We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place, Clean, Very Accomodating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
bakert80
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Place, Clean, Very Accomodating”
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Every year a group of about 10-15 of my friends take a trip to Oglebay to golf for the weekend. In years past we have stayed in St. Clairsville at the Red Roof Inn. This year we stayed at the Springhill Suites in Wheeling and I must say I will NEVER stay at another hotel as long as this one is there. Great place to stay, very clean. It is up on top of a large hill so you get great views. I suggest having coffee from the free buffet on the patio outside the pool area for a great view of the neighboring college. The only negative that I could talk about is that I guess they used to have a free shuttle which they have recently gotten rid of. This did not really bother me, it is only a $7 and about 5 minutes cab ride to the casino. Oglebay Park is right at the bottom of the hill from the hotel, turn right a the Sheetz. As I said, great hotel, will stay at again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bakert80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    117
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
104
89
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

This is the second year that we stayed here for the local blues festival. Very clean, comfortable room/bed, very helpful front desk staff. Overall great value. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRJLAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Spring Hill Suites was clean, room was roomy (especially the bath), bed was comfy and the breakfast was filling.
Our only compliments was that the bottom of the toilet isn't caulked - and had been peed on at the base at some point - and as such the bathroom reeked of urine! My can of Lysol spray masked the odor pretty well. Also the sink basin was s-l-o-w draining, cause your toothpaste spit to linger - somewhat gross.
All in all though, the hotel was nice, and with good views of the beautiful mountains...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beege49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Recently spent two nights at this hotel and recommend it, especially if you can find a good deal on the price. The rooms are nicely decorated, spacious and comfortable, with a semi-separate seating area - nice if you like to net-surf while your roommate is sleeping. We decided to relax and make a late morning on our second day, and asked the housekeeper if she could do our room after 1:00 PM. She actually made a 1:30 appt for cleaning, and did it with a smile. I've never had a housekeeper be so accommodating. We had a couple of women in the room and so we asked in advance for additional towels. They were waiting in our room on arrival. Kudos to your staff! Only suggestion I'd make is to lose the scary looking egg patties on the breakfast bar - not at all appetizing. A bin of scrambled eggs is really not that hard to do.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

My wife and I have stayed here monthly for the last 2 years. There are virtually no negatives about this place. Staff are friendly, rooms are clean and roomy with refrigerator and microwave in each, flat screen TV, wide array of breakfast items, etc. etc. The only negative is that it is a little hard to set the thermostat correctly as it is set across the room from the air conditioner/heater. Other than that, no problems whatsoever. Staff even puts out fresh-baked chocolate chip cookies in the evening. Be careful, however, if it is icy out and the driveway (a long, steep hill) hasn't been cleared yet-can be very very slippery!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hakeedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

From the moment we entered the bright and clean lobby of this hotel, we knew we'd made the right choice! Not only was the atmosphere welcoming, the two staff members behind the desk were exceptionally courteous and friendly.

Being Marriott Rewards members, our preferences are always on record. Without having to ask, we were given exactly the type of room we prefer (i.e. highest floor possible, away from elevators, etc.).

Having completed a quick and painless check-in, we went up to our room where we were greeted by the sight of a spacious studio suite complete with a small kitchenette (microwave, coffee maker, refrigerator, open shelving and cupboards for storing food items and a sink). One caveat here, it is literally a refrigerator--there is no freezer compartment--so if you happen to be the type who likes to prepare frozen meals in your room, be sure you buy the item(s) directly before use!

For those who don't want to make anything in their room and don't want to go out, there are a number of local restaurants that do deliver to the hotel.

Connected to the kitchenette was a comfortable, tastefully-decorated sitting area with a couch, chair and writing desk with table lamp. Our room featured two queen-size beds with a generous selection of pillows of different sizes and firmness levels. The night table also boasted a clock-radio with an iPod dock. The carpet was spotless and made walking around barefoot a comfortable proposition. We were also fortunate to have breathtaking views of the surrounding mountains (see photos) from the windows which can be completely opened without any of those annoying stops which restrict full access.

If we had any "complaints" it would be the set-up of the bathroom and the location of the TV. In the former case, the suite has a bathroom where the sink is located outside of the toilet and tub/shower room. Thus, the person using the sink doesn't have the complete privacy a traditional bathroom affords. In the latter case, the set-up of our room was such that the TV could only be placed against a wall located at the foot of one bed. While it could be turned so anyone seated in the sitting area could see, the same couldn't reasonably be said about turning it so that anyone in the other bed could see without having to turn his/her head at an awkward angle. This may have been unique to rooms in the exact location as ours--I couldn’t say. Oh--NO PAY PER VIEW MOVIES and a very limited channel selection made for a BORING night of TV viewing.

The free continental breakfast offered all the standards i.e. coffee, milk, juice, cereal, bagels, pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit, and do-it-yourself waffles. Nothing fancy but certainly plenty to choose from and the dining area can accommodate quite a few guests at any given time.

Although we didn't use these facilities, there was a business center, pool and exercise room. We did use the hotel's complimentary WiFI and had no problem with connecting or maintaining a fairly-speedy connection.

There was a small problem when I tried to purchase a drink from the vending machine on my floor and had my money disappear without getting the product. A quick trip to the front desk saw me walking away with a full "refund," no questions asked and a note from the man behind the desk to get upstairs to address the situation ASAP.

This SpringHill Suites location also has a small "canteen" area by the front desk where a very limited selection of frozen dinners is available, along with all sorts of snack items and toiletries.

All-in-all, we had a very pleasant stay at this hotel and we would definitely reserve a room again should we find ourselves in the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cemetery_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We needed a hotel to give us room for our family with 5 young ones and my mother. This place was perfect. The rooms provide ample space. Imagine your standard hotel room with an extra room off the side including a sofa bed, small kitchenette, table, desk and chair. Great space so we weren't on top of each other. The toilet/shower were separate from the sink area too.

The pool and exercise areas were great. Breakfast was fantastic with hot entre offerings like pancakes, sausage, eggs, etc.

The hotel staff recommended a local restaurant around the corner in the quaint, older part town that we would have never found on our own, but it was perfect. It had some Irish name that I can't recall now but the meals were delicious and ample.

The hotel was on a main highway off the interstate and we felt safe all the time. Couldn't have asked for better.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMommy010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
4.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia Wheeling Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Wheeling Triadelphia at the Highlands
5.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia/wheeling
1.8 mi away
The McLure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Wheeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Wheeling

Property: SpringHill Suites Wheeling
Address: 908 National Rd, Wheeling, WV 26003-6441
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wheeling
#4 Business Hotel in Wheeling
#4 Family Hotel in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Wheeling 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your SpringHill Suites Wheeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Wheeling Hotel Wheeling
Wheeling Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing