We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful grounds, great service lots of activities.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenbrier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Greenbrier
Certificate of Excellence
Wash. DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, great service lots of activities.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Stayed there for two nights in early June, first time there. Service & staff were excellent all round. Has a cottage ( Copeland Row ). Room was ok considering the price, pretty standard sort of room.
Lots of activities to keep most entertained although some come with a pricey fee. Grounds were well kept and beautiful. Hiking trails are good.
Tried to make dinner reservations at In Fusion one night and after several attemots to do so, found out it was closed but there was no public mention of it to the guests.
My personal observation...the Hotel askes for jackets, collared shirts, ties for some of its restaurants they claim are fine diniing with exceprional cuisine BUT they are in essence either a glorified burger joint or a not so great Italian restaurant. I think the expectation of the dress code does not match the actual restaurants they have and it felt a little odd having to wear a jacket in Drapers which in essence is really a burger/sandwich place.
The 'stuffy' dress code is dated and it should embrace a more casual approach to dining or then have a restaurant that is worthy of people getting dressed up for. Not to say that the food we had was bad, it just did not warrant the jacket/tie.
Clientelle appeared to be primarily older, white and conservative which may not augur well for any updates in the culinary arena.
Having also staye din Nemacolin in PA, which is similar, Greenbrier has more to do and has history and fame on its side, but Nemacolin has the culinary side of the comparison well ahead. They have more modern restaurants and a slightly younger more dynamic vibe to it.
Went for the Bunker tour which was excellent.
Overall a nice place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Babawatoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,391
    449
    212
    91
    51
See reviews for
511
955
30
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed here a part of a collection of college friends attending a wedding. The rooms where very traditional and nice. The service was outstanding, from the front desk experience, to the housekeeping maid, to the room service waiter. The grounds were well kept and beautiful.
The wedding itself was outstanding, again great service and wonderful food. All together it was an excellent weekend.
Nothing about the Greenbrier was inexpensive.

Room Tip: To get the best room, pay for the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PacerJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We took a large extended family trip to the Greenbrier last year at Christmas and really enjoyed the decorations. They do a top job of glitzing it up for the Holiday and we took some beautiful family pictures. The decor is so wonderfully retro and it seems as though not much has changed in the last 60-70 years, all in a very good way. Our room had a wonderful, oversized soaking tub. Fantastic! Our kids are still talking about the pony rides and the chocolates we ate after seeing the chef prepare them. It was a good time. I loved sneaking down to watch a (free!) movie in the theater after the kids were asleep. The shops are fun and you can get cute things to bring home as gifts. Customer service is a key priority for the resort so if you want something, just ask! I loved taking tea in the afternoon and then finding a quiet spot to write letters on the complimentary stationary. It's such a treat to take time to relax and reflect. That's one of the essential elements of the Greenbrier!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteelMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

I just returned from the Greenbrier this morning (Memorial Day weekend 2011) with my husband and my parents. This place is spectacular. Obviously, it's very similar to the Homestead in Hot Springs, VA.

I think the best thing about it is that there is something for everyone there. For the active, there is golfing, swimming, horseback riding, adventure zone for kids, bowling, hiking, kayaking, laser tag, off-road driving, and white water rafting. For the less active, there are tours, falconry, culinary demonstrations, gambling, afternoon tea, shopping, movies at the theatre, carriage rides, croquet, fishing, indoor games (such as backgammon), a museum, and a great spa.

All of the staff are very nice and accomodating. The bunker tour is very interesting even though you mostly see just concrete, long hallways, and steel doors. It's fascinating to learn about the way it was built, financed, and heavily maintained and updated for the 30 years in case of a nuclear attack. It was not a fancy place for Congress and the Senate; it was clearly a safe but crowded place in case of emergency. Falconry is also very interesting since you can see the different birds, such as a falcony and hawk up close, and you can learn about their training.

My husband and father thoroughly enjoyed playing golf at the Meadows, which is the easist course. The staff even allowed me to borrow a golf cart to go say hello to them as they played.

I agree with some reviewers that the decor is not my taste. Dorothy Draper decorated with large and bright prints of red, pink and green. I also agree that the quality of the food in the main dining room is not up to par for the prices. The dinner entrees are around $40. You're better off eating at other places in the Greenbrier, such as In Fusion (try the spring rolls, fried rice or shrimp tempura), Drapers (try the pot roast sandwich, club sandwich, or crab louis appetizer), and Slammin' Sammy's (try the pizza or club sandwich). Julian's in Lewisburg serves superb food and wine although it is located in a small house and lacks the ambiance of the dining room in the Greenbrier.

Both swimming pools are fabulous. The indoor pool is the largest, private indoor pool I've ever seen. I'm sure it's longer then an olympic size pool. The bathrooms for the indoor pool are very clean and well-designed. They offer every product you might need, and they even provide a bathing suit spinner to dry it out quickly. The outdoor pool has that wonderful edge so you can walk down with a gentle slope instead of climbing down a ladder.

We stayed in the main building where the rooms are relatively small at about 300 s.f. Again, it had the bright colors, but the bathroom was quite large and well-renovated. The small size did not bother us. Occasionally, you can hear the nearby train at night, but it wasn't a significant problem. They even have a sign in front of the elevators to remind people to be quiet in the evening.

The casino is beautiful and brand new. The new owner has reportedly spent at least $100 million on renovating the casino, including building the casino. It's a nice change from the crowded casinos in Las Vegas (and I love Vegas). The lowest minimum bet for blackjack is $10.

Yes, you can save yourself $20/day plus tips if you park yourself. The lots are not far away. You don't have to be pinged to death by tipping if you skip valet parking.

There are plenty of young families here in addition to some older couples. The more formal dress code may discourage younger folks, but everyone seemed to enjoy the place. Fortunately, the Greenbrier seems to be doing well under the new ownership and is said to be sold out for the summer of 2011. We even ran into the new owner, Mr. Justice, and his wife and daughter, all of whom could not have been more down-to-earth and pleasant in our brief conversation.

Room Tip: Call early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaimeSommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Having a ball at the Greenbrier. Fly fishing guide Clair was fantastic. Had a 2 hour trip scheduled, but he didn't want to leave till I pulled in a 20+ inch trout. He was generous with the time. Nice down to earth guy who is sure to put you on to a lot of nice fish. The river trail bike ride was just OK. We wouldn't recommend the trail in the heat of summer. Not much to see. It was a little boring for trail rides, poor value. Salon service (mani/pedi) just OK. Service was overpriced for what my wife got. Her massage chair was broken and the lady doing her service got called away for a family emergency in the middle of her services. The replacement person was someone who had moved on to hair and had not worked with nails/feet for years. Service was reduced, but the price wasn't, poor value. Get you services done at home before you leave. Casino was nice and smoke free but charged for drinks, even at table games; insulting to gamblers. Italian restaurant was fair. Prime 44 food was above average. Restaurant was over priced in regards to atmosphere. Current dress code is coat/tie/dress, but screams resort casual. The price screams black tie ($250 for two w/ 1 drink and basic meals). The whole Prime place seems to confuse itself. We don't plan to return for dinner. Better cheaper meals are in town. Ruth's or Morton's is actually a better value than Prime. Never thought I'd say that! The standard room is all you need here, since you should be out of your room enjoying yourself. The room we had was wonderful. The bed was the best we have ever slept in and we travel quite a bit (2102). All the employees are friendly and treat everyone like royalty. Can't beat the staff. They are top notch and seem to like their jobs. It's easy to see why folks like the resort, but avoid the dinning if you can. The value in their food just does not reach 5 stars. More like 3-4 stars with 5 star prices attached. All in all, this was a nice weekend get away.

Room Tip: Ask for military discount. It's only offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Airpower2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Loved it..had a great time. The staff is excellent and it's so wonderful to hear how they are really trying to do the best they can for Jim Justice, the local businessman who purchased The Greenbrier and saved it from closing. The bartenders were top rate, best I've ever seen and the service was impeccable. We loved golfing there and wish we would have stayed all week instead of going to The Homestead. The Greenbrier is definitely the better of the two.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAgolfgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Perfect stay. Nice, clean, great wait staff. Rooms are a little small but so much to do who cares. The architecture, furniture and art work makes you feel like you are in the mid 1800's
The Casino is nice - only 5 or 6 different table games. Limit start at $15. Drinks are expensive but well prepared.

Only thing I would stay away from is Prime 44. Jerry West needs to stick to basketball - his steaks are over priced and are not as good as Outback or Logans Roadhouse.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saltrockkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
18.5 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
16.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier

Property: The Greenbrier
Address: 300 W Main St, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986-2498
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Greenbrier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amid the breathtaking Allegheny Mountains of West Virginia, The Greenbrier is a National Historic Landmark and an award-winning resort that has been welcoming guests since 1778. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenbrier Hotel White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Resort White Sulphur Springs
Greenbrier Wv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing