We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort for conference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great resort for conference”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Attended a 4 day workshop at Oglebay resort in January. Staff was very friendly and the facility was quite impressive. My deluxe king room was huge and very clean. It had a gas fireplace which was very nice as the weather was cool.
Plenty of walking trails, golf courses, and other activities to enjoy during the stay. The food was excellent and the conference facilities were great. Would highly recommend as a conference/business destination.
Location is a bit out of the way and I didn't really know what to expect as its located near Wheeling, WV but I was pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benji S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, Director of Sales at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our resort and specifically the conference you attended. We are committed to providing a great experience every time and feedback is so important to our success and also to our customers' success. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    245
    102
    61
    39
See reviews for
351
248
18
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Oglebay's for the first time as part of annual trek from Kansas to New England for the holidays. The lodge looks beautiful and is every bit the post card you expect it to be. The rooms are very small- but that is to be expected because the lodge is older- part of the charm. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. It was very busy. We bought a package that came with breakfast and a drive through of the lights. We didn't get to use the drive through- we opted for the trolley ride instead. We had dinner at the bar restaurant- both dishes were just ok. Tasted bland to me. The breakfast was also just ok. I should say- we have stayed at many fancy resorts so my views on what is great is skewed. This is not the Hilton or the W. But it is to most of the people staying there and the resort is more than happy to let them believe that it is.
We will try it again next year.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urikim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almonte, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Wilson Lodge - Oglebay Resort for 3 nights over the new years holiday (Dec 30/12 through Jan 1/13). We had other family members staying at the the same time. So it really was the company that made our trip so great!
The room was dated, but clean. The staff were super friendly and were very pleasant.
We had two meals there; snacks/drinks in the bar as well as a nice family dinner in the dining room on new years day. The food was quite good and again - the service was great. The atmosphere with the Christmas decorations (outside and inside), the music in the common area and having the deer eat from our hands right outside our room made for some great memories!
Would definitely recommend for a family get together, but based on our rooms, I would not say it would have been a romantic get-away.

Room Tip: We didn't have a frig which would have been nice - although we had a balcony we were able to use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feath18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefontaine, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My family has had a tradition to view the Festival of Lights at Wilson Lodge each year. We have not gone for the last couple of years so we were anxious to see them this year. All the lights have been changed to LED and have added a number of new one since we last were there. We stayed in a chalet on the property and it was perfect - snow on the ground, deer roaming the property and glowing fire in the fireplace in the room - what could be better. The breakfast in the dining room prepared by chef was the start of a perfect day. The shops was great at the lodge also. The Good Zoo with the laser show was also a high light.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kingbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgettstown, PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a different experience for our 13th anniversary and decided on a package offered by Oglebay which included a room, free breakfast and a pass to the incredible Christmas lights. We were not disappointed!!! We stayed at one of the chalets and the room was wonderful. There was a king-sized bed, couch with pull-out bed, fireplace with gas logs, kitchen area with sink and small refrigerator and very nice bathroom. The room was very clean. A special treat was the Keurig coffeemaker with k-cups. The buffet breakfast was extensive and had something for everyone's taste. There was a chef for made-to-order omelets, all kinds of meats, eggs, casseroles, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, waffles made fresh.....yum!!!! And of course, the light show was delightful.....we will definitely go back!!!

Room Tip: The chalet room that we stayed in was spacious with lots of floor space
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeleciaElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed the weekend and once again we were not disappointed. The lights were beautiful and the food was great. We spent one day at the resort (zoo, shops, mansion, glass museum) and another in down town Wheeling (shops, civil war museum, fish market and center market). Can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: We request an intermediate king with a fireplace. They are at the end of the hall and are very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fizzie-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Accommodated a full house of guests nicely. Buffet dinner at the formal dining room for NYE was a little disappointing. Price was a little over $500 for two nights over NYE which was a bit pricey for venue......
Lights are always a special treat!
Deluxe room was more light a suite, which i was not aware of when booking. Did not need the extra space or bar that was in our room. Would've liked a room with an outdoor courtyard view instead of pulled blinds over looking parking lot.......

Room Tip: be sure the room levels are explained to you......
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firstimer40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
1,158 reviews
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
4.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia Wheeling Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Wheeling Triadelphia at the Highlands
4.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia/wheeling
4.0 mi away
The McLure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center

Property: Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
Address: 465 Lodge Dr, Wheeling, WV 26003-1967
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Family Hotel in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oglebay is a unique 1,700-acre, year-round resort with exceptional beauty and abundant recreational activities. The 270-room Wilson Lodge at Oglebay features The West Spa, two dining rooms, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, fitness center, business center and wireless Internet. The resort also has 54 cottages, perfect for large families or several families that want to vacation together. Oglebay has something for every member of the family including 4 golf courses, eight specialty shops, a zoo, gardens, two museums, fishing, pedal boats, aqua cycles, tennis, stables, and miles of walking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Hotel Wheeling
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Resort And Conference Center
Wilson Hotel At Oglebay
Oglebay Resort Wheeling
Wilson Oglebay Lodge Wheeling
Wilson Oglebay Resort
Oglebay Wheeling
Oglebay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing