We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Later Alligator

Later Alligator
Ranked #3 of 109 Restaurants in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: French, American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Menu selections such as Nobody puts Baby in a Corner. Crepes of Wrath, and Wilbur goes to Venice are typical and will fuel your curiosity as well as tickle your appetite. Specializing in both savory & sweet crepes, Later offers specialty sandwiches, homemade soups and salads at affordable prices. A welcome surprise at this upscale cafe/bistro. WV Div. of Tourism award 2009 for unique eateries. Beer & Wine.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

this is a small building but large on friendly people - we made a reservation for 7 people around noon and they were very good with everything - food was good and so was the price - just a little crowded at lunch with no where to stand

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    75
    17
    2
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wheeling, WV
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Gator Still Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

In a day of cookie cutters...both buildings and menus this place breaks out of the box. A great atmosphere...warm and cozy, but not too close. Great blend of menu choices...the shrimp chowder is a killer, love that stuff. Had the French Dip tonight...really good. You have to try this place...5 stars!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tigerpopsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wheeling, wv
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Train wreck service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Every time I come here it's a pain in the rear. I typically call in an order to pick up. Half the time they tell me 30 minutes and when I get down there it's been ready for 20. The other half of the time I call and am advised a certain amount of time, and once I get there I wait for additional 30 minutes for a sandwich. This place is screwed up, and this is the last time I come here.

Helpful?
Thank R-JT2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, little pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Very extensive menu, lots to choose from. I got a half hocus pocus sandwich and the stuffed pepper soup the first time I went. The sandwich wasnt bad but not excellent and I really enjoyed the soup. The steak salad is by far my favorite though, they arent shy with the steak either. I love their vanilla coffee drinks too.

Helpful?
Thank hs104112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

I'm a big city gal and have been spoiled by outstanding restaurants of all kinds of food. This is, by far, the best restaurant I have been to in a while, even counting super expensive five star restaurants. The servers were all nice. The ambiance is really fun and eclectic, from stained glass windows and crazy mosaic tiles, to a rustic bar and historic architecture charm. The food was comprised of super yummy ingredients and the combination of the ingredients was a party in my mouth! If you are looking for great food and a fun, uplifting atmosphere, this is the place!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank caroline p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Later Alligator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing