We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Greenbrier
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Everything was fantastic and everyone was very warm and inviting.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UTJ1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,391
    450
    213
    91
    51
See reviews for
511
956
30
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

The hotel is lovely and the staff wonderful. But the dining and resort activities were very disappointing. After 2 nights of dining at Drapers, we wanted to have dinner somewhere else. The Forum was closed, the Cafes were closed and there was a 3 hour wait for the Main dining room. We finally drove into town to eat.

Activities - with 2 adults in the room and 2 children, the resort fee was $40 per night. But almost every activity had a high fee. The pool was free, but was closed when we tried to use it at 6:15 pm on Friday night and 7:30pm on Sunday night. The PG rated movie was shown at 10pm on Saturday. On Friday and Sunday they had an 8:45pm movie, but it was rated PG-13. Why not show the Muppets at an hour when children are still awake? They ran out of cookies at Afternoon tea on Saturday and didn't add any more. Bowling for 2 children for 2 games cost $36.

In addition, the bathroom was very small and freezing cold. The heat wasn't working. We showered at the fitness center and the pool instead.

By the third night, we couldn't wait to go home.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank nyf_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We liked that this restaurant had a great kids menu. The decore was so cute - pink and green accents everywhere!

Helpful?
1 Thank fld23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

My husband, our three year old daughter and I stayed at the Greenbrier for two nights in January 2012. It was our first time to the resort and we were very pleased with our decision. The interior design is truly superior throughout the hotel and the indoor pool is perfect for a family swim. We also found all of the staff to be truly professional and genuinely friendly. My daughter got special treatment wherever she went - she particularly enjoyed the breakfast buffet (kids eat for free). We ate at Draper's for both lunch and dinner - big portions, a great kids menu and gluttonous dessert choices. Try the BBQ sandwich here - you would not regret it. If you want to have dinner in the main dining room, men need to bring a tie and a jacket. For those who like to shop, there are 35 stores on the resort's premises. I found Tory Burch, Salvatore Ferragamo, and Lilly Pulitzer to be well represented here. The true bargain of the trip was the $20 pair of Toddler Tom's shoes for my daughter. The shoe store ladies are very friendly and helpful - the store is a must for any serious shopper and bargain hunter. Overall, we had a lovely stay and would definitely come back in the summer when we can enjoy more of the outdoors.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fld23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

This is main reason we come here. For the golf. It's wonderful

Helpful?
1 Thank cmac2717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We come quite a bit but was so disappointed that on a holiday weekend, two restaurants were closed. In-Fusion and The Forum. Prime 44 was booked, tie required and an hour wait at main dining room, and the always "available" Drapers had a 1 1/2 to 2 wait. Ended up in Twelve Oaks bar eating a club sandwich on my lap. Hard to do "dressed up" because dress code requires everyone to dress up to dine and/ or gamble. The always 24hour room service closed at 10:00 pm. The on-duty manager did not care. Did not even ask our name and offered no excuse. Concierge said the restaurants were closed for deep cleaning. On a booked holiday week end? A bar tender finally told us that there had been a ton of lay offs and cut backs. Anyway it sounded like a truer answer. This place was featured in Vogue magazine this month. People might be upset that it doesn't quite live up to expectations.

Room Tip: Some bathrooms can be quite small. Ask for a roomier one. All the rooms are different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank cmac2717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolwine, Virginia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

The price point creates an expectation. That point at the Greenbrier is quite high. Unfortunately the service did not come close to meeting expectations.
We ate at Infusion the first night and it was raw fish but sushi grade no way. My regular sushi chef would not have served it.
The second night we ate at the main dining room. But that was mere luck since we had been told they were completely booked twice. The Forum was closed (layoff of 100), Drapers had a two hour wait. We went to West 44 out of desperation (see earlier review). On the way passed the dining room we saw empty tables. Who would have guessed.
There are so many "little things", details unattended, I could mention, actually too many. Suffice it say, the Greenbrier is only a ghost of its glorious past. Next time I think we will stay at the Greenbrier State Forest and let mother nature tend our needs.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Foodandwine60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
18.5 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
16.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Property: The Greenbrier
Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986-2498
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Greenbrier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing