We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Reunion at the Park”

Carnifex Ferry Battlefield State Park
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Family Reunion at the Park”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This park was beautiful. There are pavilions to rent for events. We rented one for the family reunion. The pavilions have ceiling lights and outlets if you need electricity for anything. The public restrooms are very clean and there is a soda machine which worked out for us when we started running low on drinks. There is a playground and trails and a beautiful overlook where you can see the river and the mountains. Absolutely beautiful. A must see park.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    19
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Don't Let The Name Fool You”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

When one reads "Carnifex Ferry Battlefield State Park," he or she may think it's akin to Valley Forge in Pennsylvania. While there is historical significance it's really not like that. I went there just to check the place out. There are trails you can hike, well marked and maintained, that take you to overlooks of the Gauley River canyon. They also have facilities for softball, picnics, and other activities. The only refreshments available in the park come from a single vending machine near the rest rooms. The park's location less than two miles from the beach and campground at Summersville Lake makes it feasible to do both this and that in one day trip. If you budget your time wisely, you could even get down to the New River Gorge Bridge the same day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom_H_LimerickPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful area!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Beautiful area, nice picnic and restrooms. Very nice (new) overlook as well, with ample seating. Historical value,

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SennyChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good views of the river”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Had a couple trails that had great views of the river. It's one of those places that I hope to visit in the fall with the changing of the leaves.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremyesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Love Carnifex!!!!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I remember visiting Carnifex with my family as a child, so this park holds a special place in my heart. Now that I'm married with a child of my own, we enjoy taking day trips to the park to picnic, hike, play, and visit the historical Civil War site. There is a museum, cannon, graves, etc at the park, which is a great & fun way to teach children about Civil War history. You can hike to the river, where you may see some kayakers playing in the rapids. There is also a really nice overlook to view the river and mountains.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank glcstr2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnifex Ferry Battlefield State Park also viewed

 

Been to Carnifex Ferry Battlefield State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing