We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Spring Break for Kids yet”
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Greenbrier
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Spring Break for Kids yet”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Have stayed at Greenbrier many times over years, almost entirely for business. There with children for spring break this time and both of them old enough to fully enjoy it. Perfect place for families, where no problem finding and allowing kids to enjoy themselves. Stayed in Paradise Row cabin this time, which worked out perfectly for family, Living room and big bedroom, larger than living room, two TVs and BRs!

Room Tip: They have lots of options. We always want space so kids can spread out and they have it at fairly re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRMCc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,626
    504
    233
    104
    54
See reviews for
595
1,123
33
355
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (677)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This casual dining option is great for a quick bite. The menu is quite varied (chicken and waffles?) and the desserts are wonderful. After our burgers we tried to split the banana split. We almost burst. It would have easily fed four. Great place.

Helpful?
2 Thank bimmer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I spent a few days at The Greenbrier in January and had a fantastic stay. The ice skating rink is our favorite winter activity but we thought we were in trouble when the temperatures climbed to a near record 68 degrees. No problem-just take off the sweaters and skate in your short sleeve shirts. So fun. As always, we were treated like royalty but this time the staff outdid themselves. Our bellman sat and talked with us for about 30 minutes (it was a slow day) and told us stories of his past years at this magnificent place. Three days later he caught us in the lobby and opened up a bag of candy he had just purchased for himself at the candy shop and offered us a handful. That is how you make indelible impressions on people. There are so many things to do here, but this trip we just enjoyed doing nothing. But you MUST do the history tour with Dr. Bob Conte. He is a master storyteller and his presentation will enhance your visit. Every time we come to this gem we leave with a big smile on our faces. In any season, The Greenbrier never disappoints. The place is phenomenal but the people make it a combination that we just can't stay away from.

Room Tip: corner rooms have more windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bimmer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Take the hotel tour! I loved staying there! It was on my bucket list! Great present from my husband to stay there. We really liked the Bunker Tour also. We got a package deal for the room and meals. Way to go!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBinNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent 3 days at the Greenbrier being spoiled by its accomodations, friendly staff, wonderful spa, and hunt club. The spa is a getway within itself. The spa staff was very pampering. Breakfast is a feast and if you choose the buffet be prepared to not eat the remainder of the day. We were surprised at how much fun we had at the Casino.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sreisinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hixson, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Greenbrier is not a cheap date. She is a grand lady! We celebrated our 45th wedding anniversary there and loved very minute of it. The weather was terrible, but the fireplaces and warm of the hotel more than made up for it. Our room was spacious, with walk-in closet and lots of extras. The bunker tour was fun and informative. The food is wonderful. Steaks at Prime 44 and seafood in the main dining room are both in our Top 10 all time favorites list. My husband loved the chicken pot pie at Draper's so much we ate there everyday and then I bought a cookbook to get the recipe. Touring the hotel and grounds is a history lesson and the hotel is a designer's dream. The service is impeccable and very friendly. Yes, she is a pricey lady, but well worth every cent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We did not spend the night but did have lunch and toured the hotel and bunker. A "must see" experience. Staff was very friendly and the bunker tour was very interesting. Fun to just stroll through the public rooms. DOWNSIDE - prices are outrageous. Lunch was a chicken pot pie for $17 and my wife had what was essentially chicken fingers and a waffle for $20, Bunker tour was $30 p/p. All in all we would eat locally and just tour the hotel and grounds.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank den979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
437 reviews
6.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
191 reviews
18.7 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
6.9 mi away
Super 8 Lewisburg
Super 8 Lewisburg
#6 of 7 in Lewisburg
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Property: The Greenbrier
Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986-2498
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing