We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place after a long ride!”

La Carreta Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in Summersville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Located in strip mall adjacent to Country Inn & Suites and near Hwy. 19
Restaurant details
Description: Located in strip mall adjacent to Country Inn & Suites and near Hwy. 19
Prospect, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a great place after a long ride!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Awesome! Thank you trip advisor! This lil Mexican Restaurant was just what we needed after being on the motorcycle for 12 hrs ( with 4 of that getting the bike repaired in Gallipolis) I always check trip advisor for hotels and good eats!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    41
    23
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Room for improvement!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

From the minute we walked in we knew it was a mistake. The town weirdo was hanging out going from table to table smiling at people. No one greeted us at door or seated us. The restaurant didn't feel clean. I ordered an onion and cheese enchilada and there was not one piece of onion and hardly any cheese. I would not come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summersville, WV
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD IN A FUN ATMOSPHERE!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

You can find my family and lots of friends at La Carreta just about every Friday night! The food is wonderful and the service is great! It's usually busy in the evenings but the staff does a great job of getting you seated quickly and bringing your chips and salsa out to the table. Orders arrive quickly and you can't go wrong with anything on the menu...I think we have tried everything!
The staff is friendly and helpful. Leave the fast food chains behind and give this delicious mexican food a try!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DJWSummersville_WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Pass the Margaritis and Tecate”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We arrived today in Summersville after a 10 hour drive at our hotel, the Hampton Inn
( that is another review..the hotel treated us #1 from the moment we wlaked in ).
Prior to embarking on our trip to Myrtle Beach for the summer, we did some research and found this little "gem" La:Carreta.

Our server " Julio" greeted us at the door. walked us to our table and was always attentive to our requests/needs. Before you could say "the alamo" our margaritas were on the table. We tried both the frozen and on ice variety, both were not lacking tequila...very delicious. The Tecati beer was equally as delicious.

Our food was extremely flavourfull, hot and plentiful. For $7.50 the Fajitas/ Quesadillas were divine/ out of the is world. Happy to say we on our return trip back north we will be making another stop at this " north of the border " gem.

Happy hour is 4-7 Sunday to Thursday and lets jsut say with all the food we ate, plus the drinks we had I was pleasantly suprized our bill only came to $32.00.

OF NOTE: There is no cab service in Summersville , so if you choose to indulge in the libations as we did....please choose a hotel close by to walk. There is 2 hotels within a short crawl away. Our hotel was a bit farther walk ( under 1 km ), but it helped us walk off the enomous amounts of food we had for next to nothing.

Good quality service, no wait even though the restaurant was 3/4 full. If you are a lover of hot mexican flair,,,this is a great stopover and treat.

Once again hats off to Julio our server...he made the visit memorable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank s p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Second Visit One Year later was just as great!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had talked to friends about this discovery on our way from Florida to Ontario, so I was looking forward to a repeat experience. We were not disappointed.
We were very tired after being held up by a terrible accident, so we were tired from our 13 hour trip.
We were seated instantly not far from several families whose sons were on a baseball team.
We were served some tacos in huge bowl accompanied by a homemade sauce.
We ordered the "Dinner for Two" which was a generous portion that we could scarcely finished.
The service was great although the waiter was kind of aloof at first.
We will return.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carreta Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Summersville, WV
 

Been to La Carreta Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing