We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Your honor, I wish to recant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Greenbrier
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Your honor, I wish to recant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

I stayed recently at the Greenbrier. While I did not enjoy the train ride there....the greenbrier was fantastic. I am giving it a three thumbs up. Outstanding! I do not know where to begin. The room was gorgeous; the amenities wonderful...the shops to die for . There were little espresso cafes and late night casual dining. I hiked around the property for many miles and was in awe of the gorgeous scenery.

It was elegant ...the staff top notch. The only thing that was mildly bothersome is we had an over nine hour trip to get there and thus saved our best clothes for the resort. When we asked a male concierege where we could casually eat, he answered but advised us of the dress code which we were familiar with as we didnt even have our bags from the bell man yet, upon arrival. Other than that , it was spectacular. I did not want to leave. The food I ate (I want to say sweet potato fries at the causal eatery were outstanding. )

The staff in the espresso shop remembered my drink....I loved being there. we are going back for Christmas holidays. I love to be casual but didnt mind at all dressing up for the resort. It deserved a dress code as it lives up to extremely fine place to go.

I recommend it for everyone. Hikers, bikers , walking , golfing etc etc. ; family (although it is formal ) seniors, everyone. I went years ago before the renovation and I was not impressed. I am now.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Citalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,475
    477
    219
    98
    53
See reviews for
539
1,023
31
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sewickley, PA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

My husband and I took my parents to the Greenbrier for Easter, and don't have one bad thing to say. The attentive service, beautiful interior, the flower filled grounds, and the delectable food were perfect. We especially loved the wait staff in the main dining room. The Easter buffet was a work of art that ran smoothly, delighting the children and adults. The spa treatments were pure luxury. A wonderful wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: Old South Elegance. If you can, ask to be upgraded to a suite. Ours was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawmom611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

Returned to The Greenbrier after many years. We suspect the new owner has a vision to bring this icon into the new millennium while keeping its' old world charm & elegance. I think it's on the right track, but I think they have some work to do. The staff is a big asset, if not the biggest asset to this resort. I think you have to stay there to understand. It's all about service with a personal touch, they all seemed vested in the hotel. We did not encounter one surly or inefficient or unfriendly staff member. That is hard to find anywhere.
If you don't "get" the interior design then it's hard to appreciate the talent that went into the original design and how seamlessly the new additions (casino) blend into the hotel. It's just best to lose yourself in the Dorothy Draper/Carlton Varnay world.....you're on vacation!!! The casino is lovely in an old world (think Monte Carlo) style.....jackets required, no smoking, no loud music, no loud bells....just lots of fun. You can walk out of the casino at 3:00 am and have a choice between the best ice cream soda east of the Mississippi at Drapers or have a nightcap at the Cafe Carlton.
I think the big issue for me was the food at the Main Dinning Room. I prefer the main room because it is what sets The Greenbrier apart from so many resorts. The ambiance is perfection, but the food, while very good needs to go to the next level. Some items we ordered were not cooked properly and were a bit bland. Might be time to go after a top chef. The other restaurants were very good, but the service was a bit too slow. They seemed overextended at the Forum as we waited 30 minutes past our reservation and then did not get served for quite awhile. That would not do well in a 5 star review.
The Spring Row Cottages are our favorite for our family. They need some updating but are still lovely. The pool improvements are excellent. The view from the edge of the infinity pool out over the golf course and beyond to the mountains is just sheer perfection. Our family loved the golf courses, the horseback riding, clay shooting, fishing, along with the spa & fitness center. All got rave reviews.
The Greenbrier is not just another resort....it's a setting and a place that has it's own unique feel, smell, pace and beauty. I just love it.... and hope its' journey back to the top is swift and flawless. We will love to be there each step of the way.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank That'sMyOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
203 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

This place is quality from the moment you arrive. The property is gorgeous, well landscaped and building well kept. The rooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated. The service is A+. Breakfast buffet had everything imaginable and then some. Lots to do right on the property from swimming indoor or out, tennis, golf, walking, spa, bowling, etc. They even had shopping to keep everyone happy.
We were there for a wedding and it was spectacular! Every event was flawless. Enjoy (for a price)!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6mojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east end
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

First, our reservations did not show up that we had made two months in advance. Finally gave us a small cottage seperated from our group after an hour of waiting. Was told to check back with accounting in a.m. even though my daughter had her credit card recept showing the paid reservation. Went out to attend the Miss W.V. pageant, returned later to find beds turned down. left early next morning, traveled straight home. Unpacked suitcase to discover a white cotton jacket was not where i had put it only the evening before after changing from it. Gave the maid on duty the benefit of the doubt ,thinking she may have mistaken it for a towel even though it was in a suitcase. Called housekeeping_ nothing found in room. I am 100% sure that it was stolen from my room or I would not be writing this. You would never expect this from this resort but it happened. Lucky it was something that inexpensive. However, that is not the point.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank disappointedEastEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

We celebrated my parents' 50th anniversary with a four night/five day stay in June. Excellent rooms - we shared two cottages on Baltimore row. Huge baths, bedrooms and living room! If you choose the meal plan, room service is included and is excellent!! Activities abound, both on and off the property. Some things are included and others have an additional fee, but all are done exceptionally well. Dress code is reasonable and adds a nice touch in this era of "very informal." Food was delicious - only average dinner was in the italian restaurant, but we are from the Northeast and are particular about italian cuisine.

Room Tip: The cottages are a great alternative to the hotel if your group is large enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

The food was not that good. The potato salad, the potatoes were not done. The Devlled eggs, not good. not what I would call a buffet. only two different kinds of desserts,
I must say everything looked and smelled good.

I were to invite someone to dinner, would have had a very good dinner, with enough food to pick and choose.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank peepy1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
18.5 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
7.1 mi away
Super 8 Lewisburg
Super 8 Lewisburg
#6 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Property: The Greenbrier
Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986-2498
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Greenbrier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing