We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality”
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Greenbrier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This place is quality from the moment you arrive. The property is gorgeous, well landscaped and building well kept. The rooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated. The service is A+. Breakfast buffet had everything imaginable and then some. Lots to do right on the property from swimming indoor or out, tennis, golf, walking, spa, bowling, etc. They even had shopping to keep everyone happy.
We were there for a wedding and it was spectacular! Every event was flawless. Enjoy (for a price)!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6mojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,282 - 2,288 of 2,605 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2011

First, our reservations did not show up that we had made two months in advance. Finally gave us a small cottage seperated from our group after an hour of waiting. Was told to check back with accounting in a.m. even though my daughter had her credit card recept showing the paid reservation. Went out to attend the Miss W.V. pageant, returned later to find beds turned down. left early next morning, traveled straight home. Unpacked suitcase to discover a white cotton jacket was not where i had put it only the evening before after changing from it. Gave the maid on duty the benefit of the doubt ,thinking she may have mistaken it for a towel even though it was in a suitcase. Called housekeeping_ nothing found in room. I am 100% sure that it was stolen from my room or I would not be writing this. You would never expect this from this resort but it happened. Lucky it was something that inexpensive. However, that is not the point.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank disappointedEastEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We celebrated my parents' 50th anniversary with a four night/five day stay in June. Excellent rooms - we shared two cottages on Baltimore row. Huge baths, bedrooms and living room! If you choose the meal plan, room service is included and is excellent!! Activities abound, both on and off the property. Some things are included and others have an additional fee, but all are done exceptionally well. Dress code is reasonable and adds a nice touch in this era of "very informal." Food was delicious - only average dinner was in the italian restaurant, but we are from the Northeast and are particular about italian cuisine.

Room Tip: The cottages are a great alternative to the hotel if your group is large enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lindsay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

The food was not that good. The potato salad, the potatoes were not done. The Devlled eggs, not good. not what I would call a buffet. only two different kinds of desserts,
I must say everything looked and smelled good.

I were to invite someone to dinner, would have had a very good dinner, with enough food to pick and choose.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
4  Thank peepy1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I just read all of the great reviews. Did anyone not notice the thick, old musty smell thru out the hotel??? From the lobby, the hallways and in the room the smell makes you feel like the place is not the cleanest. I suspect it's the carpet! The carpet in the hall and in my room was unraveling and dirty around the perimeter. For a place of this "caliber" and price, I expect a more.

Othe points...
Grounds - beautiful!
service - always friendly and helpful
bed - super comfortable with great sheets
Bath Towels - a little rough, on the thin side
Food - overpriced for quality...my steak was never cooked as requested
Outdoor Pool - relaxing with great pool service
Decor - seriously??? Could be such a beautiful place, but they went overboard and it's gaudy and outdated which ends up feeling cheap. Hard to explain...imagine bold palm leaf pattern carpet, turquoise and white stripe char, bright red sofa, pink and yellow flower print wallpaper, green and blue flower print curtains...in the same room. Very strange that most perceive as luxury.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that's been recently updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HotelSnobATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

The staff were so friendly and anticipated our needs from the minute we stepped into the hotel until we checked out. Great selection of restaurants and all were fantastic. The casino was a fun place to end the day.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Four days of meetings in July did not allow enough time to walk the beautiful grounds of Greenbrier in White Sulphur Springs, WV. The staff was accomodating without being stuffy or intrusive. Everyone, down to waiters and housekeeping staff, greeted you with a smile, and many by name. Don't miss the grounds tour and the bunker tour. Slammin' Sammys Restaurant and Draper were good casual choices, but the elegant breakfast in the Main Dining Room was my favorite. We will return for a few days on our own as soon as the calendar allows. Indoor swimming pool and bowling lanes.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lifelonglibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
465 reviews
6.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
18.7 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
18.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Covington VA
Hampton Inn Covington VA
#1 of 5 in Covington
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986-2498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range: $200 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Greenbrier 5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing