We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“small but fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oglebay Park Good Zoo

Oglebay Park Good Zoo
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“small but fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

It was small, but animals where nice to see up close. Kangaroo's were out. Ok price, Nice place to take smaller childrem.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kathy15120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    52
    29
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“$43.00 for this??? oh and $14.00 more for the train??? UGH!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

2 zebras
2 ostrich
2 river otters
1 crazy looking/acting bear
1 blue tongued lizard
1 burmese python
some naked mole rats
fake dinosaur display
2 poorly maintained playgrounds
1 extra squeaky train
6 lorakeets (1.oo per cup of sugar water) and
1 blue pheasant
...............and a closing time of 5:00 in the summer???
no discount for educators?
map is incorrect when it states there are wild dogs in a pen...looked pretty deserted.
Oglebay should be ashamed at those prices for this amount of animals. I read the statement that you explained that most cities of 30,000 don't have a zoo and that you are fortunate to have it. I disagree at this price point. Keep the zoo but charge what it is really worth. If you are having to charge so much to maintain the few animals then the real question is....is it worth it?
My opinion?? NO!
Save your money and go to Pittsburgh Zoo!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Janna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, Director of the Good Zoo at Oglebay Park Good Zoo, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. The endangered wild dogs are currently off exhibit caring for their three very rare, 5-week-old pups, on display soon. We regret that you missed the sign and small video camera that showed them in the den: we are working on better guest viewing into the den. We are sorry you missed our entire children’s zoo area, the red pandas, two lemur exhibits and all of the main building exhibits which includes over 30 species of amphibians, snakes, birds, small mammals, and two species of monkey families. We hope you visit us again, with the realization that we are a small self-supported 30-acre community zoo, while the state-funded 2,000 acre zoo in your community is one of the largest in the Unites States.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice small zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is a nice small zoo and always good for a walk around. Do check the weather before you go. If it is icy or too cold they close the outside exhibits but do not give any discount. Especially good for families with young children.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer_L_R_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
113 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice zoo and not crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

This zoo was nice to visit with our 2 year old grand daughter on a Sunday afternoon. She loved the train ride! We walked the outer loop around the zoo and was able to see all the animals. I felt that the playground area needs new mulch; it was muddy and puddled under the swings. The zoo is very hilly which was not a problem for us but a stroller could be tough to push up some of the hills.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
196 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Brew at the Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We attended this years Brew at the Zoo Event and enjoyed a wonderful evening. The food and beverage variety and presentation was a real treat. The lay out was well done. The wait for food or drink was brief if any. Great music. Took the shuttle to see kangaroos and Dino's. The train was relaxing. The Columbus Zoo brought special animals to visit to this event. Very nice addition to the evening. But something that seemed to stand out to us time and time again was the enthusiasm of the Good Zoo Staff. There was a genuine feeling that the staff wanted guests to have a wonderful evening...and we did. Thank you.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oglebay Park Good Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Oglebay Park Good Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing