We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Conference Center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Very nice, clean and comfortable venue. The "lodge" feeling of the rooms made me nervous at first, but the rooms are large and comfortable. For those of you that like outdoor activities, the golf courses, walking trails and pool are wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ejwaldman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, Director of Sales at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for writing about out Conference Center. We value our business travelers and appreciate being chosen as the site to host your event. We look forward to a future visit from you for business or pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (940)
There are newer reviews for Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

586 - 592 of 940 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband & I just spent Memorial Day weekend here with our 12 year old grandson.
From the booking process on we were treated with such great hospitality !
We stayed in the newer part of the lodge overlooking the lake & our room was top notch and the view spectacular.
We played golf @ Crispin which was in great shape. The two gentlemen Mickey & Tim could not have been nicer.
In regards to dining we ate in both restaurants and were extremely happy with our meals.
I must mention a server named Elisa who on our last day saw that our grandson was disappointed
because they didn't have the biscuits & gravy which he loved on Sat. Buffett , so she went in the kitchen & with the help of Brian the F&B manager appeared with a plate for him! That is above & beyond service! She made his day!
We were so impressed with how genuinely nice the whole staff was that we can't wait to go back to Wilson Lodge.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for newer rooms in Lodge
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mareonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments and we especially appreciate that you took the time to recognize our hard-working staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

we love oglebay! the spring brake package was a great value. our 3 year old grand-daughter loves the indoor pool. the zoo is small but nice for a little one. had fun on the train ride.no flowers out yet but they grounds are usually beautiful.

Room Tip: breakfast is a highlight
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank postman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

nice accomodations for the group in the cabins. Great buffet breakfast. the golf courses are in good shape, especially considering the lousy weather this spring.
For a quick get away and for the price, this is the place

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelingmom15108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Great place to kickback and give yourself a well deserved break, whether for a weekend or whole week. The ability to golf at numerous courses (the palmer is fantastic) within minutes of your cabin is great. The cabin settings are quite nice. Very spacious and set in wooded areas makes you feel like your miles away from anything. Great place to go as a couple, family, or just with a bunch of friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank btl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

This past weekend we celebrated a sorority reunion in the Forsythia Cottage at Oglebay Resort. It is a six bedroom, 3 full bath cottage with a great room with wood burning fireplace, porch and large well appointed kitchen with two refrigerators. We had 8 women sharing the cottage and couldn't have been happier.
There was parking for 6 cars out front and plenty of seating inside. The decor is rustic with pine paneling, sturdy chairs and picnic tables with benches for dining, a stone fireplace and breakfast bar with 4 stools and small wet bar sink. The only thing missing was a dishwasher so be prepared with paper goods or extra tea towels for drying dishes.
Sleeping accommodations included rooms with 2 double beds, one with a Jack and Jill bath connecting the rooms.
The location of the cottage was convenient to the resorts Wilson Lodge. There are beautiful walking trails throughout the property and you will get your exercise walking or jogging the hills on the trails.
The staff was very attentive and came to start our fire when the wood wouldn't light.
We all enjoyed the Oglebay resort and would have used more of the facilities but were happy to just eat, drink and talk in our cottage catching up with friends after 10 years. We plan to return again next year.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank shekirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Oglebay was one of those places that was nearby, but a place that my husband and I had never been to. We were familiar with its holiday light displays but had never visited. We decided to visit May 2 through May 4. Prices for Wilson Lodge were reasonable and we purchased the Bed and Breakfast package, which included the breakfast buffet for 2 mornings while we were there. The food at the buffet was excellent. The dining room had a great view while enjoying breakfast. Our room at Wilson Lodge was fine as well, a little dated, but clean. The hotel was quiet also. There are some great walking trails to enjoy and two small lakes on the property. Unfortunately, it was a little chilly and damp, so it would be much better to enjoy when the weather is warmer. We enjoyed dinner at the Glassworks Grill, which had excellent food. Also, Oglebay has some great shops. We bought some items at their glass store which were very reasonably priced. Overall, Oglebay is a nice place to relax, but still have things to do. If you are a golfer, there are many courses to play on site. We would like to return there for the holiday lights.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank leesey30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

So glad to hear that your enjoyed your getaway at Oglebay and hope that you will find the time to return during the Winter Festival of Lights. Every season is beautiful but the holidays at Oglebay are truly magical!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
1,216 reviews
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
4.0 mi away
The McLure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Wheeling - The Highlands
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Wheeling Triadelphia at the Highlands
4.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia Wheeling Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center

Address: 465 Lodge Dr, Wheeling, WV 26003-1967
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Family Hotel in Wheeling
Price Range: $120 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oglebay is a unique 1,700-acre, year-round resort with exceptional beauty and abundant recreational activities. The 270-room Wilson Lodge at Oglebay features The West Spa, two dining rooms, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, fitness center, business center and wireless Internet. The resort also has 54 cottages, perfect for large families or several families that want to vacation together. Oglebay has something for every member of the family including 4 golf courses, eight specialty shops, a zoo, gardens, two museums, fishing, pedal boats, aqua cycles, tennis, stables, and miles of walking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Resort And Conference Center
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Hotel Wheeling
Wilson Hotel At Oglebay
Oglebay Resort Wheeling
Wilson Oglebay Lodge Wheeling
Wilson Oglebay Resort
Oglebay Wheeling
Oglebay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing