We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Lots of state history” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Virginia Independence Hall

West Virginia Independence Hall
Ranked #7 of 48 things to do in Wheeling
Attraction details
Level Contributor
215 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Lots of state history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was a museum full of state history. There was no fee to go there. The movie at the beginning tells how West Virginia became a state and that was the base of what the whole museum was about. It is all presented nicely with the exhibits being very well cared for.

Visited June 2014
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Where WV Began”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Worth a stop. This is THE birthplace of WV. It is a shame that there is not more fanfare for the place since it has all that significance. Charleston always gets more attention.

Visited June 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“A fascinating history lesson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Don't be misled by the size of this museum; if you watch the movie first and spend time reviewing the exhibits, you can gain a much better appreciation of just how this state came about--the only true split that was achieved from the Civil War. I had no idea how/why this state was created until I journeyed here, especially in the building where it happened. It was time well spent; however, you have to stay focused. If you don't have an attention span that can be devoted to one subject for about an hour, this attraction probably won't appeal to you, as you need to read and pay attention to details. There is a small parking lot behind the building, so parking is free. I got the directions from I-70 on their website and they were very clear. Another bonus is that the museum is free. I don't feel kids will gain a lot out of this, due to the necessary intellectual emphasis.

Visited August 2013
1 Thank 76desert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Walk Through Birth of WV and Civil War participation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a very interesting museum that has recently been refurbished and sparkles with pride. One starts out down in the basement where a movie presents the facts of West Virginia's beginnings. Then one takes the elevator up to the third floor where the meetings were held to create our state. Progressing down to the second and first floors there are various interactive exhibits presenting interesting information on WV military units, Civil War battles, the development of flat-bottomed river boats, local industry, etc. Wow! My husband and I really learned a lot and enjoyed the experience. This is a must-see if you are near Wheeling!!!!

Visited August 2013
Thank chipandmarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
130 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Not very interesting for younger children”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Decided to tour Independence Hall because we were staying in Wheeling for a few days. The introductory movie is factual but very boring for children. Instead of just explaining the history, the movie is more of a drama with actors portraying the founding fathers of West Virginia. My 9 year old was ready to bolt after about 5 minutes of the 20 minute movie. However, the 3 floors of the Hall are filled with interesting artifacts and memorabilia. You are able to sit and stand where the founding fathers debated the fate of the state of West Virginia.
If you have an hour or so to use, then this would be a good adventure for teens and adults.

Visited June 2013
Thank Mrspinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Virginia Independence Hall also viewed


Been to West Virginia Independence Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing