We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice people, but nothing but regrets. Look elsewhere.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
Marysville, Ohio, USA
1 review
“Nice people, but nothing but regrets. Look elsewhere.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

People: excellent and polite. Top notch, but that's not enough to spend my money on.

Rooms: very clean, but nothing else. Standard brick bed. Impossible to get extra pillows. Broken tv. Broken coffee maker. No refrigerator. This is sub-par to any standard hotel in every way.

Food: free breakfast buffet: Was great beyond warm milk and oj, and cold food. Besides that, good quality and good taste's

Dinner: Also pretty good taste but you get ravaged on prices. $10-$15 burger? You'll do better by visiting the town. (Uncle Pete's)

If you take that suggestion, also use this: do NOT go during the Christmas Lights!!!!! It took my wife and I 5.5 hours to get from I70 back to our room (4 miles). Traffic was stopped on the highway to go to see the lights. Needless to say, the traffic alone was enough to completely ruin an already poor-to-mediocre experience. (We just wanted to get back to our lodge)

Finally: the lights. Maybe 15 individual light displays that were OK. I'm sorry to be so negative, but spare yourselves. You get a better show at the Columbus Zoo.....you get a better show just driving around a well-to-do town.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcarter56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
It’s disappointing when we receive reviews like this but we certainly appreciate that you took the time to compliment our staff as they work very hard to please each and every guest. We sincerely hope that you will call us with the room number you stayed in because to date we have had no reports of broken TV’s or coffee makers. We agree that this would be unacceptable and hope that you will contact us so we can fix this for our future guests. The Winter Festival of Lights is one of the top holiday light shows in the country and because of its popularity traffic can become heavy, especially on a Saturday evening, and we apologize for your extended travel time. The show is designed to appeal to visitors of all ages and from all walks of life and features 78 larger-than-life displays ranging from animals, to storybook figures, to beloved comic strip characters. We are proud to report that 95% of more than 17,000 comments cards from visitors rate the Festival of Lights good to excellent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    243
    100
    60
    39
See reviews for
341
242
16
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, West Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Service and staff were wonderful. Some of the rooms are old and some new,but very warm,clean,and inviting. The lodge staff was very helpful and went out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. I would highly recommend the Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Park.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments! We appreciate that you took time to post your comments and our staff will be pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We do offer several different room categories in various price ranges and details on the rooms are on our website or our reservation specialists can provide descriptions. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostraver, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We have spent Thanksgiving here several years & always have a great time. For the price of the hotel (we do the "pre-Thanksgiving special) you also get a cordial gathering the evening before - with music in the lounge & cookies & hot chocolate - lovely for all family members; beautiful grounds to walk & interesting shops. But the best part is the Mountaineer Breakfast Buffet on Thanksgiving morning. Yum! We learned after the first year,not to make lunch plans - you won't feel like eating until much later. Also included is a pass to drive around & see the famous Oglebay festival of Lights - a huge Christmas light display. However, we pop for an extra fee & take the trolly around so my husband won't miss the lights while driving. Only one problem this year - the coffee machine in the room didn't work & there was nowhere else to get coffee until breakfast.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, some are a little farther to walk, so if you have a physically disabled pers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingrandma64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for visiting Oglebay during the holiday season. It is very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to post your comments. So sorry about the coffee machine – we can all appreciate how important that cup of coffee can be! We hope you’ll visit us again during one of our other seasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

A great old fashioned get away with modern conveniences. I love the wood lodge and rustic feel. The food is also great and the staff are very friendly. I have been there a few times and it has always been the same experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments and we look forward to serving you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

There were beautiful grounds to explore, and the hills made the walks good exercise. There were festive holiday trees and decorations all around the inside and outside of the lodge. The cookies, wifi, and guitarists in the lounge made for a relaxing end to the day. The yummy breakfast buffet included an omelet and waffle station as well as all the traditional breakfast fare. The view from the dining room was gorgeous. Partaking in the Festival of Lights and the laser and light show at the zoo made for a very special holiday experience. The staff were friendly and courteous.

The room and bath were small, but everything worked (A/C, hot water, TV, coffeemaker, etc). The biggest problem was the noise levels in the building. We did not get a good night's sleep. Throughout the night, we heard loud talking in the hallways, people talking in the shared deck, doors closing/opening hard, and other people's toilets flushing and water running.

If you go, we suggest you take earplugs or some type of white noise machine.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank LouisePennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for visiting Oglebay during the Winter Festival of Lights. It is very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to post your comments, both good and not so good! It appears your room was in the traditional, or original, section of the lodge. With any renovation and refurbishing project soundproofing improvements are always included but the construction of the original wing does limit what can be accomplished. We offer several different room categories in various price ranges and the newer lodge guest room wings may be more to your liking. Details on the rooms are on our website or our reservation specialists can provide descriptions. The delicious breakfast buffet is offered year-round so we hope you will visit us during one of our other beautiful seasons!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

love to lights shops, but the hotel room was extremly noisey everyone who walked by you heard every door shut you heard, people on the first floor was out til after 4 am windws shut you could smell the smoke, not to clean in much need of updating, will not stay there again, also when we made reservations was not told they sold tickets before hand to ride trolly we knew it cost $8 but not times that you got to pick from , which when you have heath issues staying up late it makes a differants but the lights where nice

Room Tip: be ready not to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nanatotwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, General Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments and we hope you will reconsider and visit us again. It appears your room was in the traditional, or original, section of the lodge. With any renovation and refurbishing project soundproofing improvements are always included but the construction of the original wing does limit what can be accomplished. We offer several different room categories in various price ranges and the newer lodge guest room wings may be more to your liking. Details on the rooms are on our website or our reservation specialists can provide descriptions. The nightly trolley tour is a great way to see all of the Festival of Light's displays as a knowledgeable tour guide narrates, provides festival history and gives you insider information about what goes on behind-the-scenes. This nightly tour departs from Wilson Lodge hourly at 5:30, 6:30, 7:30, 8:30 & 9:30 pm. Reservations for the trolley tour can only be made in person on the day of your tour at the Wilson Lodge front desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
230 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Just a lovely place! Had no idea it would be so scenic.
Rooms were larger and very comfortable. The place is huge so be prepared to walk, Very nice high end dining room with views. Ask for a window table'
Also a very nice casual sports bar dining area.
All in all just a great fond,

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
4.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia Wheeling Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Wheeling Triadelphia at the Highlands
4.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia/wheeling
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Wheeling - The Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center

Property: Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
Address: 465 Lodge Drive, Wheeling, WV 26003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Family Hotel in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oglebay is a unique 1,700-acre, year-round resort with exceptional beauty and abundant recreational activities. The 270-room Wilson Lodge at Oglebay features The West Spa, two dining rooms, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, fitness center, business center and wireless Internet. The resort also has 54 cottages, perfect for large families or several families that want to vacation together. Oglebay has something for every member of the family including 4 golf courses, eight specialty shops, a zoo, gardens, two museums, fishing, pedal boats, aqua cycles, tennis, stables, and miles of walking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Resort And Conference Center
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Hotel Wheeling
Wilson Hotel At Oglebay
Wilson Oglebay Lodge Wheeling
Oglebay Resort Wheeling
Wilson Oglebay Resort
Oglebay Wheeling
Oglebay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing