We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check Out Package Prices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
Fairborn, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Check Out Package Prices”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed in Wilson Lodge and came with another couple for a few days of golf. Our room was a little dated but generally clean. The king bed was comfortable. We had a little patio and two chairs with a good view of trees. We had a Keurig single serve coffee maker and a mini fridge but no microwave. But there were places where the finish was lifting from the wood paneling. The room darkening curtain panels were too small and almost covered the windows. The bathroom was different with no separate door between the shower and toilet and the vanity. This slowed us down a little. If you are playing golf on the property be sure to ask about a package deal. We saved a little with a package including king room, two rounds of golf with two buffet breakfasts over two days.

Room Tip: There are plenty of stairs and I didn't see any elevators. Be sure to ask if stairs are a proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldBoyScoutFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    247
    104
    61
    39
See reviews for
353
251
18
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked a king suite breakfast package for $211 a night. The area and main lodge is beautiful. Great for those who like to golf. Breakfast was good, dirty cups though. However, the room itself was highly disappointing. It had cobwebs in a couple corners and we saw a large bug crawling across the floor. The "robes" they provide are kinda gross actually. We have been traveling a lot lately and stayed in much nicer places for 1/3 of the cost. Unfortunately we Wouldn't return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, Director of Hotel Operations at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Our staff works very hard to exceed our guests’ expectations and the fact that you did not enjoy your stay is disappointing. We strive to maintain very high Housekeeping standards in all areas of the hotel and it appears that we fell short. Our sincerest apologies. It is so rare that our guests don’t like our plush high-end robes, but we certainly appreciate your feedback. I truly hope that you will consider visiting us again so that you can experience the best of what we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Friends were staying at Oglebay, and we met up with them to eat at Oglebay's GlassWorks Grill. What a GEM! Two of us enjoy fish or vegetarian dishes, and the other two in our party were heavy meat eaters. We were ALL very pleased with what we ordered! There were plenty of healthy choices and fun splurges as well. The prices were quite fair and the service was fantastic. The atmosphere is nice, as well -- with many blown glass pieces artfully on display. GlassWorks Grill is worth trying, even if you aren't staying overnight at Oglebay Resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpringFaith74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Wilson Lodge is not the Ritz-Carlton and makes no pretense about what it is not. A comfortable lodge with updating beginning with all the right things - great shower, wonderful soap and shampoo amenities, soft towels, flat-screen TVs, Keurigs in every room (I assume) and free internet service. Meticulously clean rooms and a new green & tan leafy patterned carpet, comfortable beds.
Common areas are also meticulously clean, and the staff is friendly and helpful. Exquisitely manicured grounds. Outside the main area is a large front porch with rockers.
Oglebay hearkens back to a quieter, less rushed time. Take the family and enjoy.
Not sure why all the negativity? True, no real view outside from my patio but there were two nice chairs placed there if I wanted to sit out. My room was small-ish, and I could hear my neighbors at times, but none of that was a bother to me.
The grounds are gorgeous. I don't golf, but just walking that beautiful course has to be uplifting. Picnic pavilions abound. With a convention, we had a chilly auction at one, but the Oglebay ranger stopped by to check on us and make sure we had plenty of firewood. I noted a miniature golf course nearby. The indoor pool seemed lovely, and I passed happy people returning from a swim.
My meal in the Glassworks Grill, already reviewed, was super! The beer selection 1st-rate.
I was not there long enough to partake of everything, but if I were in the area, I would return. As for cost, I am looking at featured packages on my other screen, and they are more than reasonable in price with excellent inclusions.
Leave your uptight self at home, go, relax, enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Duvel11Frederick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at the Wilson Lodge at the Oglebay Resort. We stayed in the newest area of the lodge and the room was well appointed and maintained. Keurig coffee maker, fridge, internet, towel warmer, robes, 2 sitting chairs and comfortable beds. We saw some the older sections and rooms...as well maintained and appointed, just older and smaller structures. Overall a very pleasant facility with tow restaurants, one providing elegant dining and the other a more casual experience. Both provided a quality meal. Planned renovations show management is proactive n their growth and promotion plans. I was impressed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simeon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have been going to Oglebay as a family for years as I grew up in the area and we return to visit friends and family. This year may be our last. The cabins are rustic and we love this but due to rain the area surrounding our cabin was like a swamp and the cabin roof leaked in one room. I have to tell you that the staff did everything they could to help with the problem and when I complained to management, they returned some of my money. However, we felt that for the money the accommodations are lacking. It's really too bad because the park has lots of activities for kids and families and is a beautiful place to spend time. Maybe the will put some money toward renovations when they read some of these reviews.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PattiQG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
So sorry to hear of your disappointing stay at one of our cottages but glad to hear that our staff was helpful. Renovations and updates to all of our 54 cottages are ongoing. In the past year we have completed the following at 12 cottages: new blinds and cornices, new living room furniture, new lamps, new bedroom lights, added artwork to living room, new mattresses & box springs, added stainless appliances to the kitchen, added round shower curtain rods, added 42” flat screen TV over the fireplace, placed a TV in 1 bedroom, new dishes, new center carpet, new bedspreads and new bedroom carpet. We have also added wireless Internet to all of the deluxe cottages and we anticipate more updates in the coming year. Thank you for your many years of patronage. We hope that you will continue your tradition with us and notice our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WELLINGTON
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

first visit ever to Oglebay Resort last week-end for a family wedding...the rolling hills and manicured grounds were beautiful but the rooms left a lot to be desired
I wouldn't refer to the hotel as a resort, but there were various activities for vacationing families. It is definitely time for an investment in upgrades and modernization.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we apologize that you did not enjoy your stay at our lodge. Oglebay offers 1,700 acres of year-round recreation including four golf courses, the 30-acre Good Zoo, seven specialty shops, gardens, tennis, stables, fishing, two museums and downhill skiing. The 271-room Wilson Lodge at Oglebay has several different room categories in various price ranges and the larger premium guest rooms may be more to your liking. Details on the rooms are on our website or our reservation specialists can provide descriptions. Within the past 7 years we have added 59 new premium rooms and the West Spa, and have remodeled the lobby, the main dining room, the fitness center & the business center. Updates to all guest rooms at the lodge are ongoing plus more additions and renovations throughout the entire resort are eagerly anticipated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
1,180 reviews
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Wheeling Triadelphia at the Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The McLure Hotel & Suites
4.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia Wheeling Area
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Wheeling - The Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center

Property: Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
Address: 465 Lodge Dr, Wheeling, WV 26003-1967
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Family Hotel in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oglebay is a unique 1,700-acre, year-round resort with exceptional beauty and abundant recreational activities. The 270-room Wilson Lodge at Oglebay features The West Spa, two dining rooms, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, fitness center, business center and wireless Internet. The resort also has 54 cottages, perfect for large families or several families that want to vacation together. Oglebay has something for every member of the family including 4 golf courses, eight specialty shops, a zoo, gardens, two museums, fishing, pedal boats, aqua cycles, tennis, stables, and miles of walking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Resort And Conference Center
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Hotel Wheeling
Wilson Hotel At Oglebay
Oglebay Resort Wheeling
Wilson Oglebay Lodge Wheeling
Wilson Oglebay Resort
Oglebay Wheeling
Oglebay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing