We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family and I came to stay here for a short getaway. The rooms were clean and decent and we were able to get two rooms that attached which was a plus. However, the beds were uncomfortable and the pillows were terrible. I suggest you bring your own pillow! What we were extremely disappointed with were the on site restaurants. We went for dinner the first night and were told we had a forty-five minute wait, that was fine except for the restaurant was EMPTY! Getting our dinner and check seemed to take forever yet there were multiple wait staff just hanging out. We even heard the manager criticize the hostess right in front of us. It was very unprofessional. Things went from bad to worse at breakfast the next day. We put our name in for a table and the hostess called a few families in front of us, when we inquired about it, we found out she crossed off our name from the list. The hostess promised to put our name back on the list and we would be next, yet once again she seated multiple families with the same size party who had only been waiting a few minutes. Once we were finally seated we discovered the restaurant was not even close to being full. We also requested a refrigerator for our room. They were quick to send one up but it was dirty on the inside. Overall, I have not been impressed and I still have another night to go.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trvlsnbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, Food & Beverage Director at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

We are terribly sorry that you were less than satisfied with your dining experiences while staying with us. We work hard to minimize the waiting period for our busy restaurants. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments as they enable us to better understand our guests expectations and help to improve our seating process.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

710 - 716 of 964 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

the weather was not the best, but that is what it is, but the golf was fantastic. the good folks in the pro shop, as well as the starters, rangers, and caddies made a memorable trip even more so with their good nature and genuine desire to help. this holds true, as well, for the staff at the lodge. their breakfast buffet is outstanding and the only thing holding them back from another star is that we go elsewhere for dinner because the dinner cuisine is nowhere near as good as the morning. still, the service is their as well as the great attitudes. will be going back again soon rather than later. thanks

Room Tip: have stayed in the lodge each time there. the rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

While Oglebay park has much to occupy your time including some excellent golf, I'd strongly recommend a different place to lay your head at the end of the day. Dated, dark with much paneling and a feeling of not really clean.

On the upside, nice chairs outside rooms to park with the family and hang out. Many folks bring coolers and just relax on the porch / sitting area. The grounds are lovely and the stone work makes it look very pretty and rustic.

But sadly, this old time gem hasn't come along with the times. Dark inside, barely a front desk and for the price, I've seen bigger rooms in NYC. Tiny bathrooms are dated too. We wanted to love it-- just couldn't.

FYI: Breakfast is the best meal of the day. It's downhill from there. Service is mediocre at best (staffed it seems entirely by teens for whom this is their first job. Any adults running the place?)

Enjoy the park, enjoy golf. Find a different hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for new wing if you're going. If possible, ground floor. Bring a cooler and stock up. You ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMKNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we apologize that you did not enjoy your stay at the lodge. We offer several different room categories in various price ranges and the larger premium guest rooms may be more to your liking. Details on the rooms are on our website or our reservation specialists can provide descriptions. Within the past 7 years we have added 59 new premium rooms and the West Spa, and have remodeled the lobby, the main dining room, the fitness center & the business center. More additions and renovations throughout Wilson Lodge, and Oglebay, are eagerly anticipated and we hope you will reconsider and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is our second visit to the park, after many years (I grew up here and spent many, many hours in this lovely place, it's home). So excited to finally stay in the lodge and was not disappointed by our room, our view or nothing else but the food. Mediocre at best. Had buffet breakfast two days during our stay, and it really wasn't any better than a Hampton Inn...really, folks, you would be five stars if you could just fix this!

But, I do have to say that my spa services were the BEST I have ever had, and I've been to some good spots. Real reflexology, and a facial that really showed why you should do this. Can't recommend the spa highly enough.

The park is magnificent. Lots of wildlife, and acre and acres of walking. Tennis, amazing golf courses, pool, picnic areas...really, anything at all you would want Ina family vacation venue. Take a look at their website and do consider it. Beautiful, but expect the food to be just ok...

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Roanokefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My sister and I visited July 2013 and having read previous reviews I paid for upgraded room. Not only did our room have mold on the tub tile, but the carpet hadn't been swept since there were melon seeds on the carpet. Both weren't discovered until after we unpacked and were too tired to request new room. After we had retired for the night I heard a buzzing noise and noticed the fire alarm was going off. Looked out in hall but no sign of smoke so called front desk 4 time and got no answer so I woke my sister up and we walked down 6 flights only to find out we were alone. This was not easy for my sister who has a heart condition. Turns out this is a frequent happening at this lodge. I finally got an answer at front desk by saying I wanted to make reservation. This time they picked up. We're told it is because of kids. I could understand this but at least answer the phone to say it is false alarm!!

Grounds are beautiful. A bit disappointed in gardens which was reason we picked this place. Glass museum and shop great. Restaurants and food was good especially the pecan cinnamon bread which they really should sell. All the people we dealt with we're great except really thought we should get room reduction due to state of room. Sometimes "sorry" isn't enough. A premium room should at least approach "premium"!!

Did have wonderful time at the Spa. Very nice!!

Room Tip: Check out before you unpack. We had room 604
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I must say, the family and I really enjoyed ourselves. This was our first trip here, but overall we really enjoyed it. I must say we were in the Wilson's lodge, and the room we were put in had a broken door. It would not close, so as soon as we got in the room, I had to call up front to tell them the door was broke. I was told that they would send maintenance. Seriously! do you really think after all the money I had just given them I was going to wait for maintenance to fix the door. I went up front, and was put in another room. overall I was very disappointed with the what they call the renovated Wilson's lodge. The rooms are very dated. I feel as though I was in a 69 dollar room at a budget inn. It was very pricy for an old room. There are hotels down the hill and around the corner from the resort. that is where we are going to stay the next time we visit the resort.

Room Tip: Avoid the Wilson's Lodge if at all possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have stayed at both properties recently, and each offer pros and cons.

Value: Hands down Oglebay offers better value than Nemacolin. A premium room at Wilson Lodge was $265 each night (based on a two-night stay on the Family Escape Package) and included free admission for a family of four to the Good Zoo, Glass Museum, Mansion Museum, Wheeling Park Pool, train ride, mini golf, paddle boats, etc.; a breakfast buffet each morning; complimentary high tea each day and children's activities; a $30 gift card; a free pizza and softdrinks. A room at the lodge at Nemacolin is $390+ per night and includes NOTHING. The premium rooms at Oglebay are also nicer and more spacious than the lodge rooms at Nemacolin, although not as swanky as Nemacolin's Chateau rooms, which are typically $500+.

Scenary: Both offer beautiful surroundings, with Oglebay having more coloful flowers and sidewalks, and Nemacolin having more interesting sculptures and artwork.

Activities: Oglebay is better suited for younger children. Nemacolin is better suited for tweens and teens because of its Adventure Center.

Pool: Outdoor pools are very difficult to compare. Oglebay's is huge and historical, but unheated. There's a snack bar onsite. The sister park (Wheeling Park) is a public pool but offers a waterslide that kids enjoy. Nemacolin's pool is small for the resort's size, but the water is warm, and the pool offers a swim up bar and restaurant service. Indoor kids' pools at both establishments are unimpressive and small.

Service: Equally good at both places, with the occasional spottiness. The difference is you feel more impatient about spotty service at Nemacolin because you are paying Ritz Carlton prices.

Food: Equally good for casual dining although it was strange that Oglebay did not list chicken fingers and fries on its kids' menu, yet it was available. Fortunately we asked if they had it, and they did. The breakfast buffet was also good, but understaffed. Very reasonable pricing for wine and cocktails. However, if you're a foodie, then you would probably prefer Nemacolin's offerings.

Overall: We enjoyed our stays and activities at both places. Both are comparable in many ways. However, when you add up everything (hotel, food, activities ...), you will pay one-third the cost of Nemacolin for a Oglebay experience.

Room Tip: Spring for the premium rooms. Granite countertops, separate bath and shower, flat screen tv, wet ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMG30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
1,253 reviews
2.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Wheeling - The Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The McLure Hotel & Suites
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Wheeling Triadelphia at the Highlands
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites WHEELING
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center

Address: 465 Lodge Dr, Wheeling, WV 26003-1967
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Family Hotel in Wheeling
Price Range: $120 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oglebay is a unique 1,700-acre, year-round resort with exceptional beauty and abundant recreational activities. The 270-room Wilson Lodge at Oglebay features The West Spa, two dining rooms, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, fitness center, business center and wireless Internet. The resort also has 54 cottages, perfect for large families or several families that want to vacation together. Oglebay has something for every member of the family including 4 golf courses, eight specialty shops, a zoo, gardens, two museums, fishing, pedal boats, aqua cycles, tennis, stables, and miles of walking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Resort And Conference Center
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Hotel Wheeling
Wilson Hotel At Oglebay
Oglebay Resort Wheeling
Wilson Oglebay Lodge Wheeling
Wilson Oglebay Resort
Oglebay Wheeling
Oglebay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing