We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room heaters were poorly maintained in 3 of 4 rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
Parma, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Room heaters were poorly maintained in 3 of 4 rooms.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

The old unmaintained heaters in the rooms caused us to be moved from two rooms, one for no heat and noise and one at 5:00 AM due to noise that slowly got worse as the night progressed. Don't stay in a room that doesn't have a very quiet warm heater as 3 of 4 couples in our party were dissatisfied and we received a refund for our room. The club sandwich in the Grill room at $11.75 was a couple pieces of lunchmeat with a piece of cheese and the waitress never came back to check on drinks for our group. People who had hamburgers were satisfied. The Christmas lights tour and the breakfast package are what they should be.

Room Tip: Turn on the room heater and check for a slow, quiet, consistent stream of warm air and don't hes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, Director of Food & Beverage at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
We were disappointed to read your comments regarding your recent stay but we do appreciate that you took the time to submit your commits. We have high maintenance standards and apologize that we fell short and also apologize for the inconvenience of changing rooms. We were also disappointed that you did not enjoy the Club Sandwich from the Glassworks Grill menu as it is one of our most popular menu choices featuring freshly sliced deli meats, cheeses and accented with fresh cooked bacon and thinly sliced cucumbers. We pride ourselves on the quality that we provide our guests in this very busy restaurant. We hope that you will return during one of our other beautiful seasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    243
    100
    60
    39
See reviews for
346
244
16
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We use to love eating at the restaurant at OGLEBAY until recently. Our waitress didn't bring back our credit card from dinner. When I realized it was gone, we called and was told the card could be picked up at the front desk. Shortly after, my card had a $2000.00 fraudulent charge on it. I met with Jason [---] the front end manager and felt totally disregarded.
We were told the card was protected and it wasn't. Olgebay didn't go the extra mile to protect our interest. I would suggest you be very careful using a credit card at this establishment.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, Director of Hotel Operations at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
It is unfortunate that you left your credit card in the check folder upon your departure from the restaurant. When we received your phone call we immediately reviewed the video surveillance and the video clearly shows the server taking the check folder with your credit card to our cashier, the cashier swiping your credit card, returning your card to the check folder, and then the server placing the check folder back on the table for you to retrieve your credit card. Upon your departure from the restaurant the credit card was discovered still in the check folder and the video shows that the server immediately took it to the cashier who in turn placed it in a secure cash drawer. The card was then taken from that secure location to our Front Desk Supervisor who in turn placed it in our safe where it remained until you picked it up. It is important to note that we deal with thousands of credit card transactions per day and follow extremely strict PIC-DSS compliance standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
235 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We spent one night in Wilson Lodge. Our room was large, comfy and 9 steps up from the lobby and 9 steps down from the entertainment. The couple next door had a fight and I could hear every word, plus the music from upstairs. Sigh. Be careful where you room is located and check on sound insulation. We ate in the main dining room which had a very nice buffet, and our server was excellent, but when it came time to pay the bill, our $25 guest gift card didn't work, which took the server and a manager to straighten out, and then it still wasn't right. So it took another manager. It's a good thing that the coffee was good because we sure sat with our friends for longer than we anticipated. The Christmas Lights were beautiful, we took our own car so we could stop and take photos, rather than the trolley. The breakfast buffet was good and we enjoyed the shops too. Brought home an unusual poinsettia which was carefully bundled up for us so that it wouldn't be exposed to cold drafts. Very thoughtful. Also have a nice pool area, take your bathing suit.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not in the older part of the hotel, near the noisy lobby, and entertainment area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wvjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garards Fort, PA
Level Contributor
211 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed one night for the "Festival of Lights" package and the lights were just beautiful. They are fairly new, LED lights that were so bright and colorful. My husband's favorite was the "time tunnel". We took the trolley with the guide who narrated the tour and it was worth it--the trolley is heated, but still wear your jacket. Inside the lodge, the Christmas decorations and lights were just beautiful! We enjoyed the evening entertainment of two guitar players who sang Christmas carols and other songs-had hot chocolate and cookies. The morning breakfast buffet was outstanding with omelets to order and Belgian waffles--also, warm cinnamon rolls, pecan rolls & more. Christmas atmosphere was excellent!

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the pool and jacuzzi would be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellows2neTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights to see the Christmas lights. Had a room in the old section which was very small but suited our needs. The heater blew cool air half the night and maintenance said that's the way it works. Really??? Have to say the room was clean and beds comfy. No fridge or microwave, no safe and no extra deadbolt on door. Rooms definitely need updated! Hallways have no heat also. The vending machines were not working our whole stay so I went to bar to get a Pepsi (small plastic cup) which cost me $2.69! FYI bring your own snacks and drinks. The dinner buffett which cost $28 pp was bland and way over priced! Desserts would good though. Here's the good part: tried the bar/grille on 2nd night since main dining was ridiculous. I ordered a turkey panini ($10). The turkey was 2 slices of deli meat & 1 slice of Swiss cheese! Not turkey from a turkey breast, I'm talking cheap, thin, fake turkey!!! I told the waitress how disappointed I was and her reply " that's how panini's are made" Seriously??? Got charged twice for the trolley tour because I was sick the first night and changed to the next night. No one stated that you are automatically charged whether you go on tour or not! I also cancelled a couple hrs beforehand. Complained at check out and the manager would only refund me $9 instead of $18! Oh and they tax you for that also! For the price of what I paid here I could have stayed somewhere far
nicer!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caljes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, Director of Food & Beverage at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we will certainly check with maintenance on the room heaters and vending machines. We offer several different room categories in various price ranges at our lodge and the premium rooms in the newest guest wing may be more to your liking. Should you return please contact one of our reservation specialists for details on room types and we will work with you to find a room that suits your tastes and fits within your budget. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast buffet. It is a very popular event. We apologize that your experience was not as enjoyable in the Glassworks Grill. We don’t offer a turkey Panini in the Grill but we do have several other Panini options that are quite popular including the Buffalo Blue Chicken Panini and Italian Panini. The dinner buffet in the Ihlenfeld Dining Room has more than 17 entrée style items to choose from and we are sorry that you did not find it to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

We just returned from a 3 night stay at Oglebay with my siblings and their spouses. We didn't stay in the lodge but chose a cottage instead. The accommodations were fine, nothing fancy but suited our needs. We enjoyed going to Wilson Lodge and found everyone to be very helpful and accommodating. We ate at the Glassworks Bar Restaurant and had excellent service and food. We enjoyed the Festival of Lights. On the recommendation of Shannon, we went around 5:30 and drove right through with very little traffic.
We definitely enjoyed our talk with the glassblower, Robert Allen. He was very interesting and fun.
Our overall experience at Oglebay was very positive. I will be recommending to friends who want a getaway that isn't too far of a drive from western Ohio.

Room Tip: The cottages are very rustic - don't go in expecting the Taj Mahal! They are clean, and we enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stelz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

I stayed at this lodge with my wife and two other couples who were my cousins. We purchased the dinner/show package which included our room,dinner,show,breakfast and the holiday light tour. The reservations were all mixed up even though we each called three times to make sure the rooms were billed correctly. After checking in we went to the lounge to have a drink and a snack. The service was ridiculous and some of us waited an hour for wings.
We went to the banquet facility for the dinner/show at 6:30 as instructed. We waited for quite awhile until we finally sought a staff person ought to ask where we could sit. They informed us that they had overbooked and had to set up extra tables etc.. All the people on buses were seated while we waited and eventually seated at the extra tables they had put up in the back of the room without any beverages or condiments etc.. We were treated like 2nd class citizens and the supervisor was rude to us.
We checked out the next morning and that process was another mess. It took me 40 minutes to help the staff correct all the mistakes they had made. No one seemed to know what they were doing. Their incompetence was unbelievable and being given a 50.00 credit did not wash the bad taste out of my mouth.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emze1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
So sorry to hear about your disappointing visit and we have discussed your comments with our staff. It is always our goal to provide legendary customer service and create a memorable experience for each and every guest and we apologize that we fell short. We hope you will return to enjoy a true Oglebay experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
4.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia Wheeling Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Wheeling Triadelphia at the Highlands
4.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia/wheeling
4.0 mi away
The McLure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center

Property: Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
Address: 465 Lodge Drive, Wheeling, WV 26003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Family Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oglebay is a unique 1,700-acre, year-round resort with exceptional beauty and abundant recreational activities. The 270-room Wilson Lodge at Oglebay features The West Spa, two dining rooms, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, fitness center, business center and wireless Internet. The resort also has 54 cottages, perfect for large families or several families that want to vacation together. Oglebay has something for every member of the family including 4 golf courses, eight specialty shops, a zoo, gardens, two museums, fishing, pedal boats, aqua cycles, tennis, stables, and miles of walking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Resort And Conference Center
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Hotel Wheeling
Wilson Hotel At Oglebay
Wilson Oglebay Lodge Wheeling
Oglebay Resort Wheeling
Wilson Oglebay Resort
Oglebay Wheeling
Oglebay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing