We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lots to do for the entire family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oglebay Park

Oglebay Park
Ranked #1 of 46 things to do in Wheeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 1,500-acre municipal park with a hotel, a petting zoo, swimming pools, a planetarium and museums.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lots to do for the entire family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed the week with our 3 year old and 5 year old grandchildren in one of the two bedroom cabins. While I will admit I have stayed in nicer places for the money, (this is why a 4 star review instead of a 5) the variety and quality of family friendly activities was fantastic. We visited the zoo, took advantage of the guided nature walks, animal encounters, and demonstrations that included cooking and ice carving. We walked and biked the miles of paved trails, went swimming in the indoor and outdoor pools, played on a really nice play ground, played put put golf, and paddle boated. We do not golf but the golf courses looked beautiful. The children were enthralled by watching deer up close out the cabin windows. Overall we had a really good time. I would highly recommend this experience for anyone with children looking for a fun vacation that can also teach them a few thing about science and nature.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JEDRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    112
    48
    23
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful city park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Not many cities have such a beautiful facility and park as Wheeling has here. Many different activities to do and four beautiful golf courses to choose from.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great for walking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

tons of paved trails to walk through the area on. The outdoor pool + tennis was nice and everyone we encountered made the trip better. Not a grumpy/surly person to be found anywhere.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Louis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Indiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in the cabins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Our family rented a 6 bedroom cabin for our reunion. Lots of room and a big kitchen. Cabin was clean. Lots of activities to do around the park including swimming, boating, golfing, visiting the zoo, or just going for a walk. We saw quite a few deer during our walk. Parking got to be a bit tricky as we shared a parking area with the cabin next door who had already checked in the day before.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 13Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“well~kept grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

oglebay is a massive, rolling, well maintained park...we enjoyed strolling the flower gardens and people watching...several benches appropriately spaced for resting...enjoyed the history too...oglebay is a huge asset to wheeling...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mjpk25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oglebay Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing