We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room average, lodge beautifully decorated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We went to the resort to see the Christmas lights throughout the resort. The lights were beautiful and the lodge itself was beautifully decorated however the actual room itself and buffet breakfast was very average. Here's why...the cost was quite expensive considering a one nights stay. We had a king suite, room 701. This room is across from the ice room and the elevator. Very noisy and the walls seemed to be paper thin. The room itself was large but the bathroom was very small and dated. The king bed had two pillows and no extra blankets anywhere. The mattress was very dated and not comfortable. The best part of the room was the shower head which had quite a bit of power. This was nice on the back after sleeping in that bed! The room was clean but again, dated. The staff seemed very good and accommodating but the overall area was very depressed and had a "certain" culture of folks visiting...We would visit again to see the lights but not sure we would spend the money on the overnight stay. The breakfast included was wall to wall people and very bland food. It was fuel and nothing more. The best part of our trip was dinner at Undo's Italian restaurant in Wheeling, now that place deserves and "excellent" rating!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JS474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you visiting Oglebay during the Winter Festival of Lights and we appreciate that you took the time to post your comments. We offer several different room categories in various price ranges at our lodge to provide each guest with accommodations that suit their needs and fit their budget. The larger premium rooms in the newest guest wing may be more to your liking and details on all guest rooms can be found on our website or our reservation specialists can provide descriptions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (953)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

656 - 662 of 953 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

we stopped here as a special treat on our way to see family in KY. we got off I-70 at 6pm, expecting to be at the lodge 15 minutes later, have a swim and then a nice dinner after a LONG day of driving. We were completely unprepared for the 3 hour traffic that awaited us-- to go just a few miles. When we booked I had no idea that the only way to get to the lights was the road to the lodge--or that this kind of traffic was even a possibility. we arrived at 9 30 and had a rushed dinner while the waiters cleaned up around us. It was so so disappointing. We had booked to stay here on our way back on dec 25 but I'm terrified we'll run into the same problem and none of the staff was able to tell us if that would be the case. I feel the hotel should have at least warned us.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank jlix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

So sorry to hear you were disappointed in your visit to Wilson Lodge. The Winter Festival of Lights is one of America’s largest holiday light shows and because it is so popular it can become quite busy. It is difficult to predict the traffic but we do apologize for your extended travel time to the lodge. We hope you will visit us again and enjoy a more relaxing experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

My wife and I visited the Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort last week. We purchased the Christmas lights package. The Lodge was older, but well maintained in a rustic way. Had wood paneling inside the room and outside in the hallway. The beds were comfortable and we slept very well. The package includes the $20 donation to drive through the Christmas lights, of which we enjoyed, but wouldn't suggest going out of the way to see. The buffet made to order hot breakfast was probably our favorite part of the package. It was excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Werner L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The old unmaintained heaters in the rooms caused us to be moved from two rooms, one for no heat and noise and one at 5:00 AM due to noise that slowly got worse as the night progressed. Don't stay in a room that doesn't have a very quiet warm heater as 3 of 4 couples in our party were dissatisfied and we received a refund for our room. The club sandwich in the Grill room at $11.75 was a couple pieces of lunchmeat with a piece of cheese and the waitress never came back to check on drinks for our group. People who had hamburgers were satisfied. The Christmas lights tour and the breakfast package are what they should be.

Room Tip: Turn on the room heater and check for a slow, quiet, consistent stream of warm air and don't hes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, Director of Food & Beverage at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

We were disappointed to read your comments regarding your recent stay but we do appreciate that you took the time to submit your commits. We have high maintenance standards and apologize that we fell short and also apologize for the inconvenience of changing rooms. We were also disappointed that you did not enjoy the Club Sandwich from the Glassworks Grill menu as it is one of our most popular menu choices featuring freshly sliced deli meats, cheeses and accented with fresh cooked bacon and thinly sliced cucumbers. We pride ourselves on the quality that we provide our guests in this very busy restaurant. We hope that you will return during one of our other beautiful seasons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We use to love eating at the restaurant at OGLEBAY until recently. Our waitress didn't bring back our credit card from dinner. When I realized it was gone, we called and was told the card could be picked up at the front desk. Shortly after, my card had a $2000.00 fraudulent charge on it. I met with Jason [---] the front end manager and felt totally disregarded.
We were told the card was protected and it wasn't. Olgebay didn't go the extra mile to protect our interest. I would suggest you be very careful using a credit card at this establishment.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, Director of Hotel Operations at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

It is unfortunate that you left your credit card in the check folder upon your departure from the restaurant. When we received your phone call we immediately reviewed the video surveillance and the video clearly shows the server taking the check folder with your credit card to our cashier, the cashier swiping your credit card, returning your card to the check folder, and then the server placing the check folder back on the table for you to retrieve your credit card. Upon your departure from the restaurant the credit card was discovered still in the check folder and the video shows that the server immediately took it to the cashier who in turn placed it in a secure cash drawer. The card was then taken from that secure location to our Front Desk Supervisor who in turn placed it in our safe where it remained until you picked it up. It is important to note that we deal with thousands of credit card transactions per day and follow extremely strict PIC-DSS compliance standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We spent one night in Wilson Lodge. Our room was large, comfy and 9 steps up from the lobby and 9 steps down from the entertainment. The couple next door had a fight and I could hear every word, plus the music from upstairs. Sigh. Be careful where you room is located and check on sound insulation. We ate in the main dining room which had a very nice buffet, and our server was excellent, but when it came time to pay the bill, our $25 guest gift card didn't work, which took the server and a manager to straighten out, and then it still wasn't right. So it took another manager. It's a good thing that the coffee was good because we sure sat with our friends for longer than we anticipated. The Christmas Lights were beautiful, we took our own car so we could stop and take photos, rather than the trolley. The breakfast buffet was good and we enjoyed the shops too. Brought home an unusual poinsettia which was carefully bundled up for us so that it wouldn't be exposed to cold drafts. Very thoughtful. Also have a nice pool area, take your bathing suit.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not in the older part of the hotel, near the noisy lobby, and entertainment area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wvjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed one night for the "Festival of Lights" package and the lights were just beautiful. They are fairly new, LED lights that were so bright and colorful. My husband's favorite was the "time tunnel". We took the trolley with the guide who narrated the tour and it was worth it--the trolley is heated, but still wear your jacket. Inside the lodge, the Christmas decorations and lights were just beautiful! We enjoyed the evening entertainment of two guitar players who sang Christmas carols and other songs-had hot chocolate and cookies. The morning breakfast buffet was outstanding with omelets to order and Belgian waffles--also, warm cinnamon rolls, pecan rolls & more. Christmas atmosphere was excellent!

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the pool and jacuzzi would be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yellows2neTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
1,236 reviews
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Wheeling - The Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The McLure Hotel & Suites
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Wheeling Triadelphia at the Highlands
4.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia/wheeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center

Address: 465 Lodge Dr, Wheeling, WV 26003-1967
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Family Hotel in Wheeling
Price Range: $120 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oglebay is a unique 1,700-acre, year-round resort with exceptional beauty and abundant recreational activities. The 270-room Wilson Lodge at Oglebay features The West Spa, two dining rooms, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, fitness center, business center and wireless Internet. The resort also has 54 cottages, perfect for large families or several families that want to vacation together. Oglebay has something for every member of the family including 4 golf courses, eight specialty shops, a zoo, gardens, two museums, fishing, pedal boats, aqua cycles, tennis, stables, and miles of walking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Resort And Conference Center
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Hotel Wheeling
Wilson Hotel At Oglebay
Wilson Oglebay Lodge Wheeling
Oglebay Resort Wheeling
Wilson Oglebay Resort
Oglebay Wheeling
Oglebay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing