We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing location, spectacular grounds, great service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Greenbrier
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing location, spectacular grounds, great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I loved this resort! The food was essentially superb in all venues (though pricey). Our room, though at the low end of the price range was bright and spacious with a queen, a sofa, a chaise, two arm chairs and a table, a walk in closet and large bathroom. The service was uniformly friendly and great from concierge to maid service. The spa was wonderful and the whole wing with the pool and spa was really lovely (I had the GB massage, soak and whiskey shower special). The underground vault is fascinating and worth the tour. The artist colony was charming with gorgeous items for purchase. An extended walk around the grounds, provided spectacular views in all directions.

My only criticism is with the decor, the chintz and floral excess is so dated and so overpowering. It makes a statement, and sets the GB off with its own unique look, but that signature is unfortunately loud, pink, green, and multi-patterned. Not very calming for a spa resort. But with the many amenities the GB has to offer, I soon overlooked the crazy decorating and looked for other diversions among its many offerings.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chvgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,473
    477
    219
    98
    53
See reviews for
538
1,022
31
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Went with friends to the Black Jack Tournament and we had a great time. Rooms are nice, clean but small as compared to newer places but love the old decor reminds me of my childhood. I went with several college friends we had a great time. Some came with teenage kids that enjoyed the bowling and pool while we did the slots and tables.

Room Tip: Great place to meet friends and have a fun weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great service!
Beautiful at Christmas time.
First class management!
The Christmas show was free with our stay and we enjoyed the show very much.
The bunker tour is excellent.
The history tour is free and interesting.
The casino is a nice addition.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryKay49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grundy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The food was great once we received it. The cook seemingly forgot our order entirely. We waited over an hour for sandwiches. They were great though - you can't beat a "fried green tomato sandwich"!!

Helpful?
Thank jessvanover3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grundy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Greenbrier is absolutely Gorgeous! Southern Charm is the best way to describe her impeccable beauty. The service was wonderful and food was amazing! We enjoyed our stay so much that I am hoping to go back soon with my husband for a couple's getaway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessvanover3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our week at the Greenbrier was simply a fabulous experience. While the resort is dated, it is not run down, just dated in a quaint, classic way. The grounds are immaculate with every detail covered. We are from the deep south, so when we arrived in our room and saw their signature slogan "It's sleepy time down south", we chuckled to ourselves. However, we are pleased to announce that while the Greenbrier is up north to us, they have southern hospitality down pat. ALL of the employees greeted us with smiles and seemed genuinely happy to be working at the Greenbrier. The property has everything you need - shopping, world class restaurants (world class wines as well), golf, activities - swimming, bowling, video games for the kids, etc. The SPA treatments are as good as anywhere we have been. Oh, did I mention the sleigh ride? Wow. We thought when we booked a week in the winter that we might be bored after a couple of days, well we weren't. In fact, one day we realized we haven't even left the building, much less the property. Golf, walking, hiking trails abound. We are planning another trip. Save your money, it is worth the price!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlessedTraveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Greenbrier is a place to go if you wish to be transported back to a time when service and dress were normal. I am not going to get into all of the resort ammenities, which are numerous. The charm of this place is in the detail. I do not beileve there was an employee the entire trip that did not give us a heart felt greeting or warm wishes. Everyone of them truely wanted to go out of their way to make our trip more enjoyable. The entire compound holds true to its original turn of the century architecture extravagance. We stayed in a standard room which had all of the regular hotel ammenities. Yes, it was not large, and had dated features but they were all charming, clean, worked perfectly and looked brand new. The public rooms were dramatic. There were tall detailed ceilings, large windows, enormous chandeliers everywhere, winding stairways and passageways in every direction. You could have spent hours exploring just the inside. Although it was March and patches of snow were on the ground, we did manage a stroll outside and could imagine the beauty that spring would bring with all of the landscape in full bloom. In the evening, we enjoyed both the main dining room and the Forum. The service and food were impecible. The casino was like being on the vegas strip with the usual gaming. The only difference being that the drinks were not free. Which brings me to the last item and that is the fees. I have been to other resorts that charge similar fees. This was the only time I felt that all of them were completely justified. It is a 5 star resort with 5 star service and earned every penny that I paid them. My only suggestion to the Greenbrier would be to come up with an All-Inclusive price so there will be no sticker shock at checkout. The only other resort I know of in America of this caliber that has an All-Inclusive price is the Amelia Island Plantation in Florida.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeacefulGlob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
18.5 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
7.1 mi away
Super 8 Lewisburg
Super 8 Lewisburg
#6 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Property: The Greenbrier
Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986-2498
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Greenbrier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing