We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican with atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Carreta Mexican Restaurant

La Carreta Mexican Restaurant
205 Merchants Walk, Summersville, WV 26651-1901
304-872-6570
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Summersville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in strip mall adjacent to Country Inn & Suites and near Hwy. 19
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mexican with atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Very strange pictures of Jesus on the wall with eyes that look through you creeped me out. Liked the food, but had to take it back to our room. Crowded in the evening. Did I mention the creepy - follow you around - pictures?!?!?

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank margewimmersberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    26
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“BEST MEXICAN AROUND!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

This is the best Mexican food around Summersville. We are never disappointed when we go here and we go quite often. The staff is so friendly and the service speedy. The food is delicious and can't be beat! They also have the BEST sweet tea! I highly suggest you try it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CHarper15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
161 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Quick stop en route to the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We tried this after researching non-chain restaurants en route to the beach. Service was prompt and they kept our chips and salsa refilled. It was a little dated, but the food was okay. For a family of four - the bill was under $30 including tip - which was great. Food was average Mexican - nothing spectacular, but good for quick stop.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nikolaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unclean with Lackluster Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We ate here last week on our trip down to SC. It is conveniently located across the plaza parking lot from the La Quinta Inn where we stayed (awesome!!!). That's about the only positive. Not sure why all the great reviews. Interior seemed dirty and dingy, definitely outdated. However, I can easily overlook an outdated decor if a restaurant is clean and has good food and service. Unfortunately this is not so at La Carreta. When we were being led to our table, we passed by several other empty tables that still hadn't been cleared (and never were while we were there). Also, there were straw wrappers and little paper napkin roll holders here and there on the floor. Clearly they'd fallen off tables and nobody bothered to pick them up. Additionally, several times I saw employees chatting and laughing at a back counter as if they had nothing better to do. Our waiter was ok (he was efficient and did his job well enough..just not overly friendly...although it could have been because it seemed like he was the only one doing any work?!). The Margaritas were ho hum and the food just mediocre. Next time we drive through Summersville we are going to El Patron (or it might be called Mi Patron). I would skip this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank jlynntice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, West Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Average Mexican Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

During a weekend stay in Summersville, my husband and I ate at the La Carreta. It is an ordinary Mexican restaurant with little more to offer than the regular Mexican meals. There's plenty of staff that mostly congregate in the back laughing and talking. We were seated by a messy table that looked like the staff sit there during slow periods. The table was never cleared while we were there. The decor was old and worn. My husband's dish was served in a skillet and was swimming in grease. I ordered a side order of mushrooms. When the mushroom came, they were almost black.

La Carreta is one of those restaurants where you eat there today in passing a town, and tomorrow it will be forgotten. The restaurant doesn't make for much of a dining experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carreta Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Summersville, WV
 

Been to La Carreta Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing