We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Summersville
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Summersville
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I was going to stay at *ahem* a different hotel in Summersville because of their spring $50 travel card promo, but when I discovered that they had no kings non smoking left, (plus from the look of that particular property) I headed up to the good old Hampton. I was accommodated even though the hotel was near totally full. It met my standards, though it isn't the nicest hampton I've been in but at midnight, in the fog, after driving from Tampa Fl I was just glad to get a clean comfortable room for the night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canuktrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 484 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed 1 night traveling from NY to Florida. Clean rooms. Comfortable beds... Nice morning breakfast. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danieluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I stayed at this property for one night in April 2012 while in the area for a business meeting. I was booked for a king room but was provided a room with two double beds for a rate of $75 per night.

The property is located adjacent to a four lane highway on the north end of Summersville. While in a business oriented area there are no restaurants within walking distance. The building appears to be a second generation Hampton construction, likely from the mid 1990s.

The exterior of the property is clean and well maintained. Adequate parking is available and the lots were well lit. Access to the lobby was troublesome as the property lacks automatic doors. Carrying luggage, a laptop and business items while opening two sets of doors can be a little difficult. I have not encountered this at a hotel in years.

The lobby area, and the entire interior for that matter was clean, but could use a serious remodel. A 1990s western teal colored motif was everywhere. Huh? I thought this was West Virginia, not western New Mexico.

I utilized the echeck-in service and it was flawless. I was not welcomed as an HHonors Gold member by the clerk but there was a small note written on my room key envelope. This is inconsistent with the brand and its pledge to loyal customers of the Hilton family of properties.

Elevator service was noted to be prompt and the cabs were found to be clean. Interior hallways to the sleeping rooms were noted to be well lit and clean as well.

The sleeping room was found to be clean and neat with all electrical appliances in good working order. Temperature control was easy to manage and the HVAC was quiet. Bedding was of the quality expected for the brand and price point.

The bathroom was noted to be of good size. It was clean, well lit and towels/bath amenities were found to be as expected.

Breakfast was a little below the expectation for a Hampton as the typical variety was lacking and the quality did not seem to be there. The employee working the breakfast area spoke to no one and seemed uninterested in customer service. This is strange for the brand as they usually place, warm, talkative staff members in these areas.

Check-out was effortless as all charges were appropriate. The front desk staff were found to be polite and friendly. I was thanked for my business and invited back.

This property is a little below average for the Hampton brand. However, options are limited in this small community. Given my experience in whole, I would stay there again, but certainly not anxiously look forward to it.

Room Tip: To be able to pay for your room, avoid the Summersville PD speed traps. They are everywhere in this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cburley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed here while driving to Florida and it was very nice. So much better than the cheaper motels we stayed in during other trips. Granted it was more expensive but we got a decent price from expedia.

It seems quite new, well maintained and spotless. Check-in was quick because we were the only ones at the desk at the moment. The breakfast (included) was also better than we have gotten at cheaper motels ... excellent coffee too.

As we get older we tend to want a bit more luxury (and less noise) than you get from the cheaper chains so we usually go to a Hampton Inn or Best Western. This Hampton was one of the nicer ones of the five or six we have stayed at. We never heard any noise from the hallway or the room above; perhaps we were just lucky OR familes with kids stay at the cheaper places. Whatever the reason, we got a good night's sleep.

Very nice room, nice furniture and bathrooms, very clean, comfortable beds, etc.

Some other review said this was the best motel in WV ... I don't know if that's correct but I rated it as a five star .... and it was every bit as nice as the best Hampton Inn in other states.

Room Tip: If you do not want people in a room above you, stay on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_K_B_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Nice, clean rooms. Friendly staff. The breakfast was great! Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bulldog08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is a perfect distance from Savannah or Charleston if you are travelling North. The rooms are clean and very comfortable beds. Breakfast was very good. Ask for King Bed Room which has more room and a desk

Room Tip: ask for King room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

West Virginia is a beautiful state with wonderful, down-to-earth people. But it's a poor state to stay overnight because of its relatively high prices for rooms and the non-existence of 100% smoke-free properties. Unfortunately, you really have little choice on the route between the Great White North and Florida. Summersville is just about in the right location. Most people hate this town because of its primary source of income: consecutive predatory speed traps.

If you must stay in the area, this Hampton is a good choice. Half the third floor is given over to smokers, so we chose to stay on the non-smoking second instead. Often this situation can be a problem because smoke drifts in through the bathroom vents. Here, no problem whatsoever. Same with noise - there was absolutely none.

Overall, a fairly typical Hampton: comfortable beds, good size rooms, very clean and well-maintained. Far superior to the choices down the road in Beckley. But somewhat pricey in comparison to similar Hamptons elsewhere. This would be a good time to use your points.

Room Tip: Unlike most places, the front desk has maps, so they can show you where the rooms are. They're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lucky_Eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summersville
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Summersville
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 7 in Summersville
712 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 7 in Summersville
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 7 in Summersville
111 reviews
24.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gassaway/Sutton
23.6 mi away
Quality Inn New River
Quality Inn New River
#1 of 1 in Fayetteville
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Summersville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Summersville

Address: 5400 Webster Rd, Summersville, WV 26651-9693
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Summersville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Summersville
Price Range: $97 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Summersville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Summersville is the perfect place to stay while visiting West Virginia. Whether you are looking to enjoy a wine tasting at one of the local wineries, river rafting down the Gauley River or trying your hand at various water sports on Summersville Lake, there is no shortage of activities to try. After a day spent exploring the area, settle down to a clean and fresh Hampton bed, free internet access, fitness center, business center and a complimentary, hot breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hampton Inn Summersville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Summersville Hotel Summersville
Summersville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing