creams for dessert that are out of this world! Kids loved the swimming pool, bowling alley and laser tag! High Tea is complimentay daily and is a great break in your day- do not miss it! Unlike the Grand Hotel- this resort is all al a carte...even down to the activities..everything is extra! Well worth the experience but this resort will really set you back..so plan accordingly!

Room Tip: Staying in the Hotel is more convenient to getting to everything- activities and dining. Sometimes a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
6.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
204 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
18.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Covington VA
Hampton Inn Covington VA
#1 of 5 in Covington
34 reviews
18.7 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986-2498
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range: $200 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing