We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not Prepared At All” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shoney's

Shoney's
Ranked #17 of 26 Restaurants in Summersville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gloucester, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not Prepared At All”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We went to Shoney's for the Father's Day buffet, and we were not impressed. They were very busy and understaffed. We paid around $16 per person for a subpar buffet that didn't have a very wide variety of food. The rolls were burned and tasteless, the mashed potatoes were dry, and the fried chicken was overly salty. They couldn't keep plates or food at the buffet, so we had to wait every time we wanted to go back to get refills. Not to mention, the two fathers in our group didn't even receive their free Father's Day cake.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank glcstr2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    18
    22
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Butler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, good price, Shoney's hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This Shoney's has become a regular stop whenever we are traveling down US 19, and I've never been disappointed.

Once again, the staff was very friendly and welcoming, and made us feel very comfortable.

Food was very good, and a wonderful selection on the buffet.

Shoney's in one of two 'chains' that we will look for when traveling, and this one has become a favorite stopping point in West Virginia.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not a good buffet!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was looking forward to a Shoney's buffet as I remembered them to be an excellent buffet. Well, I found out they are all not created equal. We were there at 6pm on a recent Sunday night. It was not very busy. People were just starting to enter for dinner. Salad ingredients were fine, however, gravy had heavy film on it from not being stirred, fried chicken was only slightly warm, meatloaf was cold and dried out, niblets corn had sat warmed so long that they were soggy, what my husband thought was chicken tenders turned out to be some kind of fish..ugh. There were no names to indicate what the food was. Very little to choose for dessert. I guess it wasn't all bad...at least the buns were good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank camretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
150 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“So-So”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Nothing great...nothing not-so great. Typical Shoneys. The buffet area was a bit nasty looking as there were so many people 'grazing' around it (we do not eat buffet!)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
472 reviews
350 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Good Options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We happened on this Shoney's while trekking from Western NY to VA. We have been to others in the country and knew that we would probably get a decent meal. We were looking for something quick and not too heavy. We found it! We also had a chance to look over the buffet bar. It was unbelievable. We wished that we had more time and were looking for more to eat. Everything on the buffet looked very appetizing and was at the proper temperature.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Henry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoney's also viewed

 
Summersville, WV
Summersville, WV
 
Summersville, WV
 

Been to Shoney's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing