We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special. ..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nothing special. ..”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

Stopped by while in Wheeling. Nothing special. Not as nice as some other casinos we have visited. Had brunch at the buffet. Should have chosen another dining option. Quality and variety was not worth the price paid.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverSpring812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,083
    534
    102
    25
    22
See reviews for
445
661
117
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flushing, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2014

Nice person and waited on us very quickly. Would have her for our bartender all the time. A lot of times when we go there you have to wait forever to get waited on.She keeps the bar area very clean all the time.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashport, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2014

Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Very pleased with how clean and up to date the hotel is.
Casino was fun and I felt very safe here. Staff is wonderful, but I would not recommend the Buffet, Food was not very good and for the price there is not much of a selection. I love coming to this Casino, but I will skip the Buffet.

Room Tip: Fourth Floor very Comfortable, Good Lighting, felt very safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hibbs, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Had an ok time. Staff was friendly and helpful. Slots were not very profitable at all. Left quite a few dollars there! Bathrooms not the cleanest and buffet pricey . Friend had a free room, which was nice. Really wouldn't travel there for any other reason.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaitinurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnesville, Ohio, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Had fun and the food was good. Did not do well at the slot machines, but i did enjoy myself watching and looking at all the things Wheeling Island had to offer. I plan on making a return trip soon......

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorain, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2014

The rooms and staff were extremely nice and people courteous and friendly. Rooms were spacious and clean and had nice amenities. Residential area surrounding the hotel was somewhat rundown and kind of sad, but we also walked over the suspension bridge into town and visited a few sights during the day. Everyone was very friendly. Wish they offered cruises on the river. (Or if they did, we weren't made aware of it). Variety of ages of guests, and the entertainment in the lounge areas was good. We enjoyed the buffet (especially the Friday seafood buffet).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberling City, Missouri, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2014

We always have a good time when we go to Wheeling Island Casino. Everyone is so pleasant and helpful. Love the slot machines. Drinks are always free in the high limit room. It is never too crowded, you can always find a machine to play. Bells are always going off, someone is winning.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
4.6 mi away
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
1,205 reviews
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The McLure Hotel & Suites
6.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Wheeling Triadelphia at the Highlands
6.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia Wheeling Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack

Property: Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack
Address: 1 S Stone St, Wheeling, WV 26003-2062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no better place for non-stop gaming action than Wheeling Island Hotel-Casino-Racetrack in West Virginia. Equipped with the best in slots, table games, world class hotel accommodations and live entertainment, Wheeling Island helps you get away and beat the odds. So, plan your getaway at Wheeling Island today. Your greatest gaming adventure awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing