We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“There's hope, after all, for the Wheeling Inn.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Wheeling

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Knights Inn Wheeling
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Newburgh, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“There's hope, after all, for the Wheeling Inn.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

THERE'S HOPE for the Wheeling Inn.

I'm staying at the Wheeling Inn for a week. After reading the reviews, I was skeptical, but let's just say that its not as bad as I imaged it to be.

The Wheeling Inn is currently in the process of being renovated. It is to become a Knights Inn.

From what I can tell, the new owner is doing everything possible to make this place more welcoming, and has done a great job so far. I'll describe the developments that I noticed later, but first let me give you an idea of what the hotel is like.

There are several floors, with access via stairs and elevator. Rooms are accessed via an outdoor balcony that spans the perimeter of each floor, similar to a college apartment.

The rooms are small - about 12'x18' with a bathroom attached (12' x 5')

The rooms have a heady metal door with SIM card access and a glass window of about (6'x7'). A sliding curtain covers the window.

Rooms are equipped with:
1. A/C and Heater unit. Small, with adjustable settings. (A/C works great)
2. 3 lamps
3. a bed (Beds vary. (1) King or (2) queens are what I've seen so far.)
4. a nightstand
5. a small table and (2) chairs.
6. a wardrobe
7. mini-fridge
8. microwave
9. LCD television
10. Dressers
11. Mirror

Bath is equipped with:
1. Shower
2. Toilet
3. Sink

When I arrived yesterday, I was placed in a smoking room, likely because I had my dog with me. After smelling the room, I quickly returned to the desk, and they happily moved me to my choice of two other rooms. Awesome service on their part.

The room I am in seems like it's been cleaned. The carpet is worn, but I don't notice stains or any odd smells. The furniture is dated, but all still functional. Everything works.

The TV seems new (Samsung LCD, 30"?)

I inspected my bedding, and found that the mattress is used, but in good overall condition. The sheets are clean, minus a couple small stains on underside of the cover (it's been washed).

The bed and bedding is surprisingly comfortable. I never sleep well on the first night out, but I slept very well last night.

I've looked for bugs, but thankfully haven't found any.

Noise is my largest concern right now. There is a lot of construction going on in the building, and throughout the day (10 - 4). In the evening, I can hear my neighbor's TV, cars, and such, but it settled by 11pm and was quiet enough for me so sleep last night.

The room service does not replace bedding or towels unless asked. They straighten up the room when you're out (at about 11-12) and they seem to have dog a good job. I spoke with the one that cleaned my room, and she was nice to talk to. She showed a genuine interest in getting to know my dog, so as not to spook it when she returns tomorrow.

As far as the renovations, the elevator (which worked fine yesterday) was shut down today and is being either refurbished or replaced. Don't expect it to be back up for a few weeks.

The lobby was good when I came in yesterday, and by this morning, it looked pretty good! The hardwood floor shines, and the tile floor is clean.

As I sit here typing, I've seen workers go by countless times with mattresses and bed supports that they are replacing. Old ones come out, and others (used, but in good condition) come in.

The stairs on the west end of the building (leading to the riverfront walkway) are being renovated. They're patching the concrete steps today.

It really is shaping up. I'm excited to
see what it looks like when I return in November.

Room Tip: North rooms have abundant sunlight. South rooms look at another building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    4
    7
    27
See reviews for
8
8
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Wheeling has many Great Hotels - and is a Great Town - Do Not Stay At This Hotel - I love to come to Wheeling for vacation - shows and the many great events.

This hotel should be closed for unsafe and Very Dirty conditions. Maybe if enough people complain the City will take action and do what is right for the city and the vistors that come to this city.

DO NOT STAY HERE.

Room Tip: None at This Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We were late into town and got the last room, probably the worst room. Smoking. Poor linen, poor towels. Breakfast was coffee and juice and pretzels. However. the owner was very helpful, and said that one day he would renovate it to its former glory!

Wheeling is a poor shadow of a once grand town, So reminiscent of much of rural America. Industry left, and nothing else to do for work. The new shale oil miners come in from out of town. Locals not qualified and are not employed. So sad.

Room Tip: I dont think that there is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cubacubaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Had to stay here after everything else in Wheeling and Moundsville was booked. Nasty rooms and unsafe areas. Bathroom was a nightmare. It had stains on the floor that could be easily cleaned with bleach. Also found a dirty shirt laying in the bathroom floor. It's like house keeping totally skipped my room. Housekeeping should be fired. You would be better off driving to the next city.

I do have to say that the lady @ the desk was very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Keep driving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Index121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

This place is horrible! We were refered to this hell hole after all other hotels were booked. we thought paying 80 dollars a night..it would be at least halfway decent...WRONG!!!! It was the dirtiest nastiest. most unsanitary place i have ever been to! The room smelled the floors and carpeting were filthy! The halls and stairwells were utterly disgusting. The elevator was just as bad...we wouldnt even attempt to ride it. the lamps...the electrical outlets...all unsafe and definately a fire hazard. the place should be CONDEMNED! not to mention the customer service was horrific. the hotel staff (all two of them i seen) were rude and unpleasant! I would not reccommend this place to even my worst enemy! Just horrible!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sweetnae060979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorfville, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This is quite possible the most filthy, horrible, third world flop house dump of a hotel in America. This place is horrific. I wouldn't be surprised to find a dead body under the bed. I would literally sleep in my car rather than stay in this hell hole. This place is awful in every way. STAY AWAY!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
130 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

the worst place I stay during my trip from West cost to Est cost. The elevator was a trash can. The 3rd floor hallway was terrible (see the picture). The room was ok for me because I had no other choice but my wife would prefer sleep in the car. Terrible place but very nice people at front desk.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ErnestTito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
0.3 mi away
The McLure Hotel & Suites
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
5.0 of 5 stars 957 reviews
1.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia/wheeling
4.2 mi away
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
6.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia Wheeling Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Wheeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Wheeling

Property: Knights Inn Wheeling
Address: 949 Main St, Wheeling, WV 26003-2707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Wheeling 1.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wheeling Inn Hotel is a 5-story riverfront motor lodge hotel with exterior corridors. We offer outstanding amenities. The hotel is located nestled alongside the Wheeling Suspension Bridge, offering amazing night time views of the bridge and the Ohio River. The hotel is located in the heart of historic downtown Wheeling just a short 8/10th of a mile to Wheeling Island Casino and racetrack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Knights Inn Wheeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheeling Hotel Wheeling
Best Western Wheeling
Wheeling Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing