We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Cooking!”
Review of Century Inn

Century Inn
Ranked #9 of 18 Restaurants in Sutton
Restaurant details
Pittsburgh Pa.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Home Cooking!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

While on a motorcycle trip this past weekend, my husband and I pulled off the interstate for a much needed break. We stopped at the Century Inn. Much to our surprise, they were on the verge of closing. We must have looked tired and hungry because instead of locking the door, the lady holding the keys told us to come in, they would stay open. We had fried chicken and mashed potatoes, delicious meal for very little money. Nothing fancy, but cool and clean.Two other groups of people had arrived at the same time we did, and we were all grateful for the hospitality. Would definitely stop again if in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Xraygurl1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fabulous food!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

After reading the reviews we decided to stop in the Century Inn for a bite to eat. We were all very happy with the food and service. Delicious home cooking and very reasonable prices! The best homemade dinner rolls! The waitress was super sweet and very attentive!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeresaFerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
370 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 588 helpful votes
“Country Cooking at its BEST!!!!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

WOW....don't know what the other reviewers were expecting but what you see is what you GET!!!!

If you are traveling southbound I-79 get off at Exit 67 FLATWOODS and follow County Road 4(AKA: Sutton Lane) which parallels the Interstate. Heading Northbound get off at Exit 62 and follow the same road.
This restaurant is at the intersection by the NAPA Auto Parts. From the outside you can tell that this is NOT a place for pretentious tourists but rather locals who flock here for some terrific home-style cooking and great chats with some truly lovely people. Not only that but the food is GOOD, WELL PORTIONED and INEXPENSIVE.
We were there for lunch (OF COURSE they are going to run out of food on a Friday night!) and had the best hot roast beef sandwich I have ever had. The meat was thick-cut and succulent piled on fresh,soft,not mushy, white bread, and smothered in a beefy gravy. The mashed potatoes were so creamy and the home-made cole slaw was the most subtle flavour (not taste) of cabbage with a slight hint of cream and vinegar, not overpowering like most others I have had.
Of course the place looks worn and mostly tacky but that's what makes this place special. The
effort goes into the food. So if you want cookie cutter processed America, turn around and head back up to the McDonald's in Flatwoods.
And while you are this far off the road, head into the little hamlet of Sutton and get out and walk around. Check out the old brick road which is a real roller coaster to ride on! But when you leave, head back the way you came to get to the Interstate. I made the mistake of heading north to a road called OLD WIDOW'S RUN, and although a beautiful winding drive through the backhills of West Virginia, I would NOT recommend it in winter weather.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gross”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

This restaurant has been there since the 50s! It is so run down and musty smelling. Their homestyle-like food has the potential of being good, but the moldy building takes away from the overall dining atmosphere.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank WVGirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“New ownership have taken it downhill.”
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stopped at the Century Inn while visiting friends. We had eaten there a year ago and it was wonderful comfort food with local clientele.
New owners have since taken over and the quality and service have really slipped. They were out of about 1/2 of the entrees (at 6 o'clock on a Friday night) and the menu was much smaller than it was before. They advertised a salad bar but we didn't see one, and the service was spotty, which several requests for silverware before we received any. The desserts were extremely limited and they were out of about 1/2 the desserts as well. Just not apleasant experience and i doubt we will return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lucasbear1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Century Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing