We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very special treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
Culpeper, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“a very special treat!”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I have traveled all over the world and stayed in many 5 star hotels but have never had such personalized and genuinely pleasant service. The cleanliness of the hotel is extraordinary. We enjoyed the pool in all its splendor every day. It was a real surprise to find out that the shuttle service is personalized to our needs. They took us to a site, restaurant, or wherever and then came back and picked us up when we called. All as part of the package! The breakfasts are plentiful and vary every day. Lots of fresh fruit! And we were pleasantly surprised by the Manager's dinner on Monday evening - a delightful complimentary meal. Thanks to all the staff who go out of their way to make our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrammyBonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Manager at Hampton Inn Wheeling, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Wow! Thanks for that wonderful review! It is great to hear from one of Tripadvisor's Senior Reviewers. I'm so very glad that you enjoyed your stay.
For you to compare us to a five star hotel was very high praise indeed. I will certainly share those comments with the team. We will continue to strive to provide a world class level of service.
Thanks also for your kind words about the cleanliness of the hotel. It is my firm belief that if we can get service and cleanliness right good things will continue to happen for us!
Once again, thanks for the review! I hope you will visit us again soon. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    101
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
441
301
43
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wheeling west virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This hotel is located within walking distance to several restaurants some chain others only found in Wheeling. The staff is very accommodating and helpful. There is a shuttle the driver was friendly and courteous an added plus was he drove safely.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Valecia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Manager at Hampton Inn Wheeling, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thanks for that very nice review. I appreciate you taking the time from your busy day to share your experience with us. I'm very glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Thanks also for referring to our staff as friendly and helpful in your title. I will share your comments with them at our next team gathering. You also mentioned our location within walking distance to several restaurants. I feel that that is a very important, and often overlooked, feature. As they say: "location is everything!" It's really great to not have to worry about getting back in the car, after a day long drive, to have to find a place to eat.
Once again, thanks for the review. I hope you will visit us again soon. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This Hotel went to the extreme to make our stay a very pleasant experience.....The Owner was on hand to help us two special dinners that was planned ahead of time......as they do not serve dinners....Breakfast staff gave us excellent service although it is self serve........everything is kept very clean and the ambiance is delightful.......and if I would known ahead of time I would have enjoyed their aquatic center of indoor swimming pool and separate jacuzzi's one for the men and one for the women and a great fitness room..... and one of staff give us a tour through the city in their van.....and would not accept a tip and it was free to begin with! If I were to be in this city again.....I would diffinitely stay in this Hotel.......

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Duchesselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Manager at Hampton Inn Wheeling, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thanks for that great review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We were honored to host your reunion. Our country owes veterans like yourselves such a debt of gratitude, thanks for all you have done.
We had a lot of fun cooking those special dinners on our barbecue grill. I think they turned out really nicely. I just wish the weather had been a little warmer so that you could have eaten outside in our beautiful teak garden. Our owner, Mr. Hitchman, really likes providing a personal level of service. I'm pleased that your group enjoyed it.
Once again, thanks for the review and your service. I hope you will stay with us again soon. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

My husband and I went for 3 nights during December to go to Oglebay etc. They offered a shuttle around town for free, the rooms were amazing and very clean, everything about our trip was completely worth it! The staff told us things about the area, treated us like they appreciated us being there and they served a spectacular breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Manager at Hampton Inn Wheeling, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thanks for that fantastic review! What a great title: "Loved It! Awesome Customer Service!" I wish I could put that on our billboards. I'm so glad that you enjoyed everything.
Thanks also for your kind words about our breakfast and shuttle service. As you mentioned both of those amenities are provided at no charge and are very important. But to me, the most important thing you mentioned is that you were treated like we appreciated you being here. That is really the essence of hospitality and I'm do pleased that you felt that way while you were here.
Once again, thanks for the review. I hope you will visit us again soon. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night on a bus tour. Very nice. Clean, comfortable, updated. Beds very comfortable. Nice bathroom. Good breakfast. They were very busy with our two bus loads staying there, but they took care of all of us with no waiting. Restaurants nearby.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hittmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Manager at Hampton Inn Wheeling, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thanks for that wonderful review! I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We don't get many reviews from our motorcoach guests. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!
I remember having your two buses stay with us. It was very busy, but everyone was so nice and very patient. I'm pleased that you were taken care of without much waiting. Our goal is to offer a truly extraordinary level of service, no matter if you arrived here by car, motorcoach or unicycle!
Once again, thanks for the review. I hope you will visit us again soon. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Park
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel is clean. It has several interesting albeit smaller than expected features. There is a teak garden and fire pit. A facsimile gazebo with a fireplace is also outside. And, of course, the aquatic area; all of which are very nice,,, but much smaller than expected. But that is the only complaint. The staff is extraordinary in their quality of service they provide.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Manager at Hampton Inn Wheeling, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for that very nice review! I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. I'm very glad that, overall, your stay was a pleasant one.
Thanks also for those kind remarks about the service provided by our team. We are striving to deliver a world class level of service and I'm pleased that you feel we are making progress towards that goal. I'm sorry, however, that you found some of our amenities to be smaller that you had imagined they would be. Now that the weather has improved and we have opened up our splash deck area, there is a bit more room to spread out in our Aquatic Center. I hope you will come back and give it another try.
Once again, thanks for the review. Please visit us again soon. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stormville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

What a great hotel! From the warm welcome to the aquatic center to the little gestures here and there that made our overnight stay thoroughly enjoyable. We stayed on a Monday night when the manager offers a complimentary dinner, so we cancelled our dinner plans and sat down to grilled hot dogs, beans and red potatoes along with dessert and punch. The staff could not have been more hospitable. Our 7 year old loved the pool with its various sprays and bubbles, whilst we relaxed in the hot tub and steam rooms. He wants to know when we will be going back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiewackitBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Manager at Hampton Inn Wheeling, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Wow! Thanks for that fantastic review. I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us, and I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay.
It was a real stroke of luck for you to be here on a Monday night. I'm so pleased that you got to enjoy our weekly Manager's Reception. We host a full dinner every Monday and feature different menu items every week. Hopefully you can return when the weather is nicer and eat in our Teak Garden area outside.
Once again, thanks for the review. I hope that your 7 year old can convince you to return soon! Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
2.6 mi away
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Wheeling - The Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia Wheeling Area
5.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Wheeling Triadelphia at the Highlands
1.5 mi away
The McLure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Wheeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Wheeling

Property: Hampton Inn Wheeling
Address: 795 National Rd, Wheeling, WV 26003-6544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wheeling
#1 Business Hotel in Wheeling
#1 Family Hotel in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Wheeling 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Wheeling is a one of a kind property, consistently rated as one of the top Hampton Inn's in the Country. Our hotel features: A beautiful outdoor teak garden with a fire pit, lush greenery and fountain. An indoor - outdoor Aquatic Center featuring an indoor pool with interactive features, steam showers, two hot tub spas and a splash deck with a tipping bucket tree. There is also a 600 square foot fitness center, our "On the House" hot breakfast bar that includes hot items and waffles daily, free high speed wireless internet and 102 newly renovated guestrooms featuring "Cloud 9" bedding and microfridges! All of this within two miles of both Oglebay Park and the Wheeling Island Casino! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Wheeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Wheeling Hotel Wheeling
Wheeling Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing