We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up On the Hill.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed a few days while on business in the Wheeling, West Virginian area.
Nice, clean affordable hotel, with all the amenities a weary traveler could ask for.Clean, modern rooms, helpful staff, nice pool, gym and a very nice breakfast. Also a laundry room.
All in all, very satisfied with the stay, what one would expect from a quality hotel such as the Marriott.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EliF57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhillmgmt, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Wheeling, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate the feedback from all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 318 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

I've stayed at SpringHill Suites Wheeling twice in the past year while in the area on business. Very nice, clean, comfortable rooms. Hampton Inn down the street caters to field workers for the oil & gas industry and it's usually crowded. Springhill Suites has a more upscale feeling at the same price. As other reviewers have pointed out, the hotel sits on top of a hill and currently there are no other buildings around it. So no restaurants within walking distance. But Bob Evans, Perkins and several great local restaurants are nearby. The hotel desk staff is happy to make dining suggestions. Friendly staff all around at this hotel.

Fresh, clean smell in the rooms. I have an odor sensitivity and sometimes hotels use a perfume disinfectant that is overpowering. But thankfully not here. The rooms are solid and I didn't hear any sound from the adjoining occupied room.

Breakfast was ordinary, nothing special. No waffle maker, but the buffet did have hard boiled and scrambled eggs. Coffee was watery.

The only negatives about the room were the desk chairs and noisy air conditioning. The desk chairs are too low for an average size person to sit comfortably at the desk and use a computer or write. Unfortunately the chairs are not pneumatic adjustable and I had to prop myself on a sofa pillow to be high enough to work at the desk. The air conditioning/heating system is noisy for a hotel room, particularly when coming on and going off. So if you think this will bother you, bring ear plugs.

If you travel to Wheeling on business or pleasure, despite a few negatives, this is the best hotel in which to stay.

Room Tip: For a more scenic view, ask for a high floor and one which overlooks the college.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawkystone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhillmgmt, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Wheeling, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate hearing back from our guests. I will look into the watery coffee. Onace again, thank you for your comments we strive to be our best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here overnight on all long roadtrip with a family of six. Everything was nice- a good standard chain hotel experience. Then at breakfast there was fresh baby spinach and fresh salsa to eat with our ordinary buffet scrambled eggs and it changed from absolutely fine to really great! Plus the extremely friendly breakfast lady complimented me on my outfit at six thirty am which was a pro move if there ever was one.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank yrmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhillmgmt, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Wheeling, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We just recently changed our breakfast items. Thank you for your comments. They were extremely helpful during this process of our new breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We booked the Springhill Suites for one night during our trip from Illinois to Maryland. We almost missed the turn, husband pulled into a resident drive right next to the hotel drive....Not the worst thing in the world. Once up the drive, the hotel is on the hill top and very nice. The desk clerk was extremely nice, the lobby was lovely as were the rooms. Very chic with everything one would need while staying. They have a lovely patio, that looks out over the town, with such nice patio furniture, not your normal . Some thought has been put into making it relaxing for everyone. We would surely stay again, if in the area!

Room Tip: We were on the bottom floor, but it would sure be lovely to be up higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ardith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhillmgmt, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Wheeling, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your review. Your comments are greatly appreciated. We hope to see you soon in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at the SpringHill Suites for a quick overnight stay. The entrance to the hotel is easy to miss. The hotel is not visible from the street but there is a sign. The front desk staff were very nice and professional. The room was clean and quiet. There is a Bob Evans nearby but not too many other restaurants. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastCoastRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhillmgmt, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Wheeling, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

We appreciate your comments about your recent stay. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is an excellent property, well maintained, fresh and clean, very comfortable. The breakfast was good as well. The price, especially for a weekend night, was pretty high at almost $180 including taxes.

Room Tip: get a room facing the back for a beautiful view of Wheeling College and the surrounding area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cz75guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhillmgmt, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Wheeling, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate hearing from our guest on how we did and where we can improve. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Had an excellent hotel stay, the staff was great, very clean,and will stay again the next time in wheeling. The Only bad thing to say is I didn't like the 11am check out. I prefer a later check out and did ask for one.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhillmgmt, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Wheeling, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. We appreciate your comments and hope that you will stay with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
1,270 reviews
2.5 mi away
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Wheeling - The Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Wheeling Triadelphia at the Highlands
4.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia Wheeling Area
1.7 mi away
The McLure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Wheeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Wheeling

Address: 908 National Rd, Wheeling, WV 26003-6441
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Price Range: $104 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Wheeling 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your SpringHill Suites Wheeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Wheeling Hotel Wheeling
Wheeling Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing