We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cabin in the Shenandoah Mountain area...”
other travelers have booked this property
front door to the open covered front porch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front door to the open covered front porch
side door where you enter. gas fireplace in living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
front door to the open covered front porch
side door where you enter.
gas fireplace in living room
reclining sofa
furnished kitchen with amish dining set
complete bath with washer and dryer
queen log bed in 1 bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Upper Tract, West Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
teresgrf
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Wonderful cabin in the Shenandoah Mountain area of West Virginia”
Reviewed July 7, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

A great place to get away from all the stress and unwind in the midst of awesome scenery which only West Virginia can provide. The cabin has everything you could want - a fully equipped kitchen, air conditioning (yea in 90 degree summer weather!), WiFi and a fabulous back porch with eating area, rocking chairs and a breathtaking view. Fifteen minutes away is Franklin where you can stock up on provisions and eat at local restaurants if you're not into cooking. Rhona was very helpful with all my questions and directions for this city girl. The cabin is immaculately clean and maintained and beautifully decorated. Definitely worth those few extra miles to get away from the chaos and crowds!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2018
I am so happy you found my cabin a nice place to relax and enjoyed the porch with a great view. We are very proud of our cabin since we did build it ourselves and make it like home away from home for our vacationers. Thanks for the review and hope you can come back another time.
Rhona and Hap
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigdaddyc...
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome place to watch the world go by”
Reviewed January 31, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

When we arrived the cabin was warm and cozy, it was snowing and low 20's. It is a cute cabin, the bear décor fit perfectly. everything is just as pictured in the listing, however it does not do justice to the actual look and feel. It is by far a great place to get away from the hustle and stress of work and everything. Sitting on the couch and watching the sun come up in the huge window is incredible.
The Hosts Rhona and her husband are great to stay in touch and answered any questions we had. I have to say that I can not thank them enough for helping us out one morning. We forgot syrup for breakfast. I reached out and within minutes a gentleman knocked on the door with a jug of syrup.. You cant get any better than that. We were going to build a fire in the pit outside and ended up just curling up in a blanket on the porch and watched it snow..
Life is Good there!
We plan to go back when the weather is warmer and do some hiking and canoeing in the area.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 2, 2018
Thank you Fred for taking your time to post a wonderful review for us. It was our pleasure that we were able to assist you with the syrup. So happy you found our cabin cozy and beautifully decorated in the bear theme. I take pride in my cabin and hope all vacationers can enjoy it as much as you did. You are welcome back and hope you will get to see some beautiful areas here in warmer weather.

Rhona and Hap
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global739...
1 review
“Warm, Cozy Cabin”
Reviewed December 11, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We stayed in the cabin for a few days and absolutely loved it. Every detail was thought of - couldn't ask for more. We just loved the decor and felt so at home. The cabin was impeccably clean! This was the perfect home away from home. While there we toured Smokehole Caverns, took a drive to Snowshoe Resort and checked out Blackwater Falls. I have to say, one of my favorite drives was out Smokehole Road as suggested by Hap - it was so beautiful- well worth the extra few minutes. Should we find ourselves back in this neck of the woods, we will definitely book here again! We enjoyed every minute!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 14, 2017
We are so happy to know you enjoyed our cabin and found it just like home away from home. As you stated the drive through the Smoke Hole is a beautiful canyon and we always tell people that is a must drive to see the beauty of nature here. I am glad you enjoyed Black water Falls and Snowshoe resort as well. Hope you may return and tell family and friends of your wonderful stay here at our cabin.

Thanks
Rhona and Hap
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2017
David, Thank you for taking time to post a review. Glad to hear you enjoyed relaxing at our cabin before and after your motorcycle riding in our beautiful WV mountains. Welcome back!!!!

Rhona and Hap
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Janice E
1 review
“The Perfect Bears Den!”
Reviewed July 2, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This cute cabin is close to fishing spots, the area caverns and is easy to find. The cabin is great with everything that you could need including a crockpot, casserole dishes, roasting pan and any utensil you could possibly need. The owners, Rhona and Hap thought of everything. The cabin is spotless and the decorating is perfect. We wanted to take it home with us. We will be back.
Dave and Jan

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2017
Thank you Jan and Dave for a nice review for us. I am so happy to know you enjoyed our Potomac Overlook cabin. We do the best to keep our cabin where everyone can enjoy it as much as you did. Hope you may return for another Perfect Bears Den stay.

Rhona and Hap
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awmommy
Charles Town, West Virginia
1 review
“Highly recommend staying here”
Reviewed June 21, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This cabin was extremely clean and we felt very welcomed staying here. The views are amazing. It's a perfect place to stay for a quiet getaway. My family and I will definitely be back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2017
Thank You for taking time to post a wonderful review for our log cabin. So happy that you and your family enjoyed staying here and hope you may return .

Rhona and Hap
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHARLES R
1 review
“Cabin”
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Very nice place to stay very well equipped we didn't need anything but our clothes and food everything else was provided very clean hap and rhona does an excellent job

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2017
So happy to know you enjoyed and found everything you needed for your stay. Hope you may return.

Thanks
Rhona and Hap
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing