We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Remarkable American Destination” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Greenbrier
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Remarkable American Destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I visit The Greenbrier every other year for a meeting. I could live there. It is such a remarkable facility in its charm, graciousness, amenities, food, locale, comfort, etc etc etc.
world class golfing
You will never get anything but a delicious meal there, you will never find any service personnel more polite and helpful. The days just slip by. I am not a golfer, but world class golfing is there, excellent tennis facilities. a beautiful indoor pool, the spa, the high tea.turn

Let me put this another way. One evening we returned to our room after turn down service and a loose USB cord was on top of my laptop. I left it there loose, but upon return it was coiled and tied neatly with a silk white ribbon and bow.
If you ever have the opportunity to visit The Greenbrier for a few days for any reason, you must. You will not be sorry.

Room Tip: they're all good. You can ask for a "view," but all the views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,547
    490
    224
    101
    52
See reviews for
567
1,070
32
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Prtions were fairly large, the food is good, but the quality of the products served has decreased a bit. The wait staff at Drapers are the only staff that adhere to the service that the Greenbrier is famous for. The only negative I can think of was that every time I took a drink from my glass someone replaced it as soon as I let go of the glass, which can a bit un-nerving because I never saw or heard the server coming every time they took my glass.

Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I am going to start with the good before I get to the not so great.

1. If you go to the Gun Club ask for Ron. He is wonderful. I came to the Greenbrier with my husband, it was the first time for both of us. My husband is a former Marine so of course he wanted to go to the Gun Club. I was hesitant but decided there's a first time for everything. Ron walked the course with us and educated me on how to hold the gun, shoot the gun, etc. Again, I was super nervous and anyone could tell. Ron was so helpful and encouraging. At the beginning of the lesson I would have been just as happy watching my husband shoot...10 minutes in and I was hooked! I am sure the other guys there are just as great, but Ron made the entire experience unforgettable and was the pinnacle of our entire trip.

2. Most of the staff was so nice. From the bell hop, doormen, housekeeping, they were all wonderful. I had my nails done in the salon and they were all super nice and welcoming. The concierge was very helpful as well.

3. Our room was very nice; the view was something to be desired. We came at a time of the week when there was practically no one there (large group canceled maybe b/c of Hurricane Sandy). It was great for us, but then you would think that we could maybe have had a room with a better view.

4. The food was excellent when eating in a restaurant. Prime 44 was delicious. One of the best steaks I have eaten. Our waiter let us take our time with ordering a starter first and then waiting to put in our entree order so we had time to relax and not feel rushed. If you are going to be spending a lot of money on a meal you might at as enjoy the time! Draper's was a great place for lunch and we had the same lovely waitress both days. Both restaurants were very accommodating. We also had dinner at Infusion and it was alright. The sashimi we ordered wasn't very good, but the other meals we had were good.

Now onto the parts to be desired.
1. Do not eat, I repeat, do not eat at the shop where there are pre-made sandwiches. I forget the name but they have cooking classes there. The staff was RUDE and the food was terrible! Two people were behind the counter. We had to wait for them to finish their conversation before they acknowledge our existence. Then when we ordered, I ordered my sandwich first. The second woman walked 3 feet over to the bin to grab the sandwich. When she walked the 3 feet back my husband picked his sandwich. You would have thought we asked her to actually make the sandwich herself. She stood there, paused, rolled her eyes and walked back the 3 feet to the bin. The first woman, who was ringing us out, just had this look on her face like she was mad we were making her work. They were the two rudest women on our trip.

2. The retail staff doesn't know much about the products they sell. My husband found a coat that he liked. He asked to try it on and started asking questions about the coat...one being "Is this an everyday coat?" The employee's response was "yeah, you could probably use it as that." Once I looked at the price I said, "Um, yeah for $4,600 you should also wear it to bed!" The employees should know everything about a product at that price. I don't care who you are or where you work. The message I got was, "hey, you're at The Greenbrier, why are you even asking?"

3. I have a rash on the side of my face up by my ear and down to my jaw. It moved to both arms. I believe it's due to the detergent used for the sheets, but I normally don't get rashes when I stay in hotel rooms, so I wanted to make note. I didn't say anything to the staff since I only noticed it on the day we left. First my ear was itching, which I didn't think anything of at the time. Then it moved to the side of my face and my arms. Again, it is probably just the detergent although other people have complained about fleas...yet you are in the woods, so I guess it can come with the territory.

Overall I gave it a Very Good, because there was a lot more good than bad.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the time that we drove through the front gate until we left I felt like I had stepped into "Gone With The Wind". The hotel is BEAUTIFUL & the staff is EXCELLENT. They made sure that they took the extra step to make sure that your visit was perfect. The Spa was one of the best that I have ever visited. The food is excellent & there is several different resturants to choose from. The only complaint that I had was they were not all open. The Casino is beautiful but don't expect to win! Perfect place for a romantic trip but it is not cheap!

Room Tip: Choose the outer rooms as they are larger. Ours was located in the center of the hotel & was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

If visiting or staying at the Greenbrier, the Drapers Cafe is the place to go for lunch .At noon it becomes crowned and they do not take reservations. Worth the wait. The Bloody Mary's were OK but i would not recommend it.The luncheon menue was excelent. We had Rubeuns and Quesadiilla and were very pleased with the quality and service. The prices were reasonable considering this special resort
Met the Chef Josh Holmes and he was very nice to talk to about the Cafe and other restaurants at the Greenbrier.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
336 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The place was a myriad of different things. Went for a conference and gave up trying to find any of the rooms. Ended up just asking staff, which were always helpful and plentiful. Service was good and I never felt like I was a bother to anyone. The flower decor was a bit overwhelming - including my floor to ceiling wallpapered bathroom.. Room was cramped for $300/night (that's with our conference pricing).

If you go for the historical aspect of the inn, you won't be disappointed. Lots to see and read about.

One word of warning. Parking. It's everywhere, but no where. If you are in the main building, chances are you will have to park across the highway or somewhere not near the building in one of the smaller lots sprinkled around the complex, but a shuttle ride away (if you're lucky - we weren't the day we were checking out. Waited 15+ minutes and finally hitched a ride with a co-worker to get my car so we could load our bags and head out.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrvlTheWorld2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
336 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Didn't want a sit down, fancy dinner, but rather a good meal without spending 3 hours. Drapper's fit the bill. Good food, very good service, and in a reasonable amount of time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrvlTheWorld2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
18.5 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
7.1 mi away
Super 8 Lewisburg
Super 8 Lewisburg
#6 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Property: The Greenbrier
Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986-2498
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing