We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good accommodations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
Tate, Georgia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good accommodations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed here only one night in the lodge. The accommodations were adequate, the room was clean, the bed comfortable. The pillow was flat so I used 3. The location was easy to find using my GPS. We got there too late to see any of the landscaping or property and we left early the next morning to take advantage of any of the amenities.

The room I was in had a door to a walkway in the back. It was a little noisy with people rolling their suitcases after Inhad gone to bed, but it was not the end of the world. I will say that the rooms could use some updating.

We stayed here because this was the only hotel that had any rooms availabile since the frackers are there drilling for gas and oil.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsZimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    243
    100
    60
    39
See reviews for
341
242
16
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I planned a 50th high school reunion, classmates from Switzerland, Hawaii, and all points of the compass. The Website looks great, the locations and views were wonderful. However, the group sales usually took 3-4 days or more to get back in touch, I had trouble getting phone calls returned, the fine print did not specify that if you wanted any beer or wine in the hospitality room you had to have a bartender at all times.
Saturday night, the banquet food, chicken and shrimp, was terrible. The chicken was tough and tasted like it had freezer burn, been microwaved instead of cooked, and we could not cut it with our table knives. I personally left half of the food on the plate. We could have gotten a much better meal at the local Bob Evans for half the price. The reservations check in desk had two or three of our attendees reservations messed up. I called for some extra chairs in my suite for visitors and relaxation and it took three hours and three phone calls for them to arrive. "The bell hop forgot which room" was the excuse I was given. Water and pop in the hospitality room was supposed to be refilled automatically and was not, phone calls again had to be made. One group was enjoying breakfast and renewing memories of the past 50 years when they were asked to leave their table in the restaurant. How rude! Needless to say, next year we will not be coming back. I was embarrassed that after 50 years these men and women were not treated as valued customers.

Room Tip: Rooms on level 1 and 2 are the oldest and the people who were put in them said they were drafty, noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglebay, Manager at Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We always try to provide legendary service and create a memorable experience for all of our guests and we apologize for falling short. We appreciate that you took the time to post your comments and they will be passed on to our staff so we can make improvements. Breakfast at Oglebay is a grand event attended by almost 800 guests daily. Sometimes, out of necessity, we ask our guests that have completed their meal to relax with coffee and conversation in lounge areas so other guests can also enjoy the breakfast experience. It is never our intention to embarrass or offend any guest. We do hope you will give us another chance and notice our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very nice resort; had Sedgeway rentals which was fun; low key relaxing two day long enough; Wilson lodge restaurant very good. Gift shop was one of the better ones for this type of venue. Great walking paths. Pool nice but needs updated.

Room Tip: do not know
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgettstown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We went to the Wilson Lodge for a weekend getaway, where we had a package deal through their website. The room was nice and the meals were ok, but just not what I was hoping for. We enjoyed the indoor pool area, but that seems to be in need of an overhaul. Years of moisture have made the walls and windows age terribly. As long as you can get a deal, this is a good getaway. But I would never pay full price for anything there.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willowick, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Weekend get away. Great golf. Plenty of activities, mostly for families with children. Enjoyed the Good zoo, Reinactment, pools, hiking and just the beutiful environment. The resort was clean, and wonderful, friendly service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cc1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, OH
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We wanted to get away overnight, and decided to go to Oglebay. I hadn't been there for 39 years, and the place is beautiful. We had a room in the Lodge, with an amazingly comfortable King size bed. Surprised to see Keurig coffee pots in the room. Our rate included both museums and the Good zoo. The only down side was the humidity was just awful, and it was compounded by everything being an uphill climb. We concluded our stay with the breakfast buffet, and I have never seen Eggs Benedict on a breakfast buffee. Overall, simply beautiful, and would return again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coinlady1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland ohio, USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Wilson Lodge had everything we wanted for our Labor Day Weekend stay. This was my second stay from my first visit 5 years ago. My wife and I were very happy with our three day stay at Oglebay in one of the Chalet rooms. I recommend the upgrade from the standard lodge room. I was impressed by all the care and attention to the beautiful grounds and the park setting. The golf courses were uncrowded and the staff helpful. The rooms and facility was clean and well maintained. We had a mechanical problem in our room that was quickly fixed.

Restaurant food was fresh and interesting, and a good value.

In the Grill at a late lunch with only a few customers, the waitress forgot to enter our order and only noticed because my wife inquired as to the delay. I had eaten some of the free snacks in the lobby and was watching a baseball game in the Grill, but my wife was hungry and quite annoyed. Nothing was offered like a free drink or dessert. Maybe the staff needs better training and supervision. Some of the employees look well-meaning but not well trained. This would be a good investment, if the resort wants to earn another star.

Room Tip: Chalet rooms are quiet and quaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adkmts46er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
4.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia Wheeling Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Wheeling Triadelphia at the Highlands
4.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia/wheeling
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Wheeling - The Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center

Property: Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
Address: 465 Lodge Drive, Wheeling, WV 26003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wheeling
#3 Family Hotel in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oglebay is a unique 1,700-acre, year-round resort with exceptional beauty and abundant recreational activities. The 270-room Wilson Lodge at Oglebay features The West Spa, two dining rooms, an indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, fitness center, business center and wireless Internet. The resort also has 54 cottages, perfect for large families or several families that want to vacation together. Oglebay has something for every member of the family including 4 golf courses, eight specialty shops, a zoo, gardens, two museums, fishing, pedal boats, aqua cycles, tennis, stables, and miles of walking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Resort And Conference Center
Wilson Lodge At Oglebay Hotel Wheeling
Wilson Hotel At Oglebay
Wilson Oglebay Lodge Wheeling
Oglebay Resort Wheeling
Wilson Oglebay Resort
Oglebay Wheeling
Oglebay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing