We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“It's good for a chain” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Applebee's

Applebee's
302 Merchants Walk, Summersville, WV 26651
(304) 872-8800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 26 Restaurants in Summersville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Greenville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It's good for a chain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We had a very nice waitress. She brought our food out hot and kept refilling our drinks. Food was good for being a chain. It was a pleasant stop while traveling through the area.

Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    24
    29
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“ever feel like you were made a fool of for stopping at a restaurant chain”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

we were served approximately 3oz each for two bowls of chili,,,,,at $4 each bowl. or 3 shot glasses worth of chlli. I am not exaggerating. ,,,,I paid my $27 bill but feel i made an error of not calling on the manager. it tasted ok for what little there was

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KURT N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summersville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

For a consistently good* dining experience, Applebee's delivers. Good food & beverages, great serving staff, and a nice atmosphere. The reason for the asterisk? We don't recommend dining after 9PM. For some reason the kitchen staff really goes downhill after that time--long waits (even when they're not busy), food that isn't prepared properly or arrives cool to cold. Unless you like kareoke, avoid Wednesday evenings. Be advised that Friday & Saturday evenings can be very busy, so you may have a 20 - 30 minute wait for seating.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank wemlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Odd place, needs some fine tuning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Upon entering, the restaurant seemed quite pleasant, staff were in the Halloween mood, all dressed up. We were seated and our server asked if we would like something to drink. I asked for a glass of wine, and she asked for photo ID. Now this is not an unusual request, IF I were under 30, or looked it anyway. Not to give away my age, but I retired after a long career, two years ago. I thought she was joking, given the "trick or treat" nature of the calendar date, but she was dead (no pun intended) serious and said "I risk losing my job if I don't see it". I asked why, and she stated she thought it was a state law (look it up, it isn't - apparently it's only this Applebee's at this location, at least that I could find). First off, a server should be a little more aware of things like this, why her restaurant has this policy, I'm sure she's been in other restaurants in the state. We provided my driver's license (after my husband went back to our hotel room to get it) and along came my wine - IN A BRANDY SNIFFER!! When I asked if I could have a wine glass, she responded "I'll check, but we were all out, they were all on other tables". Now this restaurant was not full, nor were there people lined three deep at the bar. Perhaps they should invest in a few more glasses. On the upside, the food was good. Not sure I'd go back though the next time I stop here on our way south. Here's the odd thing (as if it could get any odder), we told her we were staying at the hotel across the street (you get a 10% discount when you show your room key). We went to show her the key and she said "oh I don't need to see it". So she can give us the discount without any proof that we're entitled to it, but can't serve 55 plus individual a drink without proof. Anyway, the bill came without the discount and we had to remind her. All in all not an overly positive experience. But if you want decent food at a good price, close to the hotels and highway, hey then, this is your restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gjw4956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida, Usa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

It's just a typical Applebee's but a nice stop when on the road. The server was friendly, the manager roams the restaurant and is pleasant and cares about you.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Applebee's also viewed

 

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing