We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Epitome of Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

From our warm and genuine greeting by the front desk, to the manager (Jennifer) remembering us from our February stay, the Hampton Inn Wheeling continues to exceed our expectations. The service provided by the complimentary guest shuttle driviers (Leo, for one) is excellent. We stayed for the Heritage Music BluesFest (a busy time for area hotels), and when we called for a pick up on Saturday night, Leo set a record for speed of service! He always greets his shuttle guests, and makes them feel as welcome in the van as we do in the hotel. The hotel is clean, inviting, and my husband and I cannot praise the staff highly enough. We will be back again and again and again!!!

Room Tip: Stayed there twice, both rooms wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Manager at Hampton Inn Wheeling, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for that review! "The Epitome of Customer Service" has a nice ring to it! That is high praise and we are honored and humbled by it. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and even more glad that you plan on visiting us again and again!
It was really nice of you to mention Jennifer and Leo by name, they will receive special recognition at our next team meeting. Thanks also for mentioning the shuttle, as you probably know, we are the only Wheeling hotel with shuttle service. It is just one more great opportunity to connect with our guests!
Once again, thanks for the review! I will see you soon for one of your many promised return visits! Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,037 - 1,043 of 1,254 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel may not look like much from the street, but open the doors and it's just amazing! Fresh, clean and friendly staff with amenities that are equal or better than 'high end" hotels! I love coming back every few months for business in this area JUST so I can have a bit of paradise in the middle of work. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Cari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Manager at Hampton Inn Wheeling, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

With great guests like you writing such nice reviews, we won't be a "secret paradise" for long! Seriously though, thanks for the wonderful review! I'm so glad you enjoyed everything!
It was also nice of you to mention the friendly service. We are really striving to offer a world class hospitality experience here and your comments make me feel that we are on the right track.
Once again, thanks for the review. I guess I will see you within the next month or two, when you come in for your dose of paradise! I will look forward to it! Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Of my many Hampton Inn stays - this was the best ever. Yea, it's in Wheeling, WV, downtown and well - it's Wheeling. When you arrive, there is ample parking, some of it even covered. We were on motorcycles and they directed us there. Close, safe and nice. Tuesday nights are a manager's welcome. Free grilled tilapa and grilled asparagus was delicious. It included Caesar salad, fruit, cheese & crackers, beer, wine and soft drinks. All served outside in a beautiful garden area. If free wasn't enough, it was one of the best meals I had on a 2 week cross country trip. And the pool / spa area - you have to see it. Cascading water in the indoor pool, a huge hot "pool", two eucalyptus steam rooms and a giant walk in shower. There is also an outside pool. It was spotless clean and we observed water testing while we were there. The manager and his wife were present all evening and the next morning, welcoming guests and making sure all needs were met. The Hampton Inn Wheeling is at a whole different level.

Oh yea - the rest of the hotel. Beds, rooms, hallways, dining area, noise levels, service - all excellent. I don't know why you would go to Wheeling, but if you do - stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ncroadtoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Manager at Hampton Inn Wheeling, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Wow! What a fantastic review! Thank you so much for those kind words! I'm so glad you enjoyed everything! It is always great to hear from experienced Hampton travellers like yourselves. It means so much that you compare us so favorably to other hotels in our brand.
I appreciate you mentioning the Manager's Reception. It was a nice stroke of luck that you stayed with us on a Monday. I will let our owner, and resident grillmaster, Bob know that you felt it was the best meal you had on the trip! He is very proud of his tilapia recipe!
Once again, thanks for the review! I hope you will visit us again soon! Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our way to the east coast. We booked last minute, so got one of the last available rooms...the night manager told me that they sell out six days a week! Unfortunately, we got a room on a smoking floor so the room had that odor of stale cig smoke...beggars can't be choosers I guess. The fitness room and pool/aquatic center is on the second floor and thus the hallway smelled of chlorine...advance notice for y'all.

The staff was very nice, breakfast was tasty, and can't complain of anything else.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Manager at Hampton Inn Wheeling, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thank you for that very nice review! I'm glad that, overall, you were satisfied with your experience at our hotel, but I am sorry that you did not get the room type that you usually like. I hope that next time you are passing through you are able to reserve a room in advance. I'm sure that by doing so, your experience with us will be a much more pleasant one.
Once again, thanks for the review. I hope we will be able to serve you again very soon! Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We highly recommend the Hampton Inn in Wheeling, WV for the location, accommodations and great staff. The hotel is conveniently located, has affordable prices, complimentary breakfast every morning including omelets, waffles, fresh fruit, etc. The staff is extremely accommodating, friendly and considerate. We would not stay anywhere else when we travel to Wheeling on our yearly summer vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Diane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Manager at Hampton Inn Wheeling, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Wow! Thanks for the great review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
You know, the thing that I enjoyed most about your review was how much you stressed the importance of service. That is our primary focus here at the Hampton Inn Wheeling. We are really striving to deliver a world class level of service. Thanks for the feedback and letting us know that we are on the right track!
Once again, thanks for the review! I'm so glad that we will continue to be a part of your family vacations for years to come! Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed there a few days in early August 2013. Warm, welcoming staff. Clean, tasteful, comfortable accommodations. Free van service to nearby restaurants, shopping. Lovely pool/spa center with both indoor and outdoor Jacuzzi. Convenient, easy to find location. Ask about the Monday BBQs!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Mary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Manager at Hampton Inn Wheeling, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thanks so much for that awesome review! I'm so glad that you enjoyed the hotel, and I appreciate you mentioning our complimentary shuttle service and Monday night Manager's Receptions. As you may, or may not, know we are the only Wheeling hotel that offers those amenities. I'm glad your visit happened to fall on a Monday!
Once again thanks for the review! I hope you will stay with us again soon! Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

very clean and efficient hotel with nice amenities. the grounds were well kept, the facility in good repair. Good service. Friendly and efficient staff. Good breakfast with plenty of good healthy choices. rooms were nice with comfortable beds. the bathrooms were clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Marian G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack P, Manager at Hampton Inn Wheeling, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for that wonderful review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay! Your feedback is very important to us and is very much appreciated.
I was especially pleased that you mentioned the cleanliness of the hotel. We have a super housekeeping team and they are very proud of their work. I will share your review with them at our next team meeting.
Once again, thanks for the review. I hope you will visit us again soon! Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
2.6 mi away
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Wheeling - The Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Wheeling Triadelphia at the Highlands
1.5 mi away
The McLure Hotel & Suites
5.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia Wheeling Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Wheeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Wheeling

Address: 795 National Rd, Wheeling, WV 26003-6544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wheeling
#1 Family Hotel in Wheeling
#1 Business Hotel in Wheeling
Price Range: $132 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Wheeling 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Wheeling is a one of a kind property, consistently rated as one of the top Hampton Inn's in the Country. Our hotel features: A beautiful outdoor teak garden with a fire pit, lush greenery and fountain. An indoor - outdoor Aquatic Center featuring an indoor pool with interactive features, steam showers, two hot tub spas and a splash deck with a tipping bucket tree. There is also a 600 square foot fitness center, our "On the House" hot breakfast bar that includes hot items and waffles daily, free high speed wireless internet and 102 newly renovated guestrooms featuring "Cloud 9" bedding and microfridges! All of this within two miles of both Oglebay Park and the Wheeling Island Casino! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Wheeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Wheeling Hotel Wheeling
Wheeling Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing