We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop on a whim, make the drive, but GO!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sutton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cafe Cimino Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Sutton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stop on a whim, make the drive, but GO!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Cafe Cimino is like a home away from home for us and most visitors. I think that Tim and Melodie, the proprietors, know half of WV and the region. Every guest is treated a long lost friend coming home to share their stories and travels since the last time back.
We have stayed in several of the rooms, and I have visited each one. The rooms are so comfortable, and every necessity has been considered and provided. One room features a large outdoor balcony and another one has a large clawfoot bathtub, and I always have a hard time choosing.
The food, both for dinner and breakfast, is worth every penny and every second of the drive. I can't say enough about the menu choices, and anything with gorgonzola sauce is amazing. Don't miss the antipasto appetizer -- it is especially good if you order it and take it to your room and sit on the balcony with a bottle of wine and watch the river flow by.
Retire to the downstairs bar after dinner for a nightcap! There is always something entertaining going on.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NjoyNLifeandLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melody u, Owner at Cafe Cimino Country Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear traveler and "friend of Cimino's", Thank you so much for your glowing review :) We are just so happy that you like us enough to keep returning and enjoying what we have to offer...we just designed the Inn to do for others what Chef Tim and I like to experience on our travels! It's really as simple as that---and I'm glad you and others appreciate that. If the food, service and atmosphere is good, then our guests' stay will be good; and that makes us happy!

I'm also happy that you enjoy the outdoor terraces, balconies and porches that our guest rooms have. All but two guest rooms offer a nice outdoor space to enjoy the scenery, the river, stars and the occassional glass of wine. The weather's about to get nice and warm again, so please plan your next visit with us (or just drop by "on a whim"!) and we can serve you your gourmet fare out on the veranda or down by the river :)
thanks again for sharing your review with Trip Advisor...you will, no doubt, bring us more folks who "njoy life" the way you do!!!
Cheers, Melody
(p.s. we will have to swap travel stories when you visit next!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
82
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a great weekend! first off they allowed my dog to come which is a special in itself. We stayed in Maggie Mae room which was so cozy and nice with a wonderful private deck that overlooks the Elk River (what a view!) and they even had a doggie gift basket for our pet on arrival!!! no other place we have stayed has been so pet friendly! Now the food - I Loved it! better than the Greenbrier for sure! I won't go too much on about the food bc you can see all of the amazing post about the food from others and I do agree with them all!
Now the staff- so friendly and accomidating! they will literally do anything for you! I actually saw one chopping wood b/c someone mentioned that they wanted to sit outside near the fire pit! He could have easily said no , but he set it up for them! wow! The staff has been there since the opening with little turn over- you can tell they really love their job!
In conclusion this is a great place all around esp for the price! I have been to the Greenbrier multiple times and I agree this place is cheaper and just as wonderful! My husband and I are in our 30s - we loved coming here and felt that more young adults from charleston, wv should visit this place. This is a boutique hotel without the boutique prices! Also to add the inn keepers are fantastic and truly love their guests! Thank you all for the wonderful weekend and Clementine says thank you too!

Room Tip: I recommend the carriage house - a little more private :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorHendricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melody u, Owner at Cafe Cimino Country Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hey there! What fun you two were:) The staff are so proud and happy about your review of your two day getaway with us here at the Inn (as Chef Tim and I are, as well). But, I must say, you came ready to enjoy everything we had to offer and went out and enjoyed the walk to the dam. into the community, to our little art gallery, etc...thanks so much for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor world community! We can only hope that you come back soon and that your review "attracts" other young prefessionals just like you! Clementine can tell her doggie friends how cool her little getaway was, too :) thanks again! Melody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
154 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way home from a family visit. The staff made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived--greeting us on the front porch. Our room upstairs was large, clean and very comfortable. I'm always grateful for Victorian-era homes that are elegantly decorated rather than drenched in doilies and knick-knacks. The dinner was superb! Wish we lived closer so we could be regulars. We lingered over wine by the fireplace. How great to then just walk upstairs after a wonderful meal. It was too cold for us to enjoy the seating by the river, but looks like it would be great in warm weather.

Room Tip: All of the rooms upstairs are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShowMeSomething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melody u, Owner at Cafe Cimino Country Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Wow! Thank you for your review of our little Inn :) We are working at trying to better reach the Washington, D.C. area; mainly because the guests that have dined and stayed with us from that area seem to just really appreciate what we do here! If you can share any marketing ideas we can employ in the DC area, they'd be much appreciated; however, it appears that Trip Advisor is "king" for getting the word out! It is amazing to us that our little family business in central WV has the national and international clientele that we do; I guess that if you do what you love, people feel and taste that...and it attracts more and more saavy travelers :) And, since I do all of the decor in the Inn, I really appreciate that you also like a "more streamlined/practicle" bedroom decor, too :) I especially want the "guys' to not feel like a "bull in a china shop"---like they can't move around freely or touch anything. Thanks for mentioning that! Come back and see us soon, when the weather gets warmer, and you can sit down at the riverside bar and watch the river flow by and dine on the veranda at the main house :) thanks again! Melody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
486 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had eaten here on a couple of occasions at the former restaurant location, but this was our first time in the new B&B. We reserved for dinner Valentine's Day 2012 and planned to stay overnite. The atmosphere is warm and cozy, particularly welcome on that cold night. We enjoyed our drinks during our short wait for our table; one of the few drawbacks of the Cafe is that they use their floor space intensively for diners, so there is not much of a waiting area. Dinner was unhurried, excellent service and food quality. Our only complaint was that there was a very loud large party seated near us; a better arrangement might be to have two top tables for couples' intimate dinners in one area, and larger tables for bigger, rowdier parties in another, but I suppose the space constraints here make this difficult.

The B&B has a few cottages in addition to the rooms upstairs. We stayed in one of the upstairs rooms. The room was small, as would be expected in a B&B, bed was large and comfortable, and everything was clean.

Breakfast the following morning was tasty if uninspired.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melody u, Owner at Cafe Cimino Country Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hello and thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at the Inn! We appreciate our "Charleston Area Clientele" so very much as you guys represent probably over 70% of our overnight and dinner guests! That's pretty amazing to us, and we are thankful for our "hour away" guests. Next time you come up, make sure to ask for the roomiest of the guest rooms; we actually have two larger rooms in the Main House (the Annabella and the Lucia), and the Emma Rae is a little more spacious, as well. You are right about us having to work with the space that the Main House offers. We are so grateful for the shape that the 1989 home is in, with the original wood, mantles and stained glass and tile work, that the bedrooms being a little cozier than a traditional hotel is something we can live with. Thank you for noting that. And, our dining room, on major "dining out" holidays can get pretty "cozy" as well. Sorry that you were seated by a larger, more gregarious party. We no doubt, had more "couples" than "couples tables" and you might have been seated in a dining room with the larger parties. Just know that next time you come, if you will remind us that you want an intimate "spot" , we will do our best to make sure you are seated where you would be most comfortable. Thank you again for coming to dine and stay with us and supporting a small wv family business survive and thrive for 14 years now (Valentines day was Cafe Cimino's 14th Birthday!) Come see us again soon...with the weather getting warmer now, you'll have to come dine al fresco :) Cheers, Melody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We frequent Cafe Cimino because it's wonderful. We've stayed in a different room or suite each time. The staff, food and accomodations are first class. We only live an hour away, but it's like you're in a different world. You have to try it!

Room Tip: Each room is unique. Would recommend the suites if you have any mobility issues. Some have a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CandJ100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melody u, Owner at Cafe Cimino Country Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear friends and guests! Thank you for your review of your stay(s) with us here at Cafe Cimino Country Inn. I appreciate that you "hop around" and try out different guest rooms; that's neat! And thanks for mentioning the Julia and the Irma Louise suites for those who do not or cannot do stairs very well. The Julia Room is actually ADA friendly; it has very wide doorways, a nice bathroom to accommodate a person with mobility issues (even a pull down shower seat and directional shower attachment). We can even install our wooden ramp to eliminate the one step up into the guest room, if needed. So, thanks for sharing with our readers and future guests about this room. We appreciate that you feel like you are "miles away for the familiar" even though you only drive an hour to stay and dine with us! Thanks again..we look forward to serving you again soon! Melody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I went to Cafe Cimino for our anniversary on June 29, 2012. While in our room preparing for dinner the lights flickered several times. When we went downstairs, we noticed a terrific storm blowing. The whole town of Sutton, along with most of West Virginia, had lost power due to the derecho. Cafe Cimino? Generators up, dinner, music, after dinner drinks - perfect! Not a beat was skipped, no other light flickers, and dinner was exceptional. Even in the midst of a storm, the service was, as always, perfect!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cassie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melody u, Owner at Cafe Cimino Country Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hi there! Just wanted to not only thank you for your kind words about your food and lodging here at the Inn, but a big "thank you" for noticing that our "super cool giant generator" makes it possible for our guests to still enjoy their getaway here- regardless of a derecho!!! What fun that is to keep providing services and amenities to you during community and statewide blackouts and be a "calm in the middle of a storm". You guys were a lot of fun; I still remember that day! Anyway, here's to no more of those freak power outages, but, just in case, we will keep on providing the Cafe Cimino experience to you, thanks to Chef Tim's wise decision to make the generator a "part of the family" here at the Inn :) Cheers, and come back and see us soon! Melody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison,wv
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very attentive and personal. Excellent room, meal, and service. Met at the sidewalk, called us by name without introductions. Room very nice. Great dinner. No rush, waitress timing was excellent. Beautiful walk to Sutton Dam, just a short distance from rooms. Jovial atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pginmadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melody u, Owner at Cafe Cimino Country Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hello there! Thank you so much for sharing your "Birthday Getaway" experience with us here at the Inn! We loved getting to "pamper you" just a little for your special day. Glad you enjoyed our food, service and atmosphere; guess that's what it's really all about, isn't it? We think that good food, good personable service from people who genuinely like people, and an elegant, but still comfortable atmosphere, is just the ticket; and people like you are our "target market" because you like the same things! It's a win-win :) Thanks again for your review and come back and see us soon...the weather should be warm enough very soon to enjoy our outdoor dining and relaxin' venues. Cheers, Melody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton
2.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gassaway/Sutton
3.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sutton Flatwoods
22.9 mi away
Stonewall Resort
Stonewall Resort
#1 of 1 in Roanoke
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cafe Cimino Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe Cimino Country Inn

Property: Cafe Cimino Country Inn
Address: 616 Main St, Sutton, WV 26601-1319
Location: United States > West Virginia > Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sutton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cafe Cimino Country Inn is a full scale, full service Inn with 10 guest rooms, an award winning gourmet restaurant, a riverside cafe and bar on week-ends, outside dining, ample grounds with 500 feet of uninterrupted river access (river is a kayak and canoe, fishing and swimming-friendly river). Guests enjoy the peaceful setting of this up-scale country inn; whether for a romantic getaway, a business retreat, or just for dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cafe Cimino Country Hotel Sutton
Sutton Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing