We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Ok weekend getaway”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I just got back from a weekend getaway at Oglebay with my husband. It was a close drive from Pittsburgh and a relaxing weekend. We enjoyed the High Tea in the afternoon each day and the wine tasting available Friday night.

We were a little disappointed with the service at the onsite restaurants. Like many others said, the service wasn't that great. Most of the staff were young and untrained. They also stood around a lot not doing much. One server we had took forever making our salads and ended up bring our food out right after she finally brought out the salads. She also never refilled our drinks and was MIA just about the entire time, but she did make sure to catch up with her other server friends on a regular basis.

We stayed in a king room, which was rather spacious. The tub/toilet area was rather small and very outdated. The shower head was not tall-person friendly and there were no where to hang our wet towels to dry. Not sure it this was standard, but no one came to clean our room during our 3 day stay. We also asked twice for extra pillows and eventually got them on our last night stay.

We opted for the Summer Fun Package, which was a great deal. I was a little disappointed with the Zoo. I knew it was smaller, but it was a lot of walking and not many animals. All the hype for the dinosaurs was disappointing too. They spent a lot money on dinosaur merchandise, but only had a total of 5 dinosaurs throughout the whole zoo. I even overheard kids walking around saying they were disappointed and thought there would be more dinosaurs. It was hard to get all the activities in too. Most of the places were only open from 10-5. We had a whole day and one night to get everything in, but it rained at night and left us trying to cram everything into one day. It was quite exhausting and a lot of running around to try and do this.

Overall, it was a nice getaway, but I wouldn't make it a vacation, especially with kids. If you are into golf I would imagine it would be a nice stay as they have quite a few golf courses. If you are looking for a zoo for the kids, go to the Pittsburgh Zoo instead.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for spending time with us and we hope you will return. Also, thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we apologize that your housekeeping service and the service at our restaurants was not up to our usual high standards. It is always our goal to provide legendary customer service and create a memorable experience for each and every guest. It appears that your room was in the original wing of our lodge but our premium rooms in the new wing, with large deluxe bathrooms, may be more to your liking. We are sorry your visit to the Good Zoo did not meet your expectations as we are proud to announce that the zoo was just accredited, again, by the Association of Zoos & Aquariums (AZA). To be accredited, the Good Zoo underwent a thorough review to ensure it has and will continue to meet rising standards, which include animal care, veterinary programs, conservation, education, and safety. AZA requires zoos and aquariums to successfully complete this rigorous accreditation process every five years in order to be members of the Association.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    247
    104
    61
    39
See reviews for
353
251
18
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parma Heights, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We took an impromptu 3 day get away from Cleveland to Wheeling. Its an easy drive south on I-77 from Cleveland, just over 2 and 1/2 hours. Traffic light and scenery pretty.
Staff was very friendly and accommodating. We were given our room and soon discovered it was a very long walk from parking. My husband has health problems so I went back to registration and we were given a different room slightly closer to parking. The room, even with the upgrade to intermediate was adequate. No refrigerator, no guide to television channels and the air conditioner sounded like a small jet on take off. The bath tub showed some mildew and dirt seemed ground into the safety treads on the bottom of the bath.

The staff is exceptional and cordial. Food at the restaurants was good, nice try on the vegan choices, but not stellar.

The best thing about the resort is the variety of things to do; a small zoo, museums, both indoor and out door pools. The scenery is breath taking, fresh and bright and green!!!

Don't hesitate to make your needs known when you make a reservation, it will eliminate little glitches to an otherwise very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Staff is super helpful, call to make your reservation, it can eliminate little aggravations. The co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we hope you will plan another getaway with us! We offer several different room categories in various price ranges so please discuss your needs and budget with one of our reservation specialists so we can find the right room for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The rooms are quite tiny but comfortable, but the setting and activities make Oglebay a winner. Our small family group of six encountered family after family enjoying the Good Zoo, the mini golf course, the playground, the paddle boats at the lake, and swimming and splashing in the delightful indoor pool. The chocolate fountain at the buffet dinner was icing on the cake for the little ones.; for us grandparents, the glass museum was a treat after the younger family members had left. Some of us are vegetarians or vegans; we found limited dining options, not even soy milk at the breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding and were very pleased with our stay We ended up with one of the premium rooms because the regular rooms were sold out. And it was worth the extra money. Advice for other travelers: Opt for the upgrade and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slunsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We visited Oglebay and stayed at Wilson Lodge for a family reunion. This is a wonderful place to visit for a family with children of all ages. Our group had children ranging in age from four to eighteen years old, and everyone had something to keep them busy. I recommend purchasing one of the hotel packages that includes breakfast and the park activities.

Over-all the lodge is great. The architecture was beautiful, and the grounds are nicely cared for. The rooms are what you would expect in a lodge, but have the modern amenities you would find in most hotels; even a small refrigerator. The indoor pool was nice and there were activities like crafts for the children, afternoon tea, and even a movie night outside.

Our group played two of the championship golf courses, and the par 3 course. The courses were in great shape and challenging. As a lodge guest you receive a discount on the greens fees and the par 3 was included as part of the family package.

Unfortunately there were a few things that were a little disappointing. The room appeared very clean at first, but unfortunately I was looking for one of my sons toys under the bed, and it was painfully obvious that the housekeeping staff is not taking time to vacuum the area between the edge of the bed and the box frame, and there was mold growing on the shower curtain. These seems like simple items that should not be overlooked, especially in this price range.

The other disappointment was the food. With the exception of breakfast, which was great, the rest of the food was not very good. I expected the restaurants to be a little overpriced, like any hotel, but the quality was not very good considering the price. There was also a new bartender who was clueless on how to make the daily drink special, which is understandable, but he did not take the initiative to find out how.

Other than these few exceptions, the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend Wilson Lodge to a friend and hope to return someday in the future.

Room Tip: Purchase a package that includes breakfast and activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stlrfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to post your comments, both good and bad, as your comments tell us what we are doing right and what areas need improvement. Please be assured that our Housekeeping staff is held to the highest industry standards and the cleanliness of all guest rooms is a priority, and we apologize that we fell short. We hope you plan another getaway with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Oglebay needs to hang the Help Wanted sign out. The grounds are beautiful and the cabins very acommodating, but just about any interaction with staff disappoints.

Our family booked three cabins and two hotel rooms recently. My daughter and I checked into a hotel room with her small baby. We were told that we had to lug all of the stuff up two different elevators and down a couple of halls to get to our room. We were tols there were no bellman. Later we find out there were people who could have helped us-why did the front desk not know that?

Our room was tiny and stale smelling, and the bathroom walls had visible mold. We had a nice balcony but the windows did not open, and there was not screen on the balcony door. We had to run the less the adequate air conditioning unit even though it was quite pleasant outside.

Restaurant service was slow and spotty. Dirty dishes were left in stacks on the breakfast buffet set ups-very unappetizing. I had iced tea with a bug in it. When I sent it back the server seemed surprised that this was objectionable.

Some of the waitstaff were very sweet but they had no clue. Important breakfast skills include prompt coffee refills-I think these folks were just not trained.

One night gathering in a lounge in the Wilson Lodge we found that room service dishes and covers had been shoved under a couch. Who knows how long they had been there?

C'mon Oglebay you deserve better trained staff than this!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Lodge are noisy-try to get in a less trafficked area. Stay away from the ice room-peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
So sorry to hear about your disappointing visit to Oglebay and we have discussed your comments with our staff. It is always our goal to provide legendary customer service and create a memorable experience for each and every guest and we apologize that we fell short. We agree that training is important and continue to improve our training methods. It is our sincere hope that you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We took advantage of the Family get away package and it was our first time here. I was displeased when we arrived and we were not given any information about what was included in our package until we went back down to the lobby to see if our second room was ready and I had to ask about it. Today was our first full day at Oglebay and it started off very poorly. Oglebay advertises for family reunions but it seems like they can not even accommodate a family of 5 adults and 3 children. It was very disappointing when we all went to breakfast at 8:30 and did not get seated until around 10. Reason is because we had a family of 8 and the hostess crossed our name off the list by mistake and never took responsibility for the mistake no matter how many times we went up to explain that something was wrong. We ended up having to sit at separate tables, but thank you to our waitress who cleaned of a table next to us, that she did have to do, and let the other part of our party sit at that table.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
1,181 reviews
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Wheeling Triadelphia at the Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The McLure Hotel & Suites
4.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia Wheeling Area
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Wheeling - The Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center

Property: Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
Address: 465 Lodge Dr, Wheeling, WV 26003-1967
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Family Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oglebay is a unique 1,700-acre, year-round resort with exceptional beauty and abundant recreational activities. The 270-room Wilson Lodge at Oglebay features The West Spa, two dining rooms, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, fitness center, business center and wireless Internet. The resort also has 54 cottages, perfect for large families or several families that want to vacation together. Oglebay has something for every member of the family including 4 golf courses, eight specialty shops, a zoo, gardens, two museums, fishing, pedal boats, aqua cycles, tennis, stables, and miles of walking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Resort And Conference Center
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Hotel Wheeling
Wilson Hotel At Oglebay
Oglebay Resort Wheeling
Wilson Oglebay Lodge Wheeling
Wilson Oglebay Resort
Oglebay Wheeling
Oglebay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing