We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very nice rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
Blacklick, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stayed here in December and was very pleased with the quality of the hotel and the rooms. I especially liked the cleanliness of the rooms. If you want to do any shopping, the Ohio Valley Mall is only 10 minutes west of here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lani L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    450
    86
    23
    19
See reviews for
363
533
94
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

On a recent trip to Ohio we stayed and played at Wheeling Casino. It was was a nice hotel, no fridge or microwave though, bummer! Room was tremendous and with a California king bed, just yummy! As for the casino, well, the slots are extra tight and unless your playing 5$ slots you must pay for your drinks. Thats outrageous! Beers at 3.50 while pumping money in their machines! We play at Atlantic City and all over the northeast very often. We stay free, drink free and gamble all night on a couple of hundred bucks each and they feed us free too. Sometimes we even win a couple of grand. After going through our combined 400 bucks in an hour and spending $27 on beers with good tips of coarse, we retired to a great room. $114 was our rate. Thinking of the total cash outlay that night while we were traveling in the opposite direction going home, I called for a room on Saturday 11/30. $ 149 / 3.50 beers, no comps, and tight machines..... No Thanks. We won't be stopping again, ever! I took the time to share this with the casino hotel staff on the phone, most likely to no avail but I feel better anyway. Enjoy your gambling dollars people but not at Wheeling Island. Oh, and remember "Poker money knows no home" a great quote from an unknown author.

Room Tip: I think my review says it all
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallipolis, Ohio
Level Contributor
127 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

The hotel is very nice and clean. very nice bath. the hotel has no real amenities but I suppose they really want to gamble. The staff excel at their jobs and are super friendly and helpful. The rooms have no fridge and the my view was of a parking lot but it is a nice place with very friendly people.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank strohs9754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Rooms clean, bathrooms modern. Non smoking rooms on higher floors, smoking rooms on lower floors. Smoke rises folks...hello! 49.00 room rate can't complain. However was lured under false pretense. Brochure stayed 10.00 free cascino play no coupon needed. Was not available.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tsikalas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

First time stay at Wheeling Island hotel, and last minute decision. After their website said "No Vacancies" we decided to call the hotel direct. They did have openings and we enjoyed our stay. Check-in smooth, over-sized, clean room. All personnel pleasant and helpful. true..not much else to do, but we were there to gamble, have a little fun, and rest before the long drive home. Ate dinner and breakfast at the Buffet. both were good.

Room Tip: Suggest calling the Hotel directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chendabrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

nice clean hotel with good rates and helpful personnel however there is absolutely nothing else to do there..no pool ..work out or game rooms... however that should be fine if you know that ahead of time

Room Tip: buffet was good ...would eat there again
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The gaming and dog race attractions were top notch, and the rooms quite nice, but the attitude of this one employee made us never want to go back there again...His name was Alex, and he was a snippy , rude man who has no business dealing with the general public at all...Acted like he owned the place,and like he was too good for associating with us "Normal" folk....If you go there, avoid this arrogant S.O B if you can.....Sorry, but i just HAD to complain about this...we would have had a good experience if it weren't for this man...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NobodyThatMatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
4.8 mi away
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The McLure Hotel & Suites
7.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia/wheeling
6.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia Wheeling Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack

Property: Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack
Address: 1 S Stone St, Wheeling, WV 26003-2062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's no better place for non-stop gaming action than Wheeling Island Hotel-Casino-Racetrack in West Virginia. Equipped with the best in slots, table games, world class hotel accommodations and live entertainment, Wheeling Island helps you get away and beat the odds. So, plan your getaway at Wheeling Island today. Your greatest gaming adventure awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Wheeling Island Hotel Casino Racetrack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing