We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“"What a wonderful site"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Greenbrier
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"What a wonderful site"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Second time I have been to the resort before Christmas. All the staff are a delight to be around. I actually want to personally thank the gentlemen who helped me find the West Virginia wing and walked me to the back doors to meet my party. I am planning to come in July for the 4th, I can't wait for the celebration and the beauty that has been blessed upon this hotel. Thanks again, until next year.

Room Tip: I have stayed at the West Virginia Wing rooms and inside the hotel rooms, they are very large and ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,394
    451
    213
    91
    51
See reviews for
513
958
30
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We had a late lunch and were looking for "something" before the movie. My friend and I split the ham and cheese. It was on a delicious bun with lots of meat. They split the sandwich in the kitchen and brought it out on 2 plates with the sweet potato fries and it was more than enough for less than $9.00 each.

Helpful?
3 Thank 24TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

This resort is hidden in a remote area of WV and many people have never heard about it. The entrance looks like you are going to the White House - absolutely beautiful. Went on a two night junket in early December and it was so beautiful. 7000 poinsettias all over the hallways, Christmas trees, swags and decorations everywhere. Have never seen anything so beautiful. Be sure to take the bunker tour. It is about an hour and a half and very interesting. Don't know how they kept it quiet for so long.
As you would expect, this is a very expensive place. Don't plan to get any bargains in the shops. Cute little coffee shop downstairs that sevrves a great breakfast sandwich for $8. You can skip the $27 breakfast buffet in main dining room. You should eat there just once just for the experience and the crystal chandeliers. My friend and I split a sandwich at Drapers and it was fabulous.

Don't pass up the chance to get this once in a lifetime experience.

Room Tip: Look for special packages in the "off season".
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 24TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We had a great burger and fried green tomato sandwich. The sweet potato fries were very tasty!

Helpful?
2 Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Atlantic Areal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Just returned from a nice pre-holiday weekend, just in time to see the tree lighting and the whole property ablaze in lights--enchanting! Service and friendliness of staff were both first rate, and although the Draper-designed accommodations are not quite our style, they were comfortable and generous. The breakfast buffet is abundant and fresh, but they do need to do better with fish preparation at both dinner and breakfast (skip the trout!). All said, the resort is legendary--go at least once (take lots of $$--a single cashmere scarf was $1300 in one of the men's shops) to see what all the fuss is about.

Room Tip: Huge property, so most rooms will be just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TwoPoets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Just stayed at the Greenbrier for the first for my best friends wedding. It was amazing to say the least. The staff was professional, friendly, and helpful. Our room was stunning. Their Christmas decorations, lights, and ice skating rink make the Greenbrier a magical place this time of year. My husband and I can not wait to go back for a weekend away. The only downside to staying here is now every other place we stay at will feel like a dump!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Trvl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Excellent food and wonderful service. The menu had enough variety to keep it interesting.

Helpful?
1 Thank bgeorgius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
18.5 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
16.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Property: The Greenbrier
Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986-2498
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Greenbrier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing