We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A great place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed Monday February 24. Our check in was quick & easy. We forgot our dinner coupons but were printed new ones without ado. The rooms were spacious, decorated in a tropical decor. The beds were comfortable with many types of pillows adorning the bed.
The internet was easy. Merely choose a from two wireless connections & you're connected. No complicated codes to enter, plus no fees associated with the internet.
The bathroom was comfortable but only two bath towels. For four people, we had to get additional towels. The sink drained slowly.
There was a Keurig coffee maker with 4 K cups. Being familiar with these coffe makes, we had no problem getting our coffee made in the morning.
The heater made an annoying noise. We shut it off and slept comfortably through the night without the room temperature changing.
Overall, the room was well worth the price.
Our buffet dinner was fine with quick table service, and refills of drinks.
The staff in the casino are always friendly & pleasant.
Well worth the trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ToeBone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    451
    87
    23
    19
See reviews for
367
535
94
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Export, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

my husband and I had our usual fun on day 1 of our stay. we noticed the new Keurig in our room; very nice! next A.M. coffeemaker would not brew.Supervisor came and got it going,we got 1 cup ,then same problem.called office again and was told housekeeper would be up in 5 to 10 mins. as Keurig is in bathroom we waited to shower etc. P.S. I am needing my usual caffeine.waited 30 mins.,no show,so we checked out and ate breakfast elsewhere.we also miss our favorite restaurant,The Castaway that's no longer there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maymee107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Wheeling Island is one of my favorite casinos. You can always find $5 tables. The staff is friendly, the rooms in the hotel are nice and I've been pretty lucky gambling there.

Pros
1. The hotel accommodations are very nice. We've stayed there 3 times and always were impressed. We usually get the stay and play package. The rooms are large. The beds are comfortable and it's always clean. Our only problem is that sometimes when we want to stay they have been all booked up. When that happens we always stay at the Springhill Suites in Wheeling (which is actually even nicer).

2. Cheap $5 dollar tables. This makes it worth driving from Columbus for.

3. Betting on the greyhounds races is a fun and can be an inexpensive diversion. It's a great way to make your bankroll last if you weren't that lucky in the casino.

4. The food at the buffet and even the food court is pretty good. We ate at the buffet for breakfast and the custom made omelet station was awesome.

Cons
1. It is a smoking casino. It can get pretty bad if you have smokers all around you at the blackjack table.

2. It is pretty far to drive. It's about 2 1/2 hours (over 125 miles) from Columbus.

3. The casino is on the small side. There are plenty of slots to play, but finding a seat at one of the table games can be difficult sometimes.

Overall I'll keep coming back because the tables are cheap and for whatever reason I win here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckeyeStateGambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sistersville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

By far wheeling is my favorite casino on the east coast. It feels homey and the rooms when we do stay the night are very clean and sometimes we get bumped up to a suite. Ted is great as a host! The steak house leaves a little to be desired but I hear they are going to vamp it up. The buffet is always good and they have a little food court that serves GREAT food almost all night.

Room Tip: Call ahead of time. They are the best hotel around and if there is an event in wheeling they book up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

I stay here a couple times per year on business. The rooms are clean and spacious. Beds are comfortable. Breakfast in the morning is huge and runs about $10. Pretty much everything you can imagine is on it, buffet style. If you stay, do the stay and play packages were you get money each day to spend in the casino. Restaurant in the evening for dinner is very expensive, but well worth the money. I have tried almost everything on the menu and have always been delighted with the quality and portion size.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheScientist1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

I don't typically leave reviews but I felt compelled to on this one. We checked into the hotel on a Saturday afternoon and didn't realize until Sunday that my iPad mini had gone missing. The helpful staff (thanks to a good Samaritan turning it in) had secured my iPad and located it on Sunday morning.

The casino itself is a little dated, but that adds character to it. The dog racing was entertaining and the rooms were large. The clientele is very local, so don't expect it to be like Rivers or even The Meadows. All in all for $145 with a $25 slots voucher, it is a decent deal. We will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacklick, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stayed here in December and was very pleased with the quality of the hotel and the rooms. I especially liked the cleanliness of the rooms. If you want to do any shopping, the Ohio Valley Mall is only 10 minutes west of here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lani L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
4.8 mi away
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The McLure Hotel & Suites
7.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia/wheeling
6.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia Wheeling Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack

Property: Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack
Address: 1 S Stone St, Wheeling, WV 26003-2062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no better place for non-stop gaming action than Wheeling Island Hotel-Casino-Racetrack in West Virginia. Equipped with the best in slots, table games, world class hotel accommodations and live entertainment, Wheeling Island helps you get away and beat the odds. So, plan your getaway at Wheeling Island today. Your greatest gaming adventure awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing