We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“This is NOT what retro is about” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Summersville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Summersville
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Summersville
Certificate of Excellence
Bruceton Mills, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This is NOT what retro is about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

I have stayed here over the years on business. I would like to know how a hotel feels that there is no need for updating of their rooms? I checked this past week to find out that the hotel was in the midst of a remodel. I was really happy to see that they were finally updating from their 80's era Southwest theme. The front desk had the fabrics and design all laid out on an easel for all to see. I knew that there would be a few inconveniences but I was just happy they were finally updating. The main inconvenience was the shutdown of the lobby area and the breakfast area. Guests now had to go to a room on the second floor for their breakfast. You couldn't eat in the room but you could take your breakfast back to your own room. I could live with that. However, the misconception that the entire hotel was being made over left a real distaste in my mouth. Apparently, after talking to some housekeeping staff, the only area being updated is the lobby area. The rooms are not being updated. Now, let me tell you about the rooms. They all share the same color scheme: peachy pink and turquoise. Even the tiles are this pink color. Awful. I have put up with this for several years but to make people think the entire hotel is being renovated is bordering on dishonesty. I have to say that my rooms was clean, however, the thermostat did not work properly and it would get hot and then the room would finally cool down... only to have the cycle start again. I did not sleep well. I have always felt the staff here were extremely nice and helpful, but come on management... get those rooms updated. It is way past time!

Room Tip: Stay away from the housekeeping storage room because of the noise every time the door is opened and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    146
    58
    25
    8
See reviews for
144
145
21
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

The rooms are very old and are in desperate need of updates. When checking in, I was told the room had 2 queen beds. The beds were actually standard beds. When inquiring, they restated they were queen. I sleep in a queen at home, and these were much smaller. The lobby was under construction. Yes, they did have a "bedroom" as a substitute breakfast room. It was quite small, very crowded and not laid out well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankandPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angola, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Very friendly staff helpful and welcoming at check-in. Even though the lobby was under construction, they made alternate accommodations for the breakfast bar. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Close to nearby restaurants and McDonald's is next door. The pool is outdoors, not a plus in my book, especially in any season other than Summer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Carrie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stouffville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Have stayed at Hampton Inns almost exclusively over the last 6 years. Recently stayed in downtown Washington and New Orleans. Encountered helpful staff at both locations and hotels were situated at great locations and provided a great first time visitors experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

When we travel through WV my wife and I always stay at this hotel. Rooms are great, each has a fridge (essential with our trips), and the hotel is pet friendly. Staff always pleasant and helpful.
This trip (stayed twice) the front lobby area was being refurbished. A slight bit of an inconvenience but the staff made sure that breakfast was available, fresh & hot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loot440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliston, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

except for the smoker disobeying the rules this was a fine hotel to stay at, and the staff handled the smoker accordingly. We also like the fact that this Hampton allowed small pets, which was another reason why we chose this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We would stay at this hotel again. It had all the amenities in the area. We were on our way home and stayed only one night. Hotel staff helpful and friendly. Complimentary breakfast was served in a romm as the dining room was under constructions but this was not a problem. We ate supper at Applebys. Food good and very large portions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank ann_ironside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summersville
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Summersville
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Summersville
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 7 in Summersville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 7 in Summersville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
23.5 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
24.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gassaway/Sutton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Summersville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Summersville

Property: Hampton Inn Summersville
Address: 5400 Webster Rd, Summersville, WV 26651-9693
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Summersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Summersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Summersville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Summersville is the perfect place to stay while visiting West Virginia. Whether you are looking to enjoy a wine tasting at one of the local wineries, river rafting down the Gauley River or trying your hand at various water sports on Summersville Lake, there is no shortage of activities to try. After a day spent exploring the area, settle down to a clean and fresh Hampton bed, free internet access, fitness center, business center and a complimentary, hot breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Summersville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Summersville Hotel Summersville
Summersville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing