We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
Lorain, Ohio
1 review
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

The rooms and staff were extremely nice and people courteous and friendly. Rooms were spacious and clean and had nice amenities. Residential area surrounding the hotel was somewhat rundown and kind of sad, but we also walked over the suspension bridge into town and visited a few sights during the day. Everyone was very friendly. Wish they offered cruises on the river. (Or if they did, we weren't made aware of it). Variety of ages of guests, and the entertainment in the lounge areas was good. We enjoyed the buffet (especially the Friday seafood buffet).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    450
    86
    23
    19
See reviews for
363
533
94
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kimberling City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

We always have a good time when we go to Wheeling Island Casino. Everyone is so pleasant and helpful. Love the slot machines. Drinks are always free in the high limit room. It is never too crowded, you can always find a machine to play. Bells are always going off, someone is winning.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

Rooms were pretty nice, except no tv remote. Employees were all friendly and helpful. Check in should be located downstairs, away from the casino, just because it would be easier with bringing in luggage. Love the casino although they need some updated slot machines. Buffet quality leaves something to be desired for the price. Love the soft drink self-service! Overall great weekend getaway!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muffin2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

This was our first visit. The area the casino is located in is kind of seedy but the facilities were beautiful. The slots paid well and had a good selection. The only thing I didn't like about the hotel rooms were obviously they don't switch out the creamers often because they separated in my coffee.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heatherbill175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

Drove down from Pittsburgh...checked right in (no line at check in counter!) nice big room comfortable beds (as always). played a few slots then headed for the buffet.
Had a good meal with a large selection of food. Played some more then went up to the room for a restful evening.
Had the breakfast buffet in the AM they have a nice custom omelette station and you can cook your own waffles..too much breakfast!!
Lost some more money then used in room check out to close out the stay.
We will be back!!
Nice trip as always

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

The service is great and the facility is very clean. We especially enjoy dining at the players buffet. One of the Best around this area. Large selection of slots and a nice area for table games. Soft drink self service areas are clean and well placed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

We had a very clean and room with a wonderful view . Easy access to the elevators and the casino. Overall it was a very happy and enjoyable visit.Would love to be able to visit it more often.
Great people that are very courteous and friendly.The casino has come along way from when we first went there.All the improvments have really made it a beautiful place to go to for a fun and good way to relieve some stress.

Room Tip: I don't think you wouldn't have a bad room in the hotel.The one we had was lovely and decora...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
4.8 mi away
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The McLure Hotel & Suites
7.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia/wheeling
6.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia Wheeling Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack

Property: Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack
Address: 1 S Stone St, Wheeling, WV 26003-2062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no better place for non-stop gaming action than Wheeling Island Hotel-Casino-Racetrack in West Virginia. Equipped with the best in slots, table games, world class hotel accommodations and live entertainment, Wheeling Island helps you get away and beat the odds. So, plan your getaway at Wheeling Island today. Your greatest gaming adventure awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing