We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Greenbrier
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

I am not a big fan of huge hotels, but The Greenbrier has changed my opinion.
The colorful decor initially seems way over the top, but it imparts a bright, energetic and welcoming personality that is evident throughout the staff and property. The Greenbrier staff seem genuinely happy and proud that you've chosen to visit.
This was a work related trip, but beyond the framework of that agenda, the variety of outdoor leisure activities was amazing. Inside the hotel, there are many comfortable, quiet and sunny areas to play cards or read or knit, etc.
My husband and I look forward to a return trip there, on our own dime, for golf and fishing
and no other agenda than just enjoying ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jingeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,379
    446
    210
    91
    50
See reviews for
503
953
29
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hendersonville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Previous reviewers have pretty much covered everything about the Greenbrier. It is pretty much a "one-of-a-kind" type of place. I personally love the "Dorothy Draper" color schemes; the scale of the place is grand; every where you cast your eyes you see a photo op; and of course, there are little extravagant luxeries hidden here and there. But, the one thing that makes it "one-of-a-kind" is its people. The word "gracious" came to my mind when I decided to write another review of The Greenbrier. Everyone with whom we interacted, from the doormen, to the wait staff in all of the restaurants, to the golf shop folks, to the maids, were without exception kind, friendly, and genuinely caring. They often went out of their way to assist us. It may simply be the "West Virginia" way of doing things, but we have never experience that attitude to this extent at any other resort we have visited. So, yes, The Greenbrier is s special place for many reasons, but the best thing it has going for it is its employees, all 1600 of them.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank presleyTenessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Just spent two nights with another couple at The Greenbrier. The guys played golf and loved the course, the water and towels on the course and the attentive service. The girls shopped and enjoyed a morning at the SPA which was very nice. We also enjoyed the tour of the main building, learning the history of Dorothy Draper and her sense of color and pattern. The Bunker Tour is another highlight and gives great insight into the political scene of the 60-80's. Dinner at Sam Snead was wonderful with the recipe for the fresh peach soup provided.

Room Tip: Call and discuss your room desire with the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

what a beautiful place! i booked a room using the 'tribute to virginians' special so was able to save some money. we wanted to go just to experience the place and weren't planning on spending much once we got there. the place has a LOT to offer though in the way of restaurants and entertainment. loved the evening tea time and just walking around the place. we took a great walk around the golfcourse and grounds, visited the shops, and ate our meals in town to save money. we got in a little late and had a very hard time finding a place to park, but didn't feel the need to do valet. the room was very cute and the turndown service thoughtful. be prepared to spend a lot of money, though we knew this going into it ...overall a wonderful resort with plenty to do.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank g_lynn211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

What can I say about the greenbrier that could be in any way a complaint....? It rained one evening.!!!
Other than that, it was superb, the restaurant (there are four) and the wines were excellent, the service discreet and very efficient, the public rooms were beautifully furnished and tasteful, the atmosphere so relaxed,
Bedrooms were spacious and very well-appointed, with large bathroom and a walk=in dressing room area.
Staff were attentive and very courteous and good at their jobs....with a smile always on their faces..
Set in hundreds of acres of the most scenic countryside with walks and horse-drawn carriage tours, golf courses, bowling lanes, a huge swimming and water complex and even an underground nuclear bomb complex, we did not have enough time in 5 days to even see it all, never mind use the facilities. The list of guests over the years makes interesting reading, from King Edward V111 and Mrs Simpson to the Kennedy's and most of the Hollywood legends.
And lets not mention the new and exclusive Casino, so relaxed and ....yes, we lost some cash.So let's not mention that!!!
As an international traveler over the past 40 years, this is THE BEST YET.... and it did not break the bank either.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarriUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I visited The Greenbrier in late December 2010, early January 2011. I went with my husband and my in-laws to celebrate New Years. It was wonderful. We stayed in a cabin, which was beautiful - super comfy bed, very quiet, tranquil. The location is beautiful. The food was awesome. There is a lot of shopping in the resort, but it was a little expensive. The casino is also very nice, and lots of different restaurants to choose from.
The New Year's Eve celebration was outstanding. Great food, wonderful atmosphere, overall - incredible.
I got a little bored while staying here - I wasn't interested in the outdoors activities and shopping got old after a while. But my husband, his dad, and his brothers loved all 4 days we were here.
Overall, beautiful and relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annilizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Went here for a conference having never been before, so we didn't know what to expect. The room was a little less than anticipated, it could use a little TLC, but it was spacious and comfortable. The dining was great. We did Italian one night and catered the next. Meals were a bit pricey, but no more than anticipated and you did get quite a bit of food. The Breakfast Buffet was good, not great. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLUdog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
18.5 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
8.4 mi away
Motel M Lewisburg
Motel M Lewisburg
#7 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Property: The Greenbrier
Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986-2498
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Greenbrier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing