We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm of the years gone by with updated convenience”
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Greenbrier
Certificate of Excellence
SC
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Charm of the years gone by with updated convenience”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

When we drove through the rural WV mountains, suddenly arrived at the grand hotel. The beautiful ground, and warm welcome from the bell man to housekeeper.
We read some negative reviews about this hotel, but overall, we really enjoyed our two nights stay at this hotel.
You have to prepare to spend money, but this is the place who commit to have a great vacation and enjoy the piece of the luxury.

The room is decorated with old southern charm, and it was very clean. The spacious room with large walk-in closet. The bathroom is a smaller, but efficient.

We enjoyed our dinner at the FORUM. I wish the entrees are bit smaller size. The food we ordered were excellent, and service was great. Just be prepare to pay more than $100 for two, food only.
The Seared Sea Scallops served on creamy Lobster and Parmesan Risotto was the out of this world. Scallops were cooked perfect (they are BIG), and it is VERY rich. This is the dish to share.

The Draper's, the casual restaurant by the Casino. We had very good waitress (thanks to Kristen) . We enjoyed the "Roasted Vegetable salad", the vegetables are from their own farm! However, the Chicken pot pie was popular item, but its chicken gravy was too thick and strong. We asked for a warm milk to add in the gravy.
Hope this restaurant have a "dessert tray", so it will be easier to make our choice.

The afternoon tea (free for the hotel guest) is served from 4pm to 4:45 and there is a long line. It is not worth your effort for weak tea and so so food. This is the seasonal.

MUST DO;
1. Join the Bunker tour. It is $30/person guided tour, and its worth it.

2. Walk around the hotel and its ground. Visit 'President cottage museum'. When you walk to the golf club, stop by the pool. The beautiful view with the infinity pool is almost perfect. (Peak through the gate during off-season).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hanaSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,643
    515
    236
    106
    54
See reviews for
604
1,140
36
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Greenbrier must have been more focused on non-conference guests historically It clearly does not focus on couple getaways now. The grounds are wonderful. The interior is nice although overstated...it is hard to like Dorothy Draper this much. There are many opportunities for golf, horseback riding and the like but the resort has totally lost focus on its dining. If you visit as part of a conference it may have a level of service which is acceptable for you as part of a large group. But if you are going for excellent food and dining service....don't go. The service is untrained....unaware of any details regarding the offerings, fails to take away wine lists, white napkins after delivering black napkins, and excess silver. The staff is generally friendly, just unprofessional. More disturbing, the food is poorly prepared and presented The resort offers no intimate or romantic venues for couples looking for a nice evening together. So if you want a nice weekend away with your spouse and like the general area as a destination , I would strongly suggest the nearby Homestead. It is wonderful in all the areas which the Greenbrier is simply..... not.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the front lawn is a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wherenextnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The steak rocked, the service sucked, the fries were cold. We arrived to be told there were no menus left, so have a look at the wine list for a while. In their defense they looked like they had been slammed by big groups, but hey we had a reservation, not like we just walked in. Took two hours to get two steaks. The steaks were perfect, but my fries were cold. They did get me more fries from exactly the same cold batch as the ones on my plate. We were treated to wine and after dinner drinks, but overall I will dine elsewhere when I go back to The Greenbrier.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank majiksea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Personally I did not golf but my husband did and he said the course was excellent. Expensive but worth the $$$

Helpful?
3 Thank Rnewsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Pricy but plently of food and very fresh, waitresses were very attentive. Ate there a lot. Excellent home made ice cream.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rnewsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I recently accompanied my husband to Greenbrier Inn White Sulfur Springs, WV for a conference. Nice hotel, great rooms (we had a deluxe), excellent meals and lots to do, the grounds are impecible and staff was amazing and very attentive. Conference facilites were excellent. Meals & drinks not covered by conference were expensive though. Would most definately recommend to those who want to golf- championship courses and also world class tennis, spa. Hotel even has a bowling alley and movie theatre and a Casino exclusive to hotel guest. Lots of American history in this hotel. Very remote though no shopping nearby other than at hotel but was expensive; we went into local Lewisberg and there was lots of antique stores but not my thing.

Room Tip: Definately deluxe or better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rnewsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This weekend Sampras played Johnny Mac and since Pete was my wife's childhood hero, we went to the match. Like having your two favorite players come play at your own tennis club. Front row seats, players interacting with the fans, great fun. Plus the rooms have all been redone since we were last there. Bigger more beautful, true luxury! The staff is just great everywhere, even the housekeeping staff is friendly and cheerful. The gun club is wonderful, the sporting clays course is perfect! Hard enough to be a challenge but not so hard that only a pro can hit the targets. Throwing doubles will keep any shooter challenged. The spa has a selection of services for anyone. A great romantic (if expensive) weekend getaway. This resort is a splurge, not great value for your money.

Room Tip: Returning customers get better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank majiksea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
444 reviews
6.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
197 reviews
18.7 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
18.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hampton Inn Covington VA
#1 of 5 in Covington
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Property: The Greenbrier
Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986-2498
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing