We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cafe Cimino Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Sutton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We frequent Cafe Cimino because it's wonderful. We've stayed in a different room or suite each time. The staff, food and accomodations are first class. We only live an hour away, but it's like you're in a different world. You have to try it!

Room Tip: Each room is unique. Would recommend the suites if you have any mobility issues. Some have a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CandJ100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melody u, Owner at Cafe Cimino Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear friends and guests! Thank you for your review of your stay(s) with us here at Cafe Cimino Country Inn. I appreciate that you "hop around" and try out different guest rooms; that's neat! And thanks for mentioning the Julia and the Irma Louise suites for those who do not or cannot do stairs very well. The Julia Room is actually ADA friendly; it has very wide doorways, a nice bathroom to accommodate a person with mobility issues (even a pull down shower seat and directional shower attachment). We can even install our wooden ramp to eliminate the one step up into the guest room, if needed. So, thanks for sharing with our readers and future guests about this room. We appreciate that you feel like you are "miles away for the familiar" even though you only drive an hour to stay and dine with us! Thanks again..we look forward to serving you again soon! Melody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 140 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I went to Cafe Cimino for our anniversary on June 29, 2012. While in our room preparing for dinner the lights flickered several times. When we went downstairs, we noticed a terrific storm blowing. The whole town of Sutton, along with most of West Virginia, had lost power due to the derecho. Cafe Cimino? Generators up, dinner, music, after dinner drinks - perfect! Not a beat was skipped, no other light flickers, and dinner was exceptional. Even in the midst of a storm, the service was, as always, perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cassie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melody u, Owner at Cafe Cimino Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Hi there! Just wanted to not only thank you for your kind words about your food and lodging here at the Inn, but a big "thank you" for noticing that our "super cool giant generator" makes it possible for our guests to still enjoy their getaway here- regardless of a derecho!!! What fun that is to keep providing services and amenities to you during community and statewide blackouts and be a "calm in the middle of a storm". You guys were a lot of fun; I still remember that day! Anyway, here's to no more of those freak power outages, but, just in case, we will keep on providing the Cafe Cimino experience to you, thanks to Chef Tim's wise decision to make the generator a "part of the family" here at the Inn :) Cheers, and come back and see us soon! Melody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very attentive and personal. Excellent room, meal, and service. Met at the sidewalk, called us by name without introductions. Room very nice. Great dinner. No rush, waitress timing was excellent. Beautiful walk to Sutton Dam, just a short distance from rooms. Jovial atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pginmadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melody u, Owner at Cafe Cimino Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Hello there! Thank you so much for sharing your "Birthday Getaway" experience with us here at the Inn! We loved getting to "pamper you" just a little for your special day. Glad you enjoyed our food, service and atmosphere; guess that's what it's really all about, isn't it? We think that good food, good personable service from people who genuinely like people, and an elegant, but still comfortable atmosphere, is just the ticket; and people like you are our "target market" because you like the same things! It's a win-win :) Thanks again for your review and come back and see us soon...the weather should be warm enough very soon to enjoy our outdoor dining and relaxin' venues. Cheers, Melody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I think Cafe Cimino is so beautiful and really nice. All of the rooms are so pretty, and a breath of fresh air. The grounds are so nice and the weddings there are always gorgeous and have amazing pictures. Tapas Tuesday's are my favorite. It's the perfect opportunity to get together with friends and sit on the bar patio, the river flowing below is so calming and it smells nice there too. Sometimes in the summer, rivers get this off-smell, and it doesn't smell like that at all. The music they have is great too. The restaurant itself is nothing short of wonderful, I even saw Chef Tim on the travel channel one day and his wife Melody is such a gracious host. They give complementary aperitifs, bread with oil, and a "gift from the chef" with the meals that are fantastic. I could go on and on about what I like, but I think it would be good to leave it to people who visit to discover how nice it is. It's perfect for couples, friends getaways, and people who are just looking to relax/explore by themselves :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydneycheyenne12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melody u, Owner at Cafe Cimino Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Hello there, Charleston area guest !!! Sorry it has taken me so long to respond to and thank you for your review of our family Inn! We just love our Charleston area Cafe Cimino friends; do you know that, even in the B&B, you guys make up our largest client base? I mean, really a big percentage of our overnight and dinner and special event guests are you guys....so "thank you!" for making us "one of Charleston's favorite places"! You just have to drive an hour to get to us, right? Glad you like the Tapas Tuesday down by the River and I know what you mean about how fresh and clean it is; having grown up on the Kanawha River (a very long time ago), it makes me happy that our Inn is on a river. And, you were very perceptive about the cleanliness, as the Elk River, here at the Headwaters, is the cleanest river in the whole state of WV. Pretty soon (April-October) we will see trout and bass fishermen/women, kayaks and canoes all along the bank, which makes for an even more scenic setting to sip a glass of wine or cold beer before dinner. Thanks again for showing your appreciation for what we do here. It is definitely a family labor of love :) Come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

When we arrived we were greeted on the sidewalk with an offer for help with our bags. We were escorted to our room with no delays, where we were brought a bottle of wine and an appetizer. The room was cozy and well decorated. The dinner was amazing - course after course and each one better than the one before it. Breakfast was the same - many courses and each one fabulous. The overnight at the Cimino was wonderful. The people were so friendly and courteous; they acted more like family than strangers...but in a good way. The Cimino is a well-hidden gem that I would recommend to anyone looking for a very special getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melody u, Owner at Cafe Cimino Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Baltimore Travelers! Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for our family Inn; so wonderful of you! We do feel like our guests are visiting us at our home and we are happy that you felt that way :) Please come back and see us when you can and tell your fellow Baltimorians too! Chef Tim and Eli will be happy to hear that you loved the food; they both love making it! Cheers, Melody, your Innkeeper and Hostess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Cafe Cimino Country Inn for my birthday celebration. And what an extremely pleasant surprise it was. From the time we pulled up and were greeted to the hugs and thank you goodbyes we had service as first class as any destination we have traveled. Not to be out classed by the food it was a 10. Sitting on the the charming front porch looking at the mountains, beside the Elk River eating crazy good food, not to mention looking at a menu that had my name printed on it especially for my birthday. They haven't missed a touch. Can't wait to go back.
Kathy and Randy Housh

Room Tip: They also have a dog friendly room so you can take your pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melody u, Owner at Cafe Cimino Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Hello there Fayeteville! Wow...thank you for your wonderful review! We really appreciate that you shared us with the Trip Advisor World :) You guys were a lot of fun and it was neat to see you enjoy your birthday getaway so much...you'll have to come back for your husband's, too! Again, we just wanted to thank you and invite you to come over anytime (you live close enough to just come for dinner, too!) Look forward to seeing you again soon! Cheers, Melody, your Innkeeper and Hostess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

While Sutton may not be a prime destination - if you are transiting West Virginia and need a place to spend the night you won't do much better than the Cafe Cimino Country Inn in Sutton. The B&B is very pleasant, a well maintained old Victorian house in a quite location. The real reason to stop here is to have dinner. The menu is extensive, and the quality of the ingredients and the preparation is excellent. We were there on a Friday night, and they had a vocalist and guitarist that added a lot to the ambiance of the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melody u, Owner at Cafe Cimino Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Washington Friends! Thank you so much for your review of our family owned and operated Inn! We love our guests who "get what we are trying to do"; offer an up-scale, yet comfortable atmosphere in which to unwind, chill out, dine in WV's finest restaurant, wake up refreshed to a served 3 course breakfast...it's what we want when we travel, it's what our guests want and deserve! Please come see us again soon (and often!) Thanks again! Melody, your Innkeeper and Hostess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton
3.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sutton Flatwoods
2.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gassaway/Sutton
22.8 mi away
Stonewall Resort
Stonewall Resort
#1 of 1 in Roanoke
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cafe Cimino Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe Cimino Country Inn

Address: 616 Main St, Sutton, WV 26601-1319
Location: United States > West Virginia > Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sutton
Price Range: $171 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cafe Cimino Country Inn is a full scale, full service Inn with 10 guest rooms, an award winning gourmet restaurant, a riverside cafe and bar on week-ends, outside dining, ample grounds with 500 feet of uninterrupted river access (river is a kayak and canoe, fishing and swimming-friendly river). Guests enjoy the peaceful setting of this up-scale country inn; whether for a romantic getaway, a business retreat, or just for dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cafe Cimino Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cafe Cimino Country Hotel Sutton
Sutton Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing