We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doesn't live up to Marriott Name.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Doesn't live up to Marriott Name.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

Thought we would give it a try even though, we have routinely stayed at Hampton Inn, 1 mile down the road. Had to change rooms immediately, they claim no pets allowed but, short wirey hairs found. ? sweeper had really been ran in that room. Room didn't look clean at all. Had to get new keys twice due to not working. "Two room suites" is a bit of a stretch but, they did have a mini refrigerator and microwave in the rooms. Rooms are more quite than most hotel rooms and the complimentary breakfast is free for a reason--fair at best. When you check out and they say, how was your stay? They really don't want to know. My husband said fair and told them about the cleanliness, room key inconveniences, etc. --they were like, oh, sorry.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    113
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
102
87
9
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
WV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2009

Food is the worst, Powdered eggs, bacon so hard you cant eat it and staff is so slow they cant keep up with even a few individuals that dare to eat the food.

Rooms are dirty, toilet especially, shower stall rack falling down, loose cable on tv.

Over charge any acounts that you use and they dont tell ya about it. so if you run close in your acounts it will most likely bounce something.

Pool was so strong it burned your eyes walking into the room.

No parking at night. If you want to park come early just to get a spot.

Hill up to this place is steep and they dont clear it when its bad out also.

I stay in marriotts all the time and this has been the worst for sure.

  • Liked — At least the internet worked
  • Disliked — Overcharging securities and the filth in the rooms.
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelor1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2009

Back from a three night stay at the Spring Hill Suites in Wheeling, WV. Great location, convenient to Ogelbay Resort and several areas of Wheeling/Triadelphia. Stayed in a king room, 3 adults for 3 nights. Sofa bed was a bit uncomfortable (most are) but king bed was very comfortable with several pillow choices. Room is nicely decorated and space functions well. A little cramped for space with the sofa bed in use but we managed. Room was clean and everything was in great condition. Fridge/microwave clean as a whistle. Staff were very friendly and helpful during our stay. Nice fitness center, pool and whirlpool. Above average breakfast selection. Comfortable sitting area in lobby/breakfast room with small business center. Also had good internet access in room. This is our favorite hotel when in the Wheeling area.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeaceLoveBoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

This is a nice, very modern and new hotel. The rooms are a good size with decently comfortable beds and nice large flat screen TVs. Bathrooms were large and clean with seperate sink/mirror area which was appreciated.

There were plenty of in-room amenities, from fridge to microwave to Ipod dock-alarm clock. Its the kind of thing I'm used to seeing in $300+ rooms in larger cities. This room was $160. As nice as it was, if you are there to go to the Casino via the shuttle, make sure to call and confirm it is working.

Our bachelor party crew ran into some very bad luck, as both the hotel's and casino's shuttles were out of service. This lead to us using cabs, which wouldn't be a problem except that there is less than ten (10) cabs in the city, and the most we ever saw in one place were 3, and we knew all the drivers within our first few hours of arriving.

The good news is that the ride from SpringHill to the casino is only $5.20, but the 30 - 60 minute wait on the cabs that are still in service made for a very interrupted night out in Wheeling.

So no shuttle really hurt our trip, but the hotel itself is a great success.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingHombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

The staff was friendly. The room clean. Free breakfast and WIFI. A very positive experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerseygirl4515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
193 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

Stayed for the night, and it's a nice, clean hotel with comfortable beds. Also, very quiet. Nice location on a hill. The breakfast is typical free breakfast, but it is free! Would stay here again if I am in the area.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank richnindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

Just finished a stay here and found it to be all they advertize! Received senior discount, complimentary breakfast, wireless internet, pool, spa, etc.. Everyone one was friendly and met our needs.

Room was big, comfortable and clean, linens were nice, not plush plush, but fine.

One thing we wished worked differently was the air conditioner. It was a bit loud and either all or nothing when it blew

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seniorx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
4.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia Wheeling Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Wheeling Triadelphia at the Highlands
5.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia/wheeling
1.8 mi away
The McLure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Wheeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Wheeling

Property: SpringHill Suites Wheeling
Address: 908 National Road, Wheeling, WV 26003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Wheeling
#4 Family Hotel in Wheeling
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Wheeling 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Wheeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Wheeling Hotel Wheeling
Wheeling Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing