We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical place, cozy and luxurious at the same time!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sutton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cafe Cimino Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Sutton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A magical place, cozy and luxurious at the same time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

We adored our 3 day 2 night stay at Cafe Cimino Country Inn last summer. It was an amazing place to relax and vacation with our dog in their dog friendly room (a luxury in and of itself!). The staff was friendly, warm and welcoming. We enjoyed delicious seasonal meals that were lovingly prepared with locally grown produce (baked fresh bread, vegetables from local organic gardens) in the beautiful main building's restaurant.
I would highly recommend this splendorous gem!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lulabella_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melody u, Owner at Cafe Cimino Country Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hello dear traveler! Just wanted to drop you a note to say (rather belately) thank you for your lovely review of our Inn! It is people like you that bring us more wonderful guests, and for that we are grateful and wanted to invite you back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
82
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alum Creek, WV
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

My wife has eaten at Cafe Cimino several times this year during on-site business meetings and, based on her recommendation, we decided to stay the night before our anniversary. It turned out to be the perfect choice for us. We checked in around 3:30 and went site seeing at the nearby Sutton Dam. We had dinner at 6pm and it was one of the best meals we have had, comparing very well with the food at the Greenbrier. The brushetta with herbed olive oil was a great start, the house salad was very fresh and tender with locally picked spinach, and the spaghetti and stuffed pepper were savory and delicious. Melody helped us select an appropriate wine and Maggie showed us her new toy. Even while putting together our meal, Chef Tim had time to visit us with more fresh bread and conversation. The Julia room was very nice, clean, and well furnished, and the white robes and slippers worked into our anniversary celebrations quite nicely.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rslegge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cafecimino, Owner at Cafe Cimino Country Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2010
hello & thank you for your review! you two were such fun...and because you know and love good, fresh, local, organically grown food and romantic atmosphere, you were especially enjoyable for Chef Tim and I to serve. Come see us again soon! Melody, your hostess/innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

From the moment we saw this beautiful turn of the century home and walked in we were in awe of the graceful elegance. We were very pleased with all the staff; they all seem like family. The owners Tim & Melody Urbanic are doing a wonderful job there and treat everyone they meet like family; in some cases maybe better. Dave had steak, I tried the amazing little dumplings, yum. I couldn't begin to name all the food we ate; it seems to just keep coming - The breads and pastries are baked there. I loved the ambiance the beautifiully decorated rooms where you feel so special and pampered- you can't help but feel you are in the presence of something wonderful when you dine and sleep and eat eat eat at the Cafe Cimino County Inn (a hidden treasure) - be sure to find your treasure there, you will love it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavnJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cafecimino, Owner at Cafe Cimino Country Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2010
Dear Roanoke Guests! Thank you for your compliments. People like you make it easy for us to shine...you come with a great, open attitude and want to have a great meal and overnight stay, and that's just what you have! Imagine that! We loved your visit and can't wait to see you again! thank you for sharing your experience at Cafe Cimino Country Inn! Melody, your hostess and innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Grove, WV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

Though a 90 minute drive for us, my husband and I love to visit Cafe Cimino B&B and restaurant as often as we can and especially for our special events. On my birthday we were greeted by several friendly staff members at our vehicle, We were escorted in, our bags carried, taken to our elegant, yet comfortable room where champagne was quickly brought to us. A birthday card was on a bedside table. Robes, slippers, claw foot tub, bubble bath for a later long soak, fresh flowers everywere. Beautiful well groomed scenery from our windows. After a nap and some leisurely reading, we went downstairs to dinner served in comfortable elegance. Frequently, live music is provided as soft background ambiance. From the appetizer variety plate to the dessert with a Happy Birthday greeting, candle and singing by the staff, the food was excellent.
Dinner is served in several courses and stretches over a couple of hours so that it is truly a dining extravaganza! A surpirse for me was a full body massage before an open roaring fireplace which is an extra amenity offered by Cafe Cimino Country Inn. I tip my hat to Chef Tim and Melody, the inn owners and all the staff who are dedicated to making your stay memorable! Can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeachCedarGrove_WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cafecimino, Owner at Cafe Cimino Country Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2010
Hello you "romantic lovebirds!" All of our staff look forward to your special occasion visits here at the Inn. You are both so "loveable" and appreciative of what we are trying to create here...I think you "get us!" We thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers and can't wait to see you again! Cheers! Melody, your hostess and innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed at Cafe Cimino Country Inn, Maggie May Room recently on a trip from KY. We looked forward to the stay and were willing to pay a bit more than the average B&B, based on the reviews we read on Trip Advisor. For a bed and breakfast we felt this place was definitely overpriced at more than $150 per night with tax. The room was small and more like a cabin than a room with knotty pine ceiling and extremely dark paint on the walls. The rug was not clean and the tub floor needed soft scrub or something to get the dirty stains off the surface. The TV in the room was no more than 12-13" and you needed binoculars to see it from the bed. In addition, something was wrong with the TV speakers. Sound proofing was non-existent so we heard every sound the people above us made. Free Wifi was offered but we were unable to connect. On the positive side, the private balcony was nice, the bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was extremely well done in the main building where they house an upscale restaurant. Upscale dinner is offered in the restaurant but we did not eat there. The innkeeper was very friendly as was their darling golden retriever who shared the room with us at breakfast. All in all, we would rate this place only fair especially for the price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelgirl2082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cafecimino, Owner at Cafe Cimino Country Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2010
This review left us feeling very hurt and confused. We are a small family owned and operated country inn that strives to offer a pleasant experience to our guests. We pride ourselves in working to make our clientele happy during their stay. While we are not perfect, we do “bend over backwards” to correct anything that needs correcting; to satisfy our guests. But we need to know. If we had known this traveler was not satisfied, wanted another room, another TV, or anything, we would have made that happen. We were never even given the slightest hint that there was something that needed fixing.

Please, dear travelers, if you are not satisfied with accommodations, in any way, at least voice it to the owners/managers to allow them the opportunity to try to make it right. Isn’t that only fair? Just think if the situation were reversed. Wouldn’t you want the chance to make a situation better? I’m sure you will find that 90% of the time, your hosts will do whatever they can to make you happy. If your requests go unattended to, of course you can then legitimately complain.

What hurts and confuses us about this review is that this person made the choice to not tell us of any problems at the time of their stay; while we had the opportunity to make it a better one. So, in turn, their stay was less than what it could have been; they felt dissatisfied while they were here. Then, they made another choice to be a “critic” later, with a list of things that they were unhappy with. So, in turn, we, the inn-keepers, are left feeling unhappy after their stay because we only learned of their dissatisfaction “after the fact”. They felt dissatisfied while they were here-we feel dissatisfied after they were here. All parties experienced a “lose-lose” when we all could have had the chance at a “win-win” with a little communication right there on the spot.

Inn-keeping is a very real, hands-on, face to face labor of love. Our family and our staff are so proud of what we do here and are used to our guests being “real” with us; letting us know what they want and what they need, making it challenging and fun to make them happy. We only need to be given the chance to make things right while you are here. It is very important to us to know what we can do to make your stay comfortable and satisfactory.

Please choose the path that leaves everyone feeling good about your stay rather than the path that leaves both parties feeling bad. Win-Win is way better than Lose-Lose, don’t you think? We appreciate your wanting a great experience because we want you to have a great experience too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

Stayed here for a night to get some relaxation on a road trip. The town is charming and quaint. The inn has a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. There are not enough words to describe the cuisine - fantastic, excellent - don't do it justice. I had dinner at the restaurant the first night and breakfast the next morning. It was some of the best food I have ever eaten. This was the perfect place for me to have some down time on my travels. The room was quiet, cozy, and nicely decorated. The only improvement I would make to the room would be replacing the well worn carpeting. I will definitely stay here again if I travel this same route.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s0h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cafecimino, Owner at Cafe Cimino Country Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2010
Hey traveler! thanks for your review...I just figured out that we can respond to our wonderful guests! Sorry it has taken me so long! Wow, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and enjoy our cuisine...you are exactly the person we want to come and stay! We will keep our food as fresh, as local, as "real" as we can just for folks like you, who understand the difference! p.s. we have replaced our "worn" carpeting in the carriage house (we inherited that and it's been on the list ; now it's done!) The new floor is beautiful oak hardwood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2009

We stopped for dinner on our way north on I-79. We had stopped years before at their old location. Glad we made reservations because they were very busy. The owners, Tim and Melody Urbanic, if not at the door, greet you during the meal. I had a salad that was one of the specials that evening with eggplant and olives, my husband had the Caesar, both exceeded our expectations. I love pasta and was not disappointed with the Sun Dried Tomatoes, Feta, Garlic, Pine Nuts & Fresh Basil tossed with pasta, while my husband enjoyed his N. Y. Strip Steak. Don't skip the desserts. We shared a chocolate Tort, amazing; and Creme Brulee.
They had a wonderful musician with an amazing voice.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathyinwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cafecimino, Owner at Cafe Cimino Country Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2010
Hello there WV girl! Thank you so much for this "foodie" review. I would have responded sooner, but just recently learned that I could, so "Thank you" from the Chefs and from me, Melody! It looks like you're due for another visit, eh? I must tell you that Chef Tim is making this incredible new pasta (at least for him) that his family in Italy taught him to make a few weeks ago;he spent a 2 week foodie/farm to table/agritourism trip ti Italy and came back with this "cavetelli" pasta recipe. So, come up and make sure you let me know you are here, so I can give you a hug! We also now have added spa services and MountainMade is now all throughout the Main House...so you can do a little spa therapy, retail therapy and culinary therapy:) Thanks again! Melody, your innkeeper and hostess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton
2.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gassaway/Sutton
3.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sutton Flatwoods
22.9 mi away
Stonewall Resort
Stonewall Resort
#1 of 1 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cafe Cimino Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe Cimino Country Inn

Property: Cafe Cimino Country Inn
Address: 616 Main St, Sutton, WV 26601-1319
Location: United States > West Virginia > Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sutton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cafe Cimino Country Inn is a full scale, full service Inn with 10 guest rooms, an award winning gourmet restaurant, a riverside cafe and bar on week-ends, outside dining, ample grounds with 500 feet of uninterrupted river access (river is a kayak and canoe, fishing and swimming-friendly river). Guests enjoy the peaceful setting of this up-scale country inn; whether for a romantic getaway, a business retreat, or just for dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cafe Cimino Country Hotel Sutton
Sutton Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing