We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House of Horrors!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knights Inn Wheeling
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This is quite possible the most filthy, horrible, third world flop house dump of a hotel in America. This place is horrific. I wouldn't be surprised to find a dead body under the bed. I would literally sleep in my car rather than stay in this hell hole. This place is awful in every way. STAY AWAY!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Knights Inn Wheeling
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 46 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2011

the worst place I stay during my trip from West cost to Est cost. The elevator was a trash can. The 3rd floor hallway was terrible (see the picture). The room was ok for me because I had no other choice but my wife would prefer sleep in the car. Terrible place but very nice people at front desk.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ErnestTito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Looks like pictures I've seen from cities that were bombed.
Beer bottles and cigarettes all over the hallway.
AND there were not sheets on one of our beds.
Plus, it was not cheap!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
5  Thank 306traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Two words to begin with: Bed Bugs!
This place doesn't even deserve the one star rating. At first, from the front entrance to the elevator things seem to be ok (if you do not notice all the trash and junk cluttered behind the glass of the first floor space). While in the elevator, we had to stop on the second floor for another person who rode with us to exit the elevator. First thing that jumped to my attention there was the filthiest floor carpet i've ever seen anywhere... I thought it might get better on our 4th floor. When the elevator got there, it made such a jump and wobble that i really got worried about it going down. The carpets outside the elevator on that floor did not prove to be any better than on the second.
Once i made the way to the room (it's a motel type of setting with room access from the shared balcony) the stuffy, slightly smelly and allegedly non-smoking room was a bit dirty and disappointing. Dead carcasses of different bugs that someone had killed before were still clinging to the ceilings and the walls. There was electrical outlet uner the table that looked to be make-shift and absolutely unsafe (with the hole in the floor visible and the wires coming out of the electrical box). Oh, and the iron in our room was missing the plug (as in only wires sticking out of it).
Once i took the bed spread off the bed i noticed yellowish stains on the bed sheets. After separating the sheets to check out the one on the bottom - i spotted tiny crawler... - It was a bed bug! After demolishing the bug between the key-cards, i gathered up my bag and went downstairs to take all my stuff to the car (not interested in bringing any bugs home with me) and to complain to the clerk downstairs.
The Lady at the front desk seemed to get really concerned with what she was told and offered to check on the issue and at the very least to get new sheets (like that would solve the problem). After she called the maid (to no avail) she decided to look for clean linens herself and came up empty handed, but saying she'll take care of the problem.
I had to leave to meet my friends elsewhere and stayed out quite late. When i came back (tried braving the elevator for the last time - all other times after that i used the stairs) i noticed that the bed was freshly made, but after peeling back the bed-spread noticed the familiar yellow stains i noticed earlier in the same spots. Needless to say i did not end up even sleeping here and went to spend the rest fo the night at the casino with friends.
Oh, yeah - and if you do decide to check the place out for yourselves - notice the trailer parked semi-permanently in the parking lot with the "TOXIC" HazMat placards on it. - Not even kidding. And notice all the trash you can see from the balcony on the roof of whatever it is on the first floor of the building.
Bottom line - it was the WORST hotel/motel experience ever - even when compared to a Russian college dorm. Enter at your own risk and even then - try not to take the elevator.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay here!!! Owners should be arrested for the conditions they keep this place in.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Mr_1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This hotel is so GROSS!!!! words can not even explain it. the room is dirty, bathrooms have not been cleaned ever i think. The rooms smelled horrible. We came in to town for one night and there was some event going on and all the other hotels were booked so we ended up here. The elevator was broke. It had a sign that said "only 2 ppl int he elevatir at the time if more people ho in it will break, you will be stuck. mangement is not resp!" I mean really?!?!?!?!?! We went to the casino and came back to the room around 1 am. Our smoke detector was going off. We called the front desk and they said some would be up. After 6 phone calls no one came up and my husband went to the front desk and we had to move to a diffrent room a 3 am!!!! REALLY!??!!??! The next room was just as bad. the bed spread was dirty and had born holes and stains all over it. We didnt even shower in either one of the bathrooms because the tub was scary. There def. were some questionable ppl around the area. So we didn't sleep well. We were up and out of the room at 7 am. We paid 100 dollars. I would have slept better in my car and not wasted 100 dollars. This palce isnt worth 10 dollars. Beware this hotel is the WORST place ever. Dont stay here!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kristen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We paid a litle over $100 for one night, for three adults. There was a big event in the area, so rooms were scarce and we decided to take a chance. Big mistake! The room was FILTHY- we didn't take showers because it was so bad, and didn't walk around barefoot because the carpet was sticky in some spots. And, there was a crack in the ceiling over one of the beds that leaked.

The "continental breakfast" consisted of a family size box of Frosted Flakes, a gallon of milk sitting out with no ice or refrigeration, and plastic bowls. When we complained about the lack of cleanliness, the desk clerk told us they don't usually rent out those rooms!

Horrible.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Jshillingford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

If you are looking for a 5 star resort this isn't it but if you want a clean non chain hotel close to plenty of history this is your place. Our family of 6 stayed in 2 rooms on the third floor and were quite happy with our stay. The outside of the building needs paint but our rooms were freshly painted and very clean and quiet. I didn't care for the flat sheet used as the fitted sheet (maybe I'm a violent sleeper but I just get tangled up) but the tv remote worked (an oddity for a hotel room) and there was plenty of hot water and great water pressure in the bathroom. The staff was also exceedingly helpful. The hotel is right on the edge of the beginning of National Road and the Victorian section of Wheeling. The view of the bridge at night is amazing!

Room Tip: Ask for 311
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
0.3 mi away
The McLure Hotel & Suites
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
1,220 reviews
1.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
8.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#7 of 8 in Triadelphia
91 reviews
6.1 mi away
Days Inn St Clairsville
Days Inn St Clairsville
#5 of 15 in Saint Clairsville
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Wheeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Wheeling

Address: 949 Main St, Wheeling, WV 26003-2707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Price Range: $70 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Wheeling 1.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wheeling Inn Hotel is a 5-story riverfront motor lodge hotel with exterior corridors. We offer outstanding amenities. The hotel is located nestled alongside the Wheeling Suspension Bridge, offering amazing night time views of the bridge and the Ohio River. The hotel is located in the heart of historic downtown Wheeling just a short 8/10th of a mile to Wheeling Island Casino and racetrack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Knights Inn Wheeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheeling Hotel Wheeling
Best Western Wheeling
Wheeling Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing