We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice stop over on a trip down south” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Summersville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Summersville
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Summersville
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice stop over on a trip down south”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We checked into the Hampton Inn as it was the first Hotel on the west side of the hiway as we drove into town on 19. This is about the halfway mark on our trip to Hilton Head Island in SC. We were greeted by a very nice front desk staff and expained the rooms that were available. The room was dated and a little disrepair (wall paper coming loose and just a few little things that need some attention) It was very clean and I liked the fridge and freezer in the room. TV was nice however no HD. Free WIFI worked just fine. Had a great night sleep. We decided the next morning that this would be the place to stay on our way back home. Too bad it was fully booked however Tracey did take our information and said she would let us know if there were any cancellations. We were very happy to hear from Tracey after a couple of days and booked in for our trip home. Breakfast was very nice and loved the little take away bags.

Room Tip: Any Room here would be OK. We had a King Suite both times
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brentandjanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    146
    58
    24
    8
See reviews for
144
144
21
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

My family and I usually take two days going from NC to PA. We usually stay in Summersville on Rt. 19 and have stayed at other hotels in this area just for one night. When we arrived at Hampton Inn, the staff had our room keys all ready. The room was bigger than expected and even had a refrigerator, which was unexpected. The bathroom was a bigger size than usual as well. The hotel had a complimentary breakfast, which was more than just coffee and bagels. There was a variety of breakfast items which was beneficial for traveling with children. The staff was also very friendly and would stay there each time passing through.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
225 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I believe this is my third/fourth time to stay at this hotel over the last 6+ years. This time was still great regarding staff/service. The beds were very comfy. Cleanliness still gets high marks in my opinion. This was our first time to stay during the summer, so it was our first time using the pool. It was a nice outdoor pool. It has a chairlift to aide in entering the pool. Breakfast was typical Hampton...very good. My only "complaint" was that our air shut off often. I tried leaving just the fan on, but it had a very stale smell when I did this. It was rather noisy "off/on" which I know happens in some rooms. When it was off...the fridge in the room took over with a noisy, constant "bubbling" sound. If you are not a light sleeper you should be fine. I will still stay here in the future. I will probably just ask for a 1st or 2nd floor room...maybe they have updated those AC units?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MREA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here to break up a trip from Charlotte to Pittsburg. It was very nice. The room was clean (wonderful bed) and the staff was very courteous and friendly. The lady behind the check in desk actually brought fresh baked cookies out to us when we were sitting in the TV area. The breakfast was much more than a continental breakfast and you could tell the lady who was hosting the breakfast took pride in her job. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank birdy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is one of the worst Hampton Inns I have stayed in. It was obviously an older building. The clerk in the lobby seemed impatient when I asked about restaurants and other things nearby. TVs in two rooms were distractingly fuzzy in quality. The internet on my laptop in our room was very slow. On the other hand, the hotel seemed very clean and some of the maids were very nice. Due to allergies, I don't usually stay in pet-friendly hotels, but it was not a problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Courtney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel could use some updating. The web site indicated the lobby would be redone starting June 1st but breakfast would still be served. I do hope the renovations will include the rooms. While the bed was the comfort you expect with Hampton, the furnishings and walls are showing their age. We were so tired it was fine for our one nights stay.

Room Tip: If travelling south on 19- turn right at the second light, then left into the McDonalds parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zizzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stay at a lot of Hampton Inn's. We always know we will get a comfortable bed, a great breakfast, and usually pretty quiet hotel. This location was no exception. Everything was very clean, the hotel was incredibly quiet (and we even were on the 1st floor). Breakfast was hot and the staff was wonderful. We only stayed 1 night, but we will continue to stay at this hotel as we travel back and forth between NC and Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summersville
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Summersville
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Summersville
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 7 in Summersville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 7 in Summersville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
23.5 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
24.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gassaway/Sutton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Summersville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Summersville

Property: Hampton Inn Summersville
Address: 5400 Webster Road, Summersville, WV 26651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Summersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Summersville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Summersville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Summersville is the perfect place to stay while visiting West Virginia. Whether you are looking to enjoy a wine tasting at one of the local wineries, river rafting down the Gauley River or trying your hand at various water sports on Summersville Lake, there is no shortage of activities to try. After a day spent exploring the area, settle down to a clean and fresh Hampton bed, free internet access, fitness center, business center and a complimentary, hot breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Summersville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Summersville Hotel Summersville
Summersville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing